Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For For Love of Family by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 11 of 11
Ursulabear
Friday 14th October 2011 13:04


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

11: Courage
I am thrilled how detailed your rehab information is, including the mental stages of Harry. How could you get all this information? I do not think just the betas are to be praised for your thorough research.
  Quote
Hawkeye58
Saturday 30th July 2011 12:07


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

11: Courage
Great chapter, and Harry's learning to swim, keep on writing.
Arnel
Saturday 30th July 2011 14:10
11: Courage (Author Response)
It's a step in the right direction that he's learning to swim. It shows he wants to recover rather than not cooperating very well with his therapist. Things are looking up. I hope you enjoy the rest of the story. Thanks for writing. See you next week...
  Quote
LWJ2
Wednesday 22nd June 2011 19:19


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

11: Courage
I'm enjoying this very much. Being of a medical background, I must compliment you on how well you've done with the medical aspects of PT and re-hab.

I'm looking forward to reading more. Thanks.
Arnel
Thursday 23rd June 2011 01:26
11: Courage (Author Response)
My success with the medical aspect of the story is due to expert advice of two of my pre-betas who diligently go through each chapter not only for grammar mistakes, but medical content anomalies as well. They've questioned many things and have suggested just as many, so I'm glad you approve of how I'm handling that aspect of the story.

Thanks for writing. I'm glad you're enjoying the story.
  Quote
Caesarcaesar
Tuesday 21st June 2011 11:52


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

11: Courage
The swimming scene really was lovely, it is great that he's learning to swim - for the reasons you have listen in your authors note and because I think it will actually boost his confidence to feel like he is really working towards something and achieving something.

My favourite part of this chapter was the friendship that James and Kendra were willing, and happy, to share with Brian in his time of need. Its great to see children being selfish and it really shows the young adult side of them coming out. It was really poignant and I can't read more of those three.

I also think its great you have such a great team of beta's - they seem to be doing a fantastic job and going off your authors notes, are really helping with the story.

Excited for Thursday!
Arnel
Tuesday 21st June 2011 23:14
11: Courage (Author Response)
I just realized something... this review is my 100th for this story! Congratulations for writing this "historic" review. I'm tickled pink I can tell you the news!

This story wouldn't be what it is without my beta team. Each person brings his or her life experiences into the reading of the story and asks questions accordingly or comments on things that don't seem quite right to them. For example, when they first read one of the upcoming chapters, two of them scolded me for having Ginny do something comletely out of character, so the result was an added scene in which Harry and Ginny come to an understanding. There will be more on this later.

I'm really happy you enjoyed James and Kendra's visit with Brian. This is just the first of several visits they'll make, so you'll definitely get to see the development of their friendship.

The swimming scene was fun to write because I've spent hours sitting beside swimming pools watching my son take beginning lessons and then progress to three days a week at swim team practice. The methods Silvia uses to help Harry gain confidence in the water were used with my son and every other little child I watch each week. And yes, the sense of achievement will definitely translate into something positive for Harry's recovery.

Thanks for the great review. I look forward to the one you'll write for my next chapter. Until Thursday...
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Thursday 16th June 2011 20:43


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

11: Courage
Nice chapter! I like how your getting harry to face his fears! And that he is finally able to face what has happened to him and can embrace it and realize that life can still go on almost as normally as before the accident.
Cant wait to read the next chapter! How many more do you have planned?
Arnel
Thursday 16th June 2011 22:39
11: Courage (Author Response)
At the rate I'm going, the story will be about twenty-five chapters long. There's a lot to cover still--both with Harry's recovery and the Auror's investigation--and I want to do it all justice so the end will be as good as the beginning. I hope this answer is a satisfactory one for you.

You're right about Harry finally realizing that his accident and subsequent paralysis isn't the end of the world; I haven't shown it yet, but he's beginning to entertain the idea that he just might be able to go back to work and live a "normal" life once he's released from The Groves. He'd never be happy staying home and brooding about what he's lost.

Thanks for your kind review. Until next Thursday...

  Quote
GoDons
Thursday 16th June 2011 17:56


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

11: Courage
Really enjoyed this chapter. Waiting patiently for next Thursday's instalment. Thank you and well done
Arnel
Thursday 16th June 2011 22:06
11: Courage (Author Response)
Thanks for letting me know. I'm glad you're waiting patiently because some of my reviewers are quite impatient! Until next Thursday...
  Quote
Aurorofthelight
Thursday 16th June 2011 17:02


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

11: Courage
Great Chapter! Really touched my heart! Especially liked the learning to swim scene! I have a friend who went thru a similar situation to Harry's. He went thru alot of struggles but he never gave up and currently he walks with crutches! Just goes to show what you can do if you are determined! And Harry is one determined wizard when he wants to be! Especially with a stubborn Ginny who won't let him quit! Keep up the great job!
Arnel
Thursday 16th June 2011 21:56
11: Courage (Author Response)
I'm so excited you've shared your friend's story with me! I really want Harry to be like him because I don't think either man would be happy if he hasn't done his best to reach whatever "normal" will be in the future. And yes, Ginny is just as determined (and stubborn) as Harry. With her support, Harry's bound to reach his "normal" faster than if he was working towards his goals alone. Until next Thursday...
  Quote
winslow
Thursday 16th June 2011 14:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

11: Courage
Love the swimming! I'm glad that James and Kendra seem like such a solid couple and that they are befriending Brian. Still hoping for more Ginny! I really do enjoy your work and look forward to more... Thanks for writing!
Arnel
Thursday 16th June 2011 15:17
11: Courage (Author Response)
I'm glad you like the story and how I'm writing James and Kendra. Going to see Brian wasn't very easy for either of them, so it took courage for them to be positive during their visit. However, because they didn't act as though Brian was a freak due to his injuries, their friendship will continue to grow in future chapters. As for Ginny, she will get a little more time in future chapters, I promise. Thanks for the thumbs-up and your thoughtful review.
  Quote
Patches
Thursday 16th June 2011 12:22


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

11: Courage
I really like the way that James and Kendra came to see Harry and Brian. That was very good. I think it will really help Brian to have teenagers help him through this. Harry is doing so much better. I'm glad that Silvia is challenging with learning new skills. It is great that he is finally learning to swim. It is too bad that it took this injury to get him to learn to swim properly. I really like all the detail in your story. It helps to paint a picture in my mind so I can "see" the story. Thanks for writing. I look forward to more of this story. p
Arnel
Thursday 16th June 2011 14:38
11: Courage (Author Response)
I've always thought that the Dursleys did Harry such a disservice when they didn't give Harry proper swimming lessons as a child, resulting in his uneasiness in the Goblet of Fire. Silvia knows that exercise in water is good for Harry's muscles and by teaching him to swim, she's giving him something to share with his children. As for the details, I've sat many hours in the bleachers watching my son first learn to swim and then join a swim team in our area. When I sat down to write this part of the chapter I used my observations to create the scene and help make Harry comfortable enough in the water to help him overcome his fears. Also, there will be more of James, Kendra and Brian in future chapters as their friendship grows stronger. Thanks again for your insightful review. I appreciate the time you take to write them.
  Quote
Dad
Thursday 16th June 2011 09:13


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 480

11: Courage
I have just read this elsewhere, but I will tell you how good it is here because there seem to be fewer reviews on this site. Things are shaping up for Harry and I know Ron will crack the case eventually. It still leaves me with a touch of sadness though.
Arnel
Thursday 16th June 2011 09:34
11: Courage (Author Response)
I appreciate you reviewing on this site.

Yes, things are looking up for Harry even though he still has a lot to learn about living in a wheelchair. However, by helping Brian cope with what's happened to him, Harry's also helping himself and in turn helping James to cope with what he's feeling as well.

As for Ron, he now has three suspects who just might be able to shed some light on the case to help the Aurors move forward.

I agree with you about the sadness still in the story. Bad things have happened to good people as they do in real life, but as Harry tells James, it is how you cope with what life gives you that you are remembered for. I think, in the end of this crisis, the Potter family will find happiness again.

Thanks for your thoughtful review.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 16th June 2011 05:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

11: Courage
Happy Thursday!

I worked as a lifeguard when I was young so immediately recognized what Silvia was attempting. She was successful-
At the end of his allotted time in the water, Harry found it amusing that Silvia had to coax him out of the pool just as she had to get him into it in the first place. Harry felt he'd accomplished something: with Silvia's help, he'd conquered his fear and was determined to do better.


James is such a mixture of his parents. I'm glad he has Kendra.
Arnel
Thursday 16th June 2011 08:49
11: Courage (Author Response)
All year I've sat in the stands while my son was at swim practice watching the other instructors working with the beginning swimmers. When I was writing this section everything I'd observed came flooding to the forefront and I wrote this section much quicker than some of the others because I saw Silvia actually doing everything in my mind. I'm glad you liked the section.

And yes, parents do tend to rub off on their children.

Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 11 of 11
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004