Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For For Love of Family by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 8 of 8
Caesarcaesar
Tuesday 18th October 2011 07:19


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

19: Missing
I can only apologise a million times for my absence from reading and reviewing. Life over here has been more than a little hectic, and i've done a bit of a running away job myself. Which included moving cities to get far enough away!

It was adorable to see Ginny and George's intimacy in this chapter. George truly seems to understand and empathize with Ginny, and his support of her is fantastic.

Although its a heart breaking chapter (poor Lily!) its also beautiful in the sense that you see how similar Ginny and Molly are, and how similar Lily is to them both. And how close the family is.

P.S. my beautiful niece was born a few months ago and they've named her Lily! waiting to see if her hair turns red..

Arnel
Tuesday 18th October 2011 11:03
19: Missing (Author Response)
Never apologize for having to step away from reading/reviewing this story. I understand that real life has its way of keeping us from doing what we want and I'm glad you've finally slowed down enough to have some time to catch up.

As hard as the Ginny/George scene was to write (angst doesn't come easily to me) I needed to show just how loving and supportive the Weasley siblings are of each other. While Bill was the one Ginny always went to when she was little, it's George who understands her sense of loss and helplessness now. One of my readers commented that it was mean of the brothers not to let Harry in on their brainstorming, but while Harry understands and loves his wife just as fiercely as they do, it needed to be one of the original siblings who went to console and lend his ear. I told that reader that Harry didn't feel left out or had his feelings hurt because he realized that his love for Ginny was different from that of her brothers and his ablilty to look for her was quite limited... and he accepted that, knowing they loved Ginny just as deeply, if not differently, as he did.

I've always been one to think that certain traits run in families, so it was easy to show that Ginny, Molly and Lily are essentially all "Weasleys", no matter whether they have the same surname or not! You know how the saying goes, "Like mother, like daughter."

Congratulations on the birth of your neice and thank you for reading.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Sunday 14th August 2011 17:00


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

19: Missing
Nice chapter! I hope that we find out what george's suggestion was with the invisibilty cloak
Update soon!
Arnel
Sunday 14th August 2011 17:43
19: Missing (Author Response)
You'll definitely find out what George's suggestion is in a future chapter. That part of the story has been finished for about two months. I'm glad you're curious. Thanks for reading and reviewing. Until Thursday...
  Quote
Aurorofthelight
Sunday 14th August 2011 11:03


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

19: Missing
Arnel, although I have been reading and reviewing this story on this site, I usually see your story on siye but it appears to be down since yesterday! No matter how I try to access it keep returning not found! I was last on it Friday nite the 12th! Any idea what the heck has happened?!
Arnel
Sunday 14th August 2011 14:15
19: Missing (Author Response)
I have tried to access SIYE also and have not had any success either. While I am acquainted with several of their admins, I have had no communication with them regarding why the site is down. I must wait like everyone else for access to be restored. I imagine there will be an explanation forthcoming when the problem is solved.
  Quote
carolebear
Saturday 13th August 2011 18:52


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

19: Missing
I'm so glad George convinced everyone else to let him go talk to Ginny. I think that was better than a therapist. He knew exactly how to approach her and how to really reach her. He just get it. Thank goodness. I was really worried about her, but I think she will be all right now.
Arnel
Sunday 14th August 2011 02:00
19: Missing (Author Response)
I think Ginny will be all right, too. Sometimes it just takes a shoulder to cry on and an understanding ear to finally de-stress and start the return to normal. The next chapter is sort of a "meanwhile, back at the ranch" sort of chapter which tells how the rest of the family spent time during Ginny and George's absense.

Thanks for reading and letting me know how you liked the chapter. Until Thursday...
  Quote
Hawkeye58
Friday 12th August 2011 19:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

19: Missing
Great chapter, keep on writing
Arnel
Friday 12th August 2011 22:39
19: Missing (Author Response)
Thanks. I will keep writing if you keep reading.
  Quote
Aurorofthelight
Friday 12th August 2011 16:15


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

19: Missing
Glad to see Ginny was not really missing! I think this is one of my favorite chapters, so far! It is a very moving and poignant depiction of what a spouse and family can go thru when a loved one deals with a devastating injury or illness. The demands of caring for them and the pain of watching them go thru it all is alot more difficult then many people realize. It's easy to neglect your own needs with that burden and feel helpless to make it better. Ginny is dealing with all that as well as guilt and self doubt. Her emotions are in overdrive! It's easy to to see how she'd need to get away! I think George was the perfect choice as the one to find her and help her see the light in the window! He had to deal with losing Fred and rebuilding his life without his other half! He above all people would understand Ginny's feelings! I think this chapter touched me because of my own experience - almost 5 years ago I lost one of my younger brothers to brain cancer. He was prepared for the end and he knew he was going home to the Lord. It was much harder on those of us to be left behind to have to watch his pain and his gradual loss of use of his extremeties and then his senses. Even worse to stand by helplessly while this happened then watch him leave us! You can't go thru that without support. Hope Ginny gets the support she needs - George is already a booster shot! Thank you for this chapter!
Arnel
Saturday 13th August 2011 03:19
19: Missing (Author Response)
The deeper I get into the emotional aspects of this story, the more I'm finding my readers either don't have the life experience to understand what's going on emotionally with the characters or they are like you who have gone through or have watched/worked with family or friends who are watching/have watched someone recover or succumb to illness or death. You're right about why I chose George to be the one to find and comfort Ginny. They now share that unique bond of understanding the loss and frustration and helplessness that their other family members don't really understand or have forgotten about because Fred's death was so long ago. I'm glad you understand. Thanks for sharing your experience with me and for reviewing this chapter. The other half, Harry's half, of what occurs while Ginny is away will go up next Thursday. Until then...
  Quote
Patches
Thursday 11th August 2011 12:42


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

19: Missing
This is an excellent chapter. I'm glad that Ginny finally snapped. It gave the family a chance to think about her and wonder what was going on. She was fortunate that George was the one that came to finde her. He did know exactly what to say to her. She was secure in the fact that he would never tell anyone what she had told him and she really let it all out. I remember a line from Crocadile Dundee. Mitch was talking about his girlfriend's friend that he thought was a nutter. She told him her friend found a good shrink that she talked her problems out with. He said, "Doen't she have any mates?" Having someone to talk to who understands is the most valuable thing we can have. It is priceless. For Ginny and George they are priceless to each other. I am so glad that Arthur talked to Harry. That was priceless too. Thanks for a great chapter. I look forward to more of this story. p
Arnel
Thursday 11th August 2011 13:32
19: Missing (Author Response)
I'm really glad you enjoyed the chapter. I've always thought that Ginny and George would have a special relationship because of how JKR made George's personality just a little more compassionate than Fred's. Therefore, it seemed natural that because Ginny might have helped George through his grief over Fred, it could be his turn to help her through her crisis over Harry. Whether it's with a family member or a trusted friend, getting to talk out what's bothering her will enable Ginny to get back to her "normal" more than holding everything in. The same goes for Arthur and Harry.

Thanks for writing to me and sharing that quote from Crocodile Dundee. It's been a while since I've seen that movie, but the line certainly rings true. Until next week...
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 11th August 2011 08:25


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

19: Missing
This is a gem of a chapter that I identify with strongly. Taking care of an incapacitated spouse can warp your view of life. Especially if the Prewett genes kick in.

I love the not able to be written Weasley store motto, even if Phoenix Song won't let me write it-

\\\"Anything\\\'s possible when you have enough nerve\\\"
Arnel
Thursday 11th August 2011 13:06
19: Missing (Author Response)
I might have told you that I'm finding this is the story my readers are identifying with the most of all my stories. I've been told about friends who were hurt, siblings struggling with spouses with disabilities and readers themselves who are dealing with either needing a new wheelchair or who work in hospitals and hospices to send their patients home a little better off than than were when they entered the facility. I'm now adding you to that special list of readers.

And yes, anything is possible when you have enough nerve.

Thanks for reading and I look forward to your review next week.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 8 of 8
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004