Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For For Love of Family by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 8 of 8
Caesarcaesar
Tuesday 18th October 2011 07:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

20: Alone
Victoire's reassurance towards Teddy was so gentle, she really reminds me of a much softer spoken Fleur! It was heart breaking to see Harry torture himself about his sexual relationship with Ginny. I'm constantly learning about sexuality and how patients who go through trauma's cope with their sexual lives and its often ignored that people in wheelchairs, or anyone who is de-sexualised, such as elderly patients or patients with learning disabilities still have sexualities and still long for human touch. I enjoy that you are not ignoring this.

Your writing is still wonderful and i'm very happy to be back reading this fanfiction, hoping to catch up over the next few days! (You'll have fun reading all these reviews so late.. sorry! *sheepish grin*)
Arnel
Tuesday 18th October 2011 11:15
20: Alone (Author Response)
They say a child is a mixture of both parents and I think Victoire ended up with the best of both Bill and Fleur: Bill's patience and Fleur's perceptiveness when it comes to other people.

When my friend and I were discussing how Harry would react to Ginny's absence, I knew intinctively that he'd blame himself, but my friend brought up the fact that he'd not only do that, but also wonder if his wife was sticking around out of genuine love or just duty. She says that it's common for people like Harry to wonder if they should give their partner his or her freedom which led me to decide that Ginny genuinely loves Harry so deeply that if he gave her her freedom, she'd never be the same. In short, they both crave each other's touch no matter how limited it has become.

Again, I'm having fun going back and review the chapters and look forward to your next reviews.
  Quote
carolebear
Friday 19th August 2011 22:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

20: Alone
I felt badly for Harry, but I think it will do him good in the long run to have had a good cry. Real men are allowed to cry and mourn the people and things they have lost. Love the flying chair idea; I'm so proud of the boys for setting it up, and the grownups for not vetoing the idea out of hand.
Arnel
Friday 19th August 2011 22:45
20: Alone (Author Response)
I think the adults present at The Burrow realize just how important it is for the younger members of the family to try to help Harry. That's why Molly didn't try harder to stop the boys from flying the wheelchair up the stairs to bring Harry down.

I've only seen my husband cry once in the twenty years I've known him. He shed just a few tears when we learned of the death of one of his childhood friends. I'm glad you approve of Harry's need for a good cry.

Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
hermione&ginny
Thursday 18th August 2011 17:54


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 60

20: Alone
Great chapter! I love the wheelchair broom combo!
Arnel
Friday 19th August 2011 08:07
20: Alone (Author Response)
Harry needed something to smile about, so his sons and nephews made the effort to anger Molly and make him smile. Thanks for the comment.
  Quote
Aurorofthelight
Thursday 18th August 2011 15:50


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

20: Alone
(Note: siye came back up Sunday afternoon US). This was a marvelous chapter and you captured Harry's feelings perfectly! The self doubt, inadequacy about his manhood and fear of losing Ginny over it all are perfectly normal and to be expected in Harry's situation! He was due for a breakdown like that! He needs to talk to someone like Ginny did to help him sort things out - and you are right - that person needs to be Ginny! I hope he doesn't ask Ginny if she wants to leave him for another man - that'll make Ginny madder than a dragon with strep throat and Harry has already suffered enough injuries! Thanks for such a great story! Until next Thursday!
Arnel
Friday 19th August 2011 08:11
20: Alone (Author Response)
I saw that.

Neither Harry nor Ginny will ask that question of the other. It's now just a matter of time and scarcity of a private place to talk at The Burrow than anything else.

Thanks for your kind words.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Thursday 18th August 2011 15:11


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

20: Alone
I hope that Harry and Ginny talk soon! You can tell that this is really tearing them apart, yet they dont seem to realize that just talking to eachother would help tremendously. I love the idea with turning the wheelchair into a broom! I wonder if that's what Ginny will come home too and realize that Harry is really ok...
Arnel
Friday 19th August 2011 09:13
20: Alone (Author Response)
I promise they will talk again. They just don't have the privacy they need with twenty-two people at The Burrow. In the meantime, the Weasley/Potter boys did what they do best; invented something to make Harry smile. I think Ginny will smile, too, when she sees Harry flying again, don't you? Thanks for commenting. Until next Thursday...
  Quote
Patches
Thursday 18th August 2011 11:10


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

20: Alone
This is a very good example of the torture we all put ourselves through when we know we are part if not all of the problem. Harry's concerns are very understandable. He has lived most of his life knowing he is a wizard and an athletic active man. To have all of that damaged so severly is devastating to him. His fears about Ginny's feelings for him are real but he also knows that he may have to make the maximum sacrifice and let her go if that is what she wants. Of course she doesn't want to let him go. She wants him back the way he was. It is too bad he couldn't turn over before she fell asleep the other night after crying. He really needs to talk to her. That is the only way they will work this out. Time will make improvements in his abilities. Being a man it is hard for Harry to let his emotions go but a good cry does a person good if they let it. The fact that the boys found a way for Harry to fly is great. Getting the chair down the stairs flying was great and I'm sure has given Harry a boost in his confidence. I look forward to more of this story. Thanks for writing. This is a great story. p
Arnel
Friday 19th August 2011 09:17
20: Alone (Author Response)
Harry and Ginny will talk... just not as soon as they'd like. It's that little problem of too many people in too small a place that doesn't afford them the privacy they need to get messy if they need to be.

I'm glad you enjoyed the boys' efforts to cheer Harry up. That was a fun part to write.

Thanks for commenting. Until next Thursday...
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Thursday 18th August 2011 09:46


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

20: Alone
I hope that Harry and Ginny talk soon! You can tell that this is really tearing them apart, yet they dont seem to realize that just talking to eachother would help tremendously. I love the idea with turning the wheelchair into a broom! I wonder if that's what Ginny will come home too and realize that Harry is really ok...
Arnel
Thursday 18th August 2011 16:29
20: Alone (Author Response)
I think they do realize that talking more will help. However, because of the holidays and the number of people at The Burrow, it's nearly impossible to find a quiet, private place to talk and be messy about it if they need to be. In the meantime, family cheers up family and that's what the younger members love doing for Harry. You'll find out what Ginny will come home to in future chapters. Until next Thursday...
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 18th August 2011 07:24


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

20: Alone
What a perfect topic sentence for the first segment of this chapter-
With Ginny missing and George gone to find her, all the festivity seemed to have leached out of the occupants of The Burrow.


All the Weasleys are inventive, not just Fred and George. A flying wheelchair is such a great idea, so long as it stays balanced.
Arnel
Thursday 18th August 2011 08:47
20: Alone (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked that opening line. It just felt right when I wrote it, so I didn't change it like I tend to with others.

I think in a family as large as the Weasley family, the original inventors would have left a legacy of pranking and out-of-the-box thinking. You, along with so many of my other readers, like the flying wheelchair... and I think Harry does, too.

Thanks for reviewing. Until next Thursday...
  Quote
Showing 1 to 8 of 8
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004