Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For For Love of Family by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 9 of 9
Melindaleo
Tuesday 25th October 2011 22:07


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

15:Home
Been sneaking in peeks all afternoon! I felt for both characters in this chapter. Ginny wants to help and she did go through a lot of effort to make him more comfortable. Still, she grew up in a house full of brothers and should have more understanding of their pride. While working on physical accommodtions, she's really not taking his emotional needs into consideration.
Arnel
Wednesday 26th October 2011 12:45
15:Home (Author Response)
I think you'll find that Ginny sort of overreacted when she modified Snidget's Haven. Deep down, I think she knew that not consulting Harry on various improvements was a bad idea, but she went ahead and made them anyway and now Harry's pride is hurt which isn't making his holiday home very pleasant. I'm glad you've had time to sneak a few peeks.

Thanks for reading and writing to tell me your opinion.
  Quote
Hawkeye58
Sunday 31st July 2011 05:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

15:Home
Harry and the rest of the family have to adjust to the new needs of Harry, keep on writing
Arnel
Sunday 31st July 2011 18:37
15:Home (Author Response)
Yes, they certainly do need to adjust, not only to Harry but to themselves as a family. The children have been on their own at Hogwarts for three and a half months, so they now have to adjust to being with their parents. That adjustment in now much bigger because their father has new needs and limitations, plus they are all mourning the loss of his ability to walk.

Oh, yes, I'll keep writing until this story is finished. See you next Thursday...
  Quote
Caesarcaesar
Thursday 21st July 2011 12:37


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

15:Home
Uh-oh, I don't like the sound of this 'lone figure' watching Draco. I did find his eagerness to see Scorpious very sweet though.

I felt a bit sorry for James when he was reprimanded by Harry in the pool, I feel as though he was only trying to help - but I do understand Harry needs to feel that semblance of Independence.

I also feel for Ginny, it must have been such a hard time during those first few weeks, no wonder she took drastic measures. I can only imagine what I would have done if I was so incredibly tense and worried about my loved ones future. I'd have probably changed more than the house!

I can really understand how Ginny and Harry must be feeling, because during my time working on various hospital wards, I saw this happening - staff, relatives and friends all trying to do things, feeling they could do it faster, but the person not actually wanting that help as they need to do it themselves. I can also appreciate the children's unhappiness at the sight of the parents constant bickering.

The ferrari scene was heartbreaking, I wish Harry could have just one more ride in that car.

I can see so much of both Ginny and Harry in little Lily - she is such an adorable little character, and growing up - make-up already!

Another great chapter!
Arnel
Thursday 21st July 2011 14:48
15:Home (Author Response)
My ten-year-old son went away to camp a few weeks ago and although it was nice to have a quiet house while he was gone, I felt there was something missing. The day I was supposed to pick him up at the drop-off spot, I was up with the sun and eagerly anticipating his return. I'd like to think Draco feels that way about Scorpius because I'm not sure he ever had that sort of reaction from Lucius.

Lily's make up probably came from something she and her dorm mates did together as an experiment. I remember make-up parties with my friends starting about age twelve (Lily's age) and we always put too much on and made each other look awful, but it was a fun way to experiement with grown-up things.

Part of James' problem at the pool was that he was trying so hard to do what Ginny had asked of him: protect his father, help him whenever necessary. It's a huge burden for a fifteen-year-old and I think he was relieved when Harry explained what he needed and wanted from his son.

As for the Ferrari, you'll have to keep reading to see what transpires with it.

Thanks for writing to me about this chapter. I look forward to your next review.
  Quote
carolebear
Sunday 17th July 2011 11:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

15:Home
I don\'t review often, and I apologize for that. You have gone to so much time and effort to give us this wonderful story, and the least I should do is give you a few words. All the trials that Harry and Ginny are facing are so real. I understand where Ginny is coming from, but she also needs to think about her actions. Harry is feeling emasculated. Ginny thinks she is helping, but she is not letting Harry use all the things he has learned to do for himself in rehab. Too much protection is not a good thing. I predict a terrible row before they manage to get past this. And Ginny needs to tell Harry about the reasons for the limitation on magic; Harry will cooperate if he knows why. He\'s had enough of being told what to do. I hope this review doesn't disappoint, but I always seem to get carried away; you have made the characters real enough that I want to throw in my two pence worth. (by the way, my "2" is not net speak, as it was the number!)
Arnel
Tuesday 19th July 2011 12:55
15:Home (Author Response)
First, never apologize for needing to wait until you're several chapters into a story to review it. I often find that I need that much time to gather my thoughts on a story, especially if it's one I really get involved with. No matter what, every review is appreciated whether it comes with every chapter or after every ten chapters. I am thankful that you've taken the time to write to me.

As for your review, it isn't a disappointment at all! In fact, you agree with two of my pre-betas, one of whom used "emasculated" several times in her comments when referring to what Ginny is doing to Harry. I agree with both of you and have written several scenes for the next chapter and future chapters which deal with Ginny's actions and Harry's feelings. I'm glad you think I've made Harry and Ginny real enough to comment on them. I hope you can find the time after a few more chapters to let me know your reaction to them.

Until Thursday...
  Quote
Patches
Saturday 16th July 2011 03:59


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

15:Home
You have done such a good job with this. It is understandable that Harry would resent changes to the house that he had buildt himself. It is good that Ginny warned him ahead of time. Of course he was angry and frustrated. He was used to his home the way it was and the changes just served as reminders of the fact that he has changed and not for the better. Ginny, of course is trying to be helpful. As people that work with anyone that is handcapped knows, the person with the limitations needs to be encouraged to do things for themselves and to know when they need to ask for help. Harry's time at rehab has mostly been spent teaching him how to do everyday things for himself. Ginny jumping up and running from other places in the house to wait on him is redicules. The sooner she realizes she has to let him do what he can and help when it is really needed will go a long way toward making their home a happy one again. p
Arnel
Monday 18th July 2011 01:31
15:Home (Author Response)
Unfortunately, I must disagree with you on one point: Ginny did not tell Harry or the children about the changes to the house. That's the root of most of their problems because Harry now feels as if he doesn't have any control over his home life and is starting to think in terms of getting rid of things like his Ferrari (which he doesn't wan t to do, but thinks that making decisions like that will give him back some autonomy).

You are correct in saying that Ginny needs to lighten up and stop trying to be three places at once because her actions are annoying and angering her family members and she's stressing herself to the breaking point. Unfortunately, she can't see that right now. It's going to take a major telling-off for her to realize what she's doing. Hopefully, she'll see the light within the next few chapters.

Thanks for another thought-provoking review. Until Thursday...
  Quote
Dad
Thursday 14th July 2011 13:07


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 480

15:Home
I was feeling a bit down tonight but saw this was up and read it. It actually made me feel worse but I think that was in response to Harry not yet fully accepting his limitations or his family`s feelings. I hope you update soon on what the matron is up to. We all like a good baddie.
Arnel
Friday 15th July 2011 00:54
15:Home (Author Response)
I'm sorry my new chapter wasn't the uplifting read you were looking for this week. Harry actually is coping fairly well with his restrictions. However, because this is the first time he's been confronted with things like not being able to drive (like a normal person) and having his wife try to do everything for him, reality is setting in with a horrible jolt. In truth, it's Ginny who is having the hardetst time learning to work with her husband's limitations and is looking after her entire family as though she is the only adult in a houseful of two-year-olds.

The Matron might make an appearance within the next few chapters, but they are "family" chapters, really, so you might get your wish for an update on the baddies, but I wouldn't hold my breath.

Thanks you for reviewing my story.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Thursday 14th July 2011 13:02


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

15:Home
I felt sad reading this chapter, knowing that all Ginny wants to do is help and all Harry wants to do is show that he can be independant... yet neither of them realize this.
The feelings that Harry mustve felt when he was sitting in his ferrari, knowing that he could never drive it again... When he was imagining the drives he and Ginny took, I felt like I was there too. Very well written
You left a slight cliffy there at the beginning... you dont actually know if Draco made it to the train station or not...
And im kinda curious about the make up that was on James's clothing lol I hope you explain that at some point
You know... If your done the chapter sooner than Thursday, you can update sooner
Cant wait to read more!
Arnel
Friday 15th July 2011 01:06
15:Home (Author Response)
I'll address the Draco section first. Yes, Draco did make it to King's Cross on time and so far, the Malfoys are having a normal Christmas hols.

There will be more about James and the make-up on his shirt collars in the next chapter.

I've always had a secret wish to ride in a Ferrari (my closest encounter with one was in a Corvette about twenty-five years ago and is a poor match with Harry's yellow car), so giving Harry one "just because" seemed a positive thing to me. There are ways to modify any vehicle so it can be driven by an handicapped person, but like Harry realized, there are a few things in life that just can't be substituted for the real thing. Driving his Ferrari is one of those things, so he's taken a few minutes to remember happier times as he says good-bye to something he absolutely loves.

Finally, Ginny is still in "emergency mode" and hasn't taken the time to step back and see just how far her husband has come since he was hurt, so she hasn't accepted that both Harry and the children don't need her as much as the kids did when they were small and needing constant supervision. There will be more on this in future chapters, I promise.

Thanks for reviewing and giving me the chance to explain.
  Quote
Aurorofthelight
Thursday 14th July 2011 12:24


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

15:Home
Another brilliant chapter! We all know who the Draco stalker in the window was! Hope he foils her plan for him! I really enjoyed the family hotel scenes - very enjoyable especially the father-son time! You also did a good job with the home scenes as well - Harry\'s frustration at the handicap accessible home is understandable as is Ginny\'s overprotective nature with him! It is often just as hard for the family to adjust as it is for the injured. Kudos to the kids desire to protect their dad but also let him breathe! I am often involved in Habitat for Humanity projects and I remember one at which I helped build a handicap ramp for a little old couple -- the wife was wheelchair bound. It was very rewarding!
Well, as I right this, it is 10 hours and 46 minutes until DH two showtime(cst US). I am going with friends and it should be a blast like DH one was! I'm alittle like you -- very excited to finally see it but sad that there will not be another to look forward to! What a wonderful ride it has been!
Arnel
Friday 15th July 2011 01:18
15:Home (Author Response)
I've always marveled at how quickly children adapt to new situations as opposed to adults. Harry's children realize his need to show them he's learned much toward becoming independent his chair because at the moment, he's as much a "student" as they are. Ginny hasn't yet, so that is what is leading to much of their conflict. She will, eventually, but it's going to take her a few more chapters!

I'm glad you enjoyed the Draco and hotel scenes. Thanks for reviewing my chapter.

  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 14th July 2011 08:26


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

15:Home
I think everyone who has had to use a wheel chair can identify with this-
To Albus, it was as if his father didn't even exist because his head wasn't at people's eye level.



This is a very realistic chapter with each of the members of the Potter family conscious of the changes that Harry's current condition has made necessary. It's hard to have to modify your surrounding and behavior. I have faith that they will accommodate.
Arnel
Friday 15th July 2011 01:11
15:Home (Author Response)
This in HP after all, but it's going to take a while for Harry and his family to adjust to being together as a family again. Eventually, they will, but it's going to take a few days and a lot of love and understanding to do so. Thanks for having faith in Harry and his family.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 9 of 9
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004