Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Sins of the Fathers by parakletos

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 11 of 11
anniep
Thursday 22nd September 2011 15:16


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 165

Chapter 8
This chapter was so interesting. The machinations whirling around Harry are almost too many to count (and probably more than revealed to date). I can’t believe you were able to come up with even more ways for me to despise Sirius. What an absolute bas----!

Severus wants to be Bellatrix’s source of comfort and she wants to be that for Harry. This isn’t Jo’s Bellatrix (where pairing her with Harry would simply be ICK); your Bellatrix is sympathetic – she feels most at ease with herself in his company just as Harry feels that way in Ginevra’s company. Yet Bellatrix is old enough to be his mother so I can’t see Harry ever giving her the type of love she desires, which makes me sad for her. I wonder if Severus could comfort her in that grief?

“The trap had been laid, bated and sprung.” Was Harry’s magic bound in the presence of Severus to ensure that Slytherin house knew that the boy-who-vanquished was now vulnerable?

Just what is going on with Ron? A couple of chapters ago he told Ginny he was defending her honor, that Harry’s “hands were all over her”, which wasn’t true. Then someone who looked like Ron led the ambush against Harry. It seems that someone is manipulating and impersonating Ron in order to ensure that the contract is broken and/or to kill Harry. (How many people are using Ron?)

I’m glad to see that Ginny has thought about the contract and that Harry is as much a victim as she in this situation. Harry’s confusion about his feelings for Ginevra is so sad and sweet. “He would rather sell himself into slavery than force Ginevra to wed him against her will” – and he wonders if he loves her?? This has to be one of the worst emotional state of affairs to start a marriage – to constantly wonder if the other person truly loves you or is simply compelled to love you.

Thank you so much for continuing with this story. I really love your characterizations and the complexity of the plot.
parakletos
Sunday 25th September 2011 02:32
Chapter 8 (Author Response)
This chapter was so interesting. The machinations whirling around Harry are almost too many to count (and probably more than revealed to date). I can’t believe you were able to come up with even more ways for me to despise Sirius. What an absolute bas----!


Actually, the chapter showed progress for Sirius so watch this space.

Severus wants to be Bellatrix’s source of comfort and she wants to be that for Harry. This isn’t Jo’s Bellatrix (where pairing her with Harry would simply be ICK); your Bellatrix is sympathetic – she feels most at ease with herself in his company just as Harry feels that way in Ginevra’s company. Yet Bellatrix is old enough to be his mother so I can’t see Harry ever giving her the type of love she desires, which makes me sad for her. I wonder if Severus could comfort her in that grief?


You are right, this isn't Jo's Bella, and whilst she is older than Harry, the still turns heads when she enters a room. She wants, or, more properly, needs a wizard of real power and Harry fits that bill, but more than her age, the fact that she too has been using Harry for her own end means that Ship won't ever sail.

“The trap had been laid, bated and sprung.” Was Harry’s magic bound in the presence of Severus to ensure that Slytherin house knew that the boy-who-vanquished was now vulnerable?


Slytherin house is being used along with everyone else.

Just what is going on with Ron? A couple of chapters ago he told Ginny he was defending her honor, that Harry’s “hands were all over her”, which wasn’t true. Then someone who looked like Ron led the ambush against Harry. It seems that someone is manipulating and impersonating Ron in order to ensure that the contract is broken and/or to kill Harry. (How many people are using Ron?)

I’m glad to see that Ginny has thought about the contract and that Harry is as much a victim as she in this situation. Harry’s confusion about his feelings for Ginevra is so sad and sweet. “He would rather sell himself into slavery than force Ginevra to wed him against her will” – and he wonders if he loves her?? This has to be one of the worst emotional state of affairs to start a marriage – to constantly wonder if the other person truly loves you or is simply compelled to love you.


It makes you wonder what would have happened if they had been introduced to each other at the start of the summer. Still, is it love or just the realisation that the manipulation had to stop.

Thank you so much for continuing with this story. I really love your characterizations and the complexity of the plot.


The new chapter has finished it's travels through beta and will appear shortly.
  Quote
Chatmandu
Monday 19th September 2011 12:40


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 153

Chapter 8
An alternative title pondered for the film "Casablanca" was 'Everbody Comes to Rick's'. At the end of this chapter I was thinking 'Everybody Comes to Harry'.
parakletos
Sunday 25th September 2011 02:09
Chapter 8 (Author Response)
An alternative title pondered for the film "Casablanca" was 'Everbody Comes to Rick's'. At the end of this chapter I was thinking 'Everybody Comes to Harry'.


I've been puzzling over this review ever since you posted it. On the one hand, I understand the fact that it all revolves around Harry, but that's about as far as it goes.

As this is a H&G fic, there will be a lot of plot strands that are left dangling at the end. If you've read And on the Eighth Day, you will recognise that as part of my style.

But Harry won't stay in hospital forever and the next chapter will arrive very soon.
  Quote
Lizlovegood12
Wednesday 14th September 2011 18:46


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

Chapter 8
Hi! I was a huge surprise when I found this story, I was writing a similar story of Harry and Ginny where they have to marry because of a bethoral contract! I've read many fics with that theme but it always make it very hard for them and give them a death sentence if they don't fulfil they contract and it's rules, I thought it was too stream so I had the idea of a story that the consecuense of failing o refusing was losing their magic... Ive change it so many times (3 to be exact) but always end change my mind!! Lol! I haven't even publish the first chapter... Maybe I'll do it someday! XD
Now about your story I like the way you write, the formal language I which Harry address it's strange, but that's the way you pictured it! This Harry it's so dark that I wonder what make him like that, but I can't deny that he's sexier lol! I hope you update soon! XD bye!
parakletos
Wednesday 14th September 2011 22:52
Chapter 8 (Author Response)
Hi! I was a huge surprise when I found this story, I was writing a similar story of Harry and Ginny where they have to marry because of a bethoral contract! I've read many fics with that theme but it always make it very hard for them and give them a death sentence if they don't fulfil they contract and it's rules, I thought it was too stream so I had the idea of a story that the consecuense of failing o refusing was losing their magic... Ive change it so many times (3 to be exact) but always end change my mind!! Lol! I haven't even publish the first chapter... Maybe I'll do it someday! XD
Now about your story I like the way you write, the formal language I which Harry address it's strange, but that's the way you pictured it! This Harry it's so dark that I wonder what make him like that, but I can't deny that he's sexier lol! I hope you update soon! XD bye!


Hi the idea isn't new, as you've already pointed out and came about from a series of stories I wrote trying to rework what had become a whole range of cliches - wrong boy who lived, Ginny pregnant, etc.

I'm sure that there are other fics - Mr Intel's The Bargain springs to mind - that have a similar premise, I've just made it a bit darker and a bit less accessible

Thanks for taking the time to drop by and leave a review and good luck with your own writing.
  Quote
aharkins
Friday 9th September 2011 10:34


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 176

Chapter 8
When I checked in at PhoenixSong and saw your update, my first thought was "Happy Birthday to ME!" I'm really enjoying this story. I know all the characters are OOC but that's just one of the things that makes it more interesting for me. The bit with Bella kind of creeps me out though. It would be wrong on every level I can imagine for Harry to hook up with her.

Thanks for writing. Thanks for sharing. I know it takes time to put out quality chapters so I don't want to rush you....But I do want to rush you.
parakletos
Saturday 10th September 2011 12:29
Chapter 8 (Author Response)
When I checked in at PhoenixSong and saw your update, my first thought was "Happy Birthday to ME!" I'm really enjoying this story. I know all the characters are OOC but that's just one of the things that makes it more interesting for me. The bit with Bella kind of creeps me out though. It would be wrong on every level I can imagine for Harry to hook up with her.

Thanks for writing. Thanks for sharing. I know it takes time to put out quality chapters so I don't want to rush you....But I do want to rush you.


Well, I'd disagree with the OOC tag, but as you are so nice about it I've decided to let you off

I'm focused elsewhere in terms of writing, but having failed to finish 12M I've resolved to finish this. All I can promise is that there will be at least one more chapter before Christmas.

Thanks for stopping by.
  Quote
Dad
Thursday 8th September 2011 10:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 485

Chapter 8
Had to get to a computer that knew my login details to leave this. I had almost forgotten about this story, but it is too good to loose. A great treatment of the story line. Please keep it coming.
parakletos
Thursday 8th September 2011 12:04
Chapter 8 (Author Response)
Had to get to a computer that knew my login details to leave this. I had almost forgotten about this story, but it is too good to loose. A great treatment of the story line. Please keep it coming.


I'll get there, eventually. Thanks for going to the trouble to review.
  Quote
aimless`
Wednesday 7th September 2011 18:36


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 115

Chapter 8
Uhm, she's (Bella) quite older than Harry :S. Anyway, very interesting story, I wish there was more chapters so I can finally start reading it a s a whole . Yeah, I know, it takes time. I'll wait and then I will read it. I really like it, but reading unfinished stuff only makes me want more ).
parakletos
Thursday 8th September 2011 12:01
Chapter 8 (Author Response)
Uhm, she's (Bella) quite older than Harry :S. Anyway, very interesting story, I wish there was more chapters so I can finally start reading it a s a whole . Yeah, I know, it takes time. I'll wait and then I will read it. I really like it, but reading unfinished stuff only makes me want more ).


I'd like to say that the next chapter will arrive quicker, but that would be unwise. Thanks for sticking with it through the long gaps.
  Quote
Nanci Ginny
Tuesday 6th September 2011 21:41


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

Chapter 8
It kills me that Harry is in pain. As much as feels his happiness with Ginny, I am glad that he realized that he could have expressed himself differently. Ginny, I do hope that she will be there by Harry's side to ake sure tat he will get thru this whole ordeal. I do hope that everyone will find some redemption. Great chapter. I am so glad that you updated. i am glad that it is coming along.
parakletos
Tuesday 6th September 2011 23:03
Chapter 8 (Author Response)
It kills me that Harry is in pain. As much as feels his happiness with Ginny, I am glad that he realized that he could have expressed himself differently. Ginny, I do hope that she will be there by Harry's side to ake sure tat he will get thru this whole ordeal. I do hope that everyone will find some redemption. Great chapter. I am so glad that you updated. i am glad that it is coming along.


Ah redemption; so many sins, but by whom or with what can those that have strayed be redeemed?

I can't promise the next chapter will arrive quickly but the next two are close to the beta stage.

Thanks for taking the time to read and review.
  Quote
Patches
Monday 5th September 2011 15:43


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

Chapter 8
This is bad. Harry is unconscious in the hospital wing. Bellatrix wants Harry to marry her. Ginny isn't allowed to see him and is having second thoughts. Sirius is distracted. It looks like Harry will lose his magic to the curse of a wedding he never planned on. A very tangled mess. I hope Bellatrix loses out on this one. I'm so glad you updated this story. I am really enjoying it. I know real life interfers with writing but I hope you will complete this one. Thanks for writing. p
parakletos
Tuesday 6th September 2011 23:00
Chapter 8 (Author Response)
This is bad. Harry is unconscious in the hospital wing. Bellatrix wants Harry to marry her. Ginny isn't allowed to see him and is having second thoughts. Sirius is distracted. It looks like Harry will lose his magic to the curse of a wedding he never planned on. A very tangled mess. I hope Bellatrix loses out on this one. I'm so glad you updated this story. I am really enjoying it. I know real life interfers with writing but I hope you will complete this one. Thanks for writing. p


I thought I'd already replied to this so apologies if there are two responses.

The chapter is intended to give an insight into the machinations going on around Harry and how much control he's lost over time.

In terms of Ginny not being able to see him; no one is. In terms of her having seconds thoughts, well, its amazing that she's even prepared to give him the time of day given how he lied to her. Still, he's got himself under her skin but where will that lead her?

I am quite a way ahead in the story with the next two chapters close to the beta stage so I hope this one will be finished.

Thanks for sticking with it and taking the time to read and review.
  Quote
Hot48cricket
Monday 5th September 2011 12:29


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 38

Chapter 8
OMG....Bellatrix wants Harry? ? ? And how come Ginny isn\'t allowed to see him? ? ? And what happened to the people that were attacking Harry? Did they all escape? ? ?

Thanks for the update!!!!
parakletos
Monday 5th September 2011 12:59
Chapter 8 (Author Response)
OMG....Bellatrix wants Harry? ? ? And how come Ginny isn\'t allowed to see him? ? ? And what happened to the people that were attacking Harry? Did they all escape? ? ?

Thanks for the update!!!!


All will be revealed in good time. Thanks for reviewing
  Quote
Aurorofthelight
Monday 5th September 2011 10:13


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

Chapter 8
I am overjoyed to finally see a new chapter show up! This has become a favorite story of mine and it is slow torture waiting for these updates! I have to admit, though, I was alittle disappointed in this chapter after such a long wait! I expected to see it pick up right where the last one left off and I had certainly hoped for more Harry/Ginny interaction even if Harry is still out of it! Maybe you were trying to establish different characters' points of view at this stage, but this seemed like a synopsis of ho-hum events and it seemed lacking and left me wanting more! I did like the revelation of the servant and his master - that servant sounds alot like Dean Thomas to me! I did like the chapter muchly but it was kind of like anticipating a nice t-bone steak and ending up with a hotdog! Hope you update sooner this time and hope the next chapter will be alittle longer!
parakletos
Monday 5th September 2011 12:29
Chapter 8 (Author Response)
I am overjoyed to finally see a new chapter show up! This has become a favorite story of mine and it is slow torture waiting for these updates! I have to admit, though, I was alittle disappointed in this chapter after such a long wait! I expected to see it pick up right where the last one left off and I had certainly hoped for more Harry/Ginny interaction even if Harry is still out of it! Maybe you were trying to establish different characters' points of view at this stage, but this seemed like a synopsis of ho-hum events and it seemed lacking and left me wanting more! I did like the revelation of the servant and his master - that servant sounds alot like Dean Thomas to me! I did like the chapter muchly but it was kind of like anticipating a nice t-bone steak and ending up with a hotdog! Hope you update sooner this time and hope the next chapter will be alittle longer!


Mmm where do I start?

This chapter was never likely to be much in the way of H&G given the fact that he is on the verge of death and she doesn't know if it's breakfast or Christmas. The main aim of the chapter was to take a step back, give a few clues to future happenings and generally allow people to take a breath.

So, I'm sorry it wasn't quite what you were hoping for, but hopefully the next one will be more to your liking.

  Quote
potternut190
Monday 5th September 2011 01:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

Chapter 8
Ew Bellatrix!?! That was a short (but good) chapter can we hope that the next one be coming sooner than this one?
parakletos
Monday 5th September 2011 12:23
Chapter 8 (Author Response)
Ew Bellatrix!?! That was a short (but good) chapter can we hope that the next one be coming sooner than this one?


The time taken was far longer than I would've liked, but I can only go with what I'm able to do. However, the next chapter is about to go into beta.

Thanks for stopping by.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 11 of 11
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004