Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For For Love of Family by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 4 of 4
Caesarcaesar
Saturday 5th November 2011 08:47


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

22: Troubles
So glad Ron has matured enough to put his old grudge against Malfoy aside, and it was lovely to see Hermione so supportive or Ron - they really have matured together and their love is still so strong and as precious as when we all saw their first kiss.

My god, I hate that matron!
Arnel
Saturday 5th November 2011 21:44
22: Troubles (Author Response)
Hee, hee, I think every one of my readers hates the Matron. It's good to know that I can write a truly vile character because she's the first one I've attempted: negative characters like Snape and Bellatrix have always given me problems because I find it very hard to think like a mean character. I'm tickled pink that you hate her, too!

Writing Ron and Hermione now that they are closer to my own age has been really fun. I've always thought that time and more responsibility would mature Ron more than anything and I think making him the lead Auror on Harry's case has done him good because he's now seen the changes in Draco that Harry's witnessed over the years and he can now put aside their school animosity and really see who Draco has become. They may never be chummy with each other, but at least Ron has decided to bury the hatchet, so to speak. Thanks for writing to me.
  Quote
Patches
Wednesday 7th September 2011 23:33


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

22: Troubles
This is a very good chapter. It looks like the Matron is working on her final attack. I was not surprising that she sent Dawson to set traps for Draco. It was surprising when Dawson attacked Draco and even dueled him. Draco did a good job of fighting him. It was smart to move out of the offices into the warehouse. Ron was stilted in his investigation of what happened to Draco at the warehouse but Ron did a good job and he was a lot more agreeable than Draco expected. that was very good. Now Ron has more information about the Matron and he can track Dawson's movements if he puts a tracking charm on him. The Matron's Imperious Curse will deffinitely be a problem. I hope Ron can use the information to capture the Matron. I look forward to more of this story. Thanks for writing. I missed you last Thursday but I know real life can interupt all our plans. p
Arnel
Thursday 8th September 2011 09:33
22: Troubles (Author Response)
The fact that this chapter wasn't validated until yesterday was all my fault. I'd forgotten to send the final version back to Aggiebell and we didn't realize my mistake until after I sent her today's chapter. I'm sorry if I've disappointed anyone.

Tim Dawson is not a nice wizard. He has a mean streak a mile wide and won't do just what he's told quite often as he feels he needs to put his "signature" on whatever task he's been assigned by the Matron. That's why he attacked Draco in the warehouse.

As for Ron's treatment of Draco, his old prejudices were coloring how he conducted the interview. In my opinion, he should have been more open-minded towards Draco, but grudges and rivalries run deep sometimes...

Yes, I agree that Ron now has more information about who is doing what in the case and possibly their status in the Matron's organization, but he doesn't have any knowledge of where to find Dawson until he shows up somewhere... and by then it's usually too late to try to put a tracking spell on him.

Thanks for reading and letting me know what you think of my chapters. Until next Thursday...
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Wednesday 7th September 2011 19:43


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

22: Troubles
I am so impressed with how well you write the grown-up Ron.
Arnel
Wednesday 7th September 2011 21:40
22: Troubles (Author Response)
I think I write him so well because I see my husband in Ron at this age. It's really easy to write what you know and a forty-one-year-old wizard is what I know, even though we both passed that particular age up several years ago. I'm really glad you like my grown-up Ron. Thanks for commenting. More coming on Thursday...
  Quote
Aurorofthelight
Wednesday 7th September 2011 15:43


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

22: Troubles
What a marvelous, marvelous chapter! Loved the action in the warehouse! Draco was the wrong dude to mess with! He certainly hasn't lost much of his dueling touch! Dim Tim was lucky he escaped intact! He was such a nitwit on his mission that the matron would have been better off sending a flying monkey(oops, wrong story again)! I wonder if the dingdong was spared because it dawned on the old crone that she was the idiot that was dumb enough to send the idiot?! Oh well, can't wait til Ron's meeting and the classified mission! Don't leave me panting for long!
Arnel
Thursday 8th September 2011 05:46
22: Troubles (Author Response)
The character of Draco Malfoy as an adult is intriguing to me. His family went through so much when he was younger which most likely left him as an outcast in the Wizarding world. I imagine that he kept up his dueling skills as much to be agile and quick in a duel as using the skill to let off steam from whatever humiliations were heaped upon him.

You're right about Dim Tim. The Matron is so busy doing other evil things that she sometimes doesn't use the best judgement, mainly sending someone to do her dirty work who also has delusions of grandeur about himself. That's what nearly caught him at Draco's warehouse.

The next chapter with Ron's meeting will be out very soon, so check back later to see if it's been validated. Thanks for commenting.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 4 of 4
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Wednesday 3rd December
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004