Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Vis Insita by Caleb Nova

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 16 of 16
Jacynthe
Tuesday 21st October 2014 11:22


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 143

1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor…
I'm fairly certain I've read this before (I did check to make sure I hadn't actually reviewed it) although I can't remember how far I got. Be that as it may, your recent update motivated me to go back and get caught up. This chapter made me laugh out loud (more than once) on a Tuesday evening when I should have been grading essays. Go you!

cheers,

j
  Quote
Dun8y
Saturday 7th June 2014 05:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor…
I like the start of this, I don't usually like letters in stories, this works for me though! I will try and comment, but just want to carry on reading! How selfish am I? Thank you for giving us the opportunity to read more of this story.
P. S. Do you have any original stories of your own, or are they all fan fiction?
Thank you x
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 17th June 2014 22:01
1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor… (Author Response)
All fan fiction, I'm afraid, save for a few scattered fragments.

Also, I forgot to mention this in your review for That Terrifying Momentum, but the version of TTM on this website is out of date. The revised addition can be read over at Fanfiction.net, should you desire a reread at some point. It is, in my opinion, a superior version.
  Quote
Chatmandu
Sunday 3rd November 2013 18:47


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 153

1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor…
This is a bit late for a chapter review, but are you going to add the "Interval" chapter to TTM on this site. It was a lot of fun to see the actions behind the letters from Scott's perspective.
SCOTT: Well aren’t I predictable. (a loud bang, muffled shouting in the distance) Hey, look at that, I gotta go. Keep it real, H.
What actually happened on Scott's end is NOT what I envisioned!
Caleb Nova
Wednesday 6th November 2013 19:53
1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor… (Author Response)
This is a bit late for a chapter review, but are you going to add the "Interval" chapter to TTM on this site. It was a lot of fun to see the actions behind the letters from Scott's perspective.


'Interval' was posted as a bonus for the fully revised edition of TTM. Currently, FF.net is the only site to host the entire revised edition with all of its countless changes, some big, some small. However, I have submitted the new edition to Sherry so it's just a matter of time before it all finds its way to being posted here.

What actually happened on Scott's end is NOT what I envisioned!


I'd be curious to know what your original envisioning was.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Wednesday 22nd May 2013 11:45


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor…
I've already left a review for this chapter, but since you seem to like them so much, I'll just say... good work!
Caleb Nova
Saturday 25th May 2013 18:37
1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor… (Author Response)
I've already left a review for this chapter, but since you seem to like them so much, I'll just say... good work!


I do like them, yes. They fuel me.
  Quote
Narumi
Tuesday 12th February 2013 19:27


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor…
Great opening chapter! I just flew through TTM this past week, sorry for not reviewing there but I just figured it sould slow me down from getting to the current story. I kept seeing that this was being updated through following PS on facebook, and vaguely remembered having started TTM when it first came out. I was one of the many who was instantly turned off by Scott, expecting a Deus ex Mary Sue. Boy, was I wrong! Glad I've now seen the error of my ways, and looking forward to reading some well written long term fiction. That is entirely too hard to come by in the HPverse these days!!
Caleb Nova
Wednesday 13th February 2013 12:41
1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor… (Author Response)
Great opening chapter! I just flew through TTM this past week, sorry for not reviewing there but I just figured it sould slow me down from getting to the current story.


That is true. Glad you enjoyed TTM.

I kept seeing that this was being updated through following PS on facebook, and vaguely remembered having started TTM when it first came out. I was one of the many who was instantly turned off by Scott, expecting a Deus ex Mary Sue. Boy, was I wrong!


I'm surprised you gave it a second chance (though obviously pleased that you did). I think the majority are ready enough to stay with their first assumptions.

Glad I've now seen the error of my ways, and looking forward to reading some well written long term fiction. That is entirely too hard to come by in the HPverse these days!!


Well I appreciate that, and thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Sunday 14th October 2012 16:40


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor…
A nice exchange of letters, that's quite a contrast to your usual writing style. Looking forward to the next chapter - uups, it's already there
Caleb Nova
Monday 15th October 2012 16:51
1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor… (Author Response)
Yeah, I thought I'd do something different for a proper prologue. TTM didn't have any prologue at all (or at least not any that were posted).
  Quote
Aragorn
Wednesday 23rd November 2011 21:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor…
Re-read this and am reminded what a wonderful chapter this is: the letters are a brilliant change of pace...and the whole thing provides great character development.
Caleb Nova
Sunday 8th January 2012 04:37
1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor… (Author Response)
I like the letters alright. I don't think I'll be repeating the form at any point, but it works well enough as an opener.
  Quote
Chatmandu
Wednesday 14th September 2011 08:45


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 153

1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor…
I'm glad you didn't use the plot device of Harry asking Scott for relationship advice. That would sort of be like asking the Borgias for advice on chastity.
Caleb Nova
Thursday 15th September 2011 02:45
1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor… (Author Response)
While that analogy is more than a little exaggerated, since I think Scott might have some useful advice in that category (assuming Harry could get it out of him), there is some truth to it.

The thing is, you're giving me credit for nonexistent foresight. That scenario never occurred to me at all. I don't think Harry would ever ask Scott for relationship advice, not after all the crap Scott gave him about Ginny, and other things, for that matter. I feel like that would be out of character.
  Quote
Dad
Thursday 8th September 2011 10:55


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 483

1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor…
I started this chapter and wondered if it was the same Caleb Nova I had grown to know and love. By the end, I knew it was. Onwards and upwards!
Caleb Nova
Thursday 15th September 2011 02:46
1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor… (Author Response)
I started this chapter and wondered if it was the same Caleb Nova I had grown to know and love.


Was it so different?

By the end, I knew it was. Onwards and upwards!


Well, so long as you were convinced by the end that I wasn't an impostor.
  Quote
girlspell
Tuesday 6th September 2011 17:34


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 98

1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor…
I like the way you set up this separate story as a kind of lynch key off from the The Terrifying Momentum. The series of letters were clever and really told a lot about the POV of a lot of the characters, and the point in place of where they are.
Caleb Nova
Thursday 15th September 2011 02:49
1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor… (Author Response)
I like the way you set up this separate story as a kind of lynch key off from the The Terrifying Momentum.


You have me at a loss with that expression, I don't think I've ever heard 'lynch key' before. Lynchpin, sure, but that wouldn't make sense in context. Either I'm ignorant, or you've invented a new expression to confound me, you.

The series of letters were clever and really told a lot about the POV of a lot of the characters, and the point in place of where they are.


A very early version of the chapter had the letters with grammar and spelling mistakes. But I think anytime that's done and it's not in dialogue, people will just assume I f'ed up.
  Quote
Kori24601
Tuesday 6th September 2011 16:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor…
Caleb I'm so glad you're writing this story!!! Thank you! I generally don't like prologues, but I like how you did this with the letters and phone calls. Looking forward to more!
Caleb Nova
Thursday 15th September 2011 02:50
1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor… (Author Response)
What do you have against prologues? Has some other author set you against them?

Me, I'm looking forward to more of your reviews.
  Quote
Aragorn
Monday 5th September 2011 21:29


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor…
Good to see this new story! We're certainly all spread out now but look forward to seeing what you do when they're all together. And how much Scott may introduce muggle weaponry into the mix...as part of living in both worlds.

Actually, continuing to take out Death Eaters from time to time (as Scott has been doing) might be a good distraction to keep Voldemort from wondering what they're really up to as opposed to totally disappearing from the wizarding world and being these mysteries that no one hears anything about for a long time.

Anyway, thanks for the gift.
  Quote
lizzypotter14
Monday 5th September 2011 18:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor…
I miss the quirkiness and sarcastic points of view of your stories. It is refreshing to see that our beloved characters can be as dense as an early morning fog or as randy as your typical teenagers. Love the letters and the input from Scott and Lila.
Caleb Nova
Thursday 15th September 2011 02:51
1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor… (Author Response)
I miss the quirkiness and sarcastic points of view of your stories.


Meaning that those things were absent from this chapter, or that you missed them during the break between stories?

It is refreshing to see that our beloved characters can be as dense as an early morning fog or as randy as your typical teenagers.


Oh yes, very much so.

Love the letters and the input from Scott and Lila.


I'm glad you liked the whole 'letters' thing, I wasn't sure that was going to work.
  Quote
TomRiddle
Monday 5th September 2011 11:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor…
Salutations Caleb S. Nova Esq.

I would like to formally thank you for continue Mr. Kharan's adventures. I am most excited to see how this turns out.
Once again, Many thanks.
~
Caleb Nova
Thursday 15th September 2011 02:52
1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor… (Author Response)
Salutations Caleb S. Nova Esq.


And you as well, sir.

I would like to formally thank you for continue Mr. Kharan's adventures. I am most excited to see how this turns out. Once again, Many thanks. ~


Not his adventures: Harry's adventures. Scott just happens to be there.
  Quote
Aurorofthelight
Monday 5th September 2011 09:48


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor…
Nice to see you back with a sequel! I really enjoyed the first one! Scott is a real piece of work!
Caleb Nova
Thursday 15th September 2011 02:53
1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor… (Author Response)
He is indeed. Glad you enjoyed the previous story, with luck you'll enjoy this one as well.
  Quote
Aragorn
Sunday 4th September 2011 22:49


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor…
Good to see this new story! We're certainly all spread out now but look forward to seeing what you do when they're all together. And how much Scott may introduce muggle weaponry into the mix...as part of living in both worlds.

Actually, continuing to take out Death Eaters from time to time (as Scott has been doing) might be a good distraction to keep Voldemort from wondering what they're really up to as opposed to totally disappearing from the wizarding world and being these mysteries that no one hears anything about for a long time.

Anyway, thanks for the gift.
Caleb Nova
Thursday 15th September 2011 02:54
1: Prologue: And This Long Wake of Phosphor… (Author Response)
Good to see this new story! We're certainly all spread out now but look forward to seeing what you do when they're all together. And how much Scott may introduce muggle weaponry into the mix...as part of living in both worlds.


Scott doesn't live in either world, really. He's just familiar with them (and one much more than the other). His world is another place entirely.

Actually, continuing to take out Death Eaters from time to time (as Scott has been doing) might be a good distraction to keep Voldemort from wondering what they're really up to as opposed to totally disappearing from the wizarding world and being these mysteries that no one hears anything about for a long time.


Maybe. Constant attacks invite constant reprisal, and don't forget how outnumbered Harry and company are.

Anyway, thanks for the gift.


And thank you for the review.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 16 of 16
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004