Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For For Love of Family by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 7 of 7
LWJ2
Wednesday 27th July 2011 09:24


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

16: Clarification
You're doing a remarkable job of describing a very difficult recovery.

The story is interesting, holding my attention -- which is something rare when it involves medical problems.

Thank you, and a "Very Well Done".
Arnel
Wednesday 27th July 2011 11:41
16: Clarification (Author Response)
I'm glad my story is holding your interest. I hope it continues to do so. Thank you for taking the time to write to me.
  Quote
carolebear
Friday 22nd July 2011 10:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

16: Clarification
Oh thank heavens that they have begun talking! I feel so badly for James, having to be the grownup to point out to his parents what they were doing to the family, but so proud of him for speaking up. I hope his parents thank him when they tell the children they are sorry. I think the way you handled it (James talking with Brian and Kendra) was wonderful. So glad to see the family getting back to 'normal.' Or their new normal, which will be constantly evolving as Harry improves.
Arnel
Wednesday 27th July 2011 12:09
16: Clarification (Author Response)
I'm glad you approve of James' actions in this chapter. Sometimes it's good for a teen to get a taste of what it's like to be an adult; James' upbringing has been such that even though he was scared to confront his parents, he also felt secure enough to voice his opinion and act like the grown-up in this situation for just a little while.

As for James' talk with Brian and Kendra, my theory is that because the students at Hogwarts must rely on themselves and each other, they're automatically going to gravitate to each other more and feel more comfortable talking about difficult subjects with someone their own ages than they are with adults. In PS/SS, McGonagall does say that the houses will become a student's family, but I also think that she was referring to the student body as a whole. To that end, even though Brian and James are in different houses, they are more likely to become friends who help each other out, even when they're rivals on the Quidditch pitch!

So yes, the Potter family is slowly going back to "normal".

Thanks for reading and writing to me. See you Thursday...
  Quote
Aurorofthelight
Thursday 21st July 2011 16:38


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

16: Clarification
Wonderful and very moving chapter this was! The kids seem to be adapting well and are even providing much needed support to their friend, Brian! I also admire James's gumption in telling his parents exactly what they both needed to hear! Now that they've talked things out and healed their relationship they can get on with life! I have to admit Ginny was becoming obsessive about things - good thing the Matron didn't run into Ginny while she was in a snit like that -- the Maton would've gotten gorilla bat bogeys! Hopefully Harry can help Ron with the investigation and nail the old hag! Keep up the great work, Arnel! Can't wait til next Thursday! By the way, I saw Harry Potter DH Two in 3D Monday - even more awesome!
Arnel
Wednesday 27th July 2011 12:19
16: Clarification (Author Response)
I've seen DH2 exactly once. I thought it awesome and approved of much of the movie's interpretation of the book. I'm hoping to see it at least one more time before it leaves town.

I'm glad you like the chapter. Harry and Ginny needed to be startled into really looking at what they were doing to their family, and that the person to do it was their oldest son, shows that their parenting efforts have paid off in that James feels comfortable enough to confront them when the situation warrents it. He's started the healing process for his family which is a much-needed thing if they are going to try to be a "normal" family in the near future.

I had to laugh at your idea of Ginny and the gorilla-sized bat bogeys for the Matron. That witch deserves anything Ginny might dish out... There are at least ten more chapters, so you never know what will happen.

Thanks for the great revew. Until Thursday...
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Thursday 21st July 2011 13:37


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

16: Clarification
nice chapter! Im glad that harry and ginny talked, so now their marriage isnt totally falling apart.
Thanks for writing
Arnel
Thursday 21st July 2011 13:59
16: Clarification (Author Response)
No, their marriage isn't falling apart, but it's still on very shaky ground. It's going to take time and some more talking for the Potter family to heal and become a functioning unit again. Thanks for the thumbs-up. I give them all the time and it's nice to be on the receiving end. See you next Thursday!
  Quote
Caesarcaesar
Thursday 21st July 2011 13:34


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

16: Clarification
Its really amazing how supportive Kendra is of James, and how supportive Brian is as well - it must actually really help him, feeling like he's doing something good for someone else, no matter whether or not he can walk. It was good for James to have someone to share his current worries and troubles with. And how fantastic that Brian is still recieving parcels and letters from his fellow students, even ones who don't know him. I found the part about the love potion highly amusing!

James certainly has his fathers bravery - i'm glad he told hsi parents how he felt and that they talked it out. I was starting to worry about the pair. I totally sympathize with Ginny, i'd probably have reacted similar to how she herself did. At least now she's aware of how she was behaving.

another brilliant chapter!
Arnel
Thursday 21st July 2011 14:36
16: Clarification (Author Response)
I've always thought that Professor McGonagall's words to Harry's year the first year they came to Hogwarts held special meaning. She said that a student's house was like his or her family, where everyone looked out for one another. In the absense of parents, I think the entire school is a student's family and when someone needs help or is feeling sad or in need of comfort, the support that student needs comes from all his/her friends and not just those in the student's house. That's how I feel about the support both James and Brian receive from each other and their classmates. I'm glad you liked the love potion part.

As parents, sometimes we need a jolt of reality when we become too self-centered and our behavior irritating to others in the family and when one of our children has the audacity to point this out, the shock makes us think and/or talk out the problem as Ginny and Harry did. Those two have a ways to go to completely solve their problems, but their talk was the first positive step of many towards understanding and acceptance.

Thanks for letting me know you liked the chapter. Until next Thursday...
  Quote
Patches
Thursday 21st July 2011 11:50


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

16: Clarification
Ginny is still messing up with things and Harry and the kids are at wits end. I can understand Ginny being upset about Harry using magic after what the Healer had told her but yelling seldom helps with communication. The laundry thing was a normal mishap for someone who is trying to do too much as Ginny has been. I''m glad she didn't get mad at the kids when they complained. She was able to fix it easily enough. I'm glad James shared his problems with Kendra and Brian. Their input helped him to see what he needed to do to help his family get along the way they used to. His blunt stament to his parents helped get them started on a reconcilliation of their problems. Very well done. I like the way they worked it out. They needed to clear the air so they could move forward. I look forward to the rest of this story. Have you seen the new movie? I have. For the most part I think they did a good job. The epilogue scene was good but I think it could have been a little stronger. I don't know how though. I saw it in 3D first and I think I liked it better in 2D. Let me know what you think. Thanks again for your great updates. p
Arnel
Thursday 21st July 2011 14:23
16: Clarification (Author Response)
Overall, I liked the movie, I've seen it only once. It has its strong points and a few things I'd like to change. What I liked best about it was the fact that the movie makers seemed to be catering to fanfic writers, especially those with ideas on how Draco fared after the battle. The scene with the Malfoys walking down the causeway bridge played right into my ideas of how Draco was treated for years after Voldemort's demise.

It seems to me that you approve of James scolding his parents and shocking them enough to make them start talking instead of continuing to irritate and anger each other. Harry and Ginny have a lot of work to do to get back to a point that is even close to what they had before Harry was hurt. They also need to talk with their children... but these things are for future chapters.

Thanks for another thought-provoking review. Until next Thursday...
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 21st July 2011 07:56


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

16: Clarification
...Sighs a big sigh...

Good. Harry and Ginny are communicating again. Brian helped James find the words to tell them how he felt.

I'll admit that I laughed at Ginny washing and washing because she could still smell the sports clothes. I've done that with my son and step son's gym clothes.
Arnel
Thursday 21st July 2011 14:13
16: Clarification (Author Response)
With me, the rewashing of the clothing is with my son's swim suits and towels. Chlorine has a way of lingering in everything it touches.

It's going to be hard for Ginny to relinquish the hold she thinks she needs to have on everything, but now that Harry knows, hopefully talking things out will be easier for everyone in the Potter family. All James needed was that little push Brian was able to give him.

Thanks for the review. See you next Thursday...
  Quote
Showing 1 to 7 of 7
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004