Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Sins of the Fathers by parakletos

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 9 of 9
anniep
Saturday 22nd October 2011 08:29


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 165

Chapter 9
Yay, a lazy Saturday where I can read and ponder the two newest chapters in one of my favorite ff stories!

Harry & Poppy's relationship is so sweet and refreshing in this tale of deception and machination. The importance of true and honest relationships seems to be the theme of this chapter, at least that's where you made my mind run in this reading.

Harry's contemplation in the Ministry about his desire for two or three close friends who could have shared the burden and limelight of the "Chosen One's" task and later in life share an honest friendship -- a great summation of how your story differs from Jo's. Many stories have been written where young Harry ends up with Sirius rather than the Dursleys and those (that I've seen) are always depicting a much happier life for Harry. Your twist in this scenario makes us wonder if being with his relatives in Surrey might have been better for him after all.

"He now accepted that his time at Hogwarts had been a failure on many levels. Given the opportunity to rebel, he had done so and had failed to see the consequences of his actions. The whole affair was now proving to be the biggest mistake of his life. The resentment he felt against the manipulations of the past lessened as he realised that, once he had been left to his own devices, the result had been a disaster." Harry has certainly grown a lot in just a week!

It will be very interesting to see what consequences, if any, will result from Harry's and Arthur's manipulations of the contract. (Yet another manipulation occurring in this story!) Will you tell us what it took to repay the debt of honour?

Harry's letter to Ginevra brought tears to my eyes. I know I'm reading too much into it, but it just seemed to be so much more than an apology from one crying out to be loved simply for who he is. The contract bound him to Ginny, but Harry is saying farewell to his dearest Ginevra. On one hand I wished that you'd shown us her reaction to the letter and on the other hand this was the perfect point to end the chapter.
  Quote
Dad
Thursday 6th October 2011 05:57


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 482

Chapter 9
I had almost forgotten how good this story was. Very different image of familiar characters. Hope you get the next chapter up soon.
parakletos
Thursday 6th October 2011 12:02
Chapter 9 (Author Response)
I had almost forgotten how good this story was. Very different image of familiar characters. Hope you get the next chapter up soon.


Next chapter coming soon (ish)
  Quote
potternut190
Thursday 29th September 2011 21:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

Chapter 9
Excellent chapter!
parakletos
Saturday 1st October 2011 00:23
Chapter 9 (Author Response)
Thanks!
  Quote
Lizlovegood12
Monday 26th September 2011 15:01


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

Chapter 9
I'm so excited!!!! What will she do? I hope that you update very soon so I can find out!!! Nice chapter! I wish it was a little longer!!! See ya!!!!
parakletos
Tuesday 27th September 2011 05:46
Chapter 9 (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it and you'll be pleased to know that i'm making good progress on the next chapter.

Thnaks for reviewing.
  Quote
Arnel
Monday 26th September 2011 14:38


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

Chapter 9
I keep a log of which unfinished stories I'm hoping will be completed, or at least updated when it appearst they have been abandoned, and when I noticed you had updated, I immediately set about reading then entire story again. I'll take the opportunity to express my wishes that you continue updating the story much faster than you have in the past because of the cliffhanger I find myself dangling by.

I must tell you that your Harry took some getting used to, but you finally explained the reason behind his extreme fomality in his speech, his expectations of the other students at Hogwarts--which they seemed to fail at spectacularly, except form some of the Slytherins--as well as his opinion of Severus Snape. I did find myself cheering in a couple of places where Harry had the upper hand with the man... As much as I tend to like Sirius Black, in this story, I can't help thinking of him as Harry's enemy just because he doesn't seem to have Harry's best interest at heart any more.

As for Ginny, you've done a very nice job of showing her slowly emerging awareness of her feelings for Harry, especially on the platform and in their first encounters. I loved the breakfast scenes and the walk by the lake; pleasant for anyone. peaceful for both. I can understand Ginny's indignation and anger over having to hear of the contract from Harry when she should have heard it from her father. All in all, it is my fervent hope that she really has fallen in love with Harry and that they will eventually get back together.

Finally, I noticed that little seed of mystery you inserted having to do with exactly who is behind the attacks on Harry and who is really involved. Again, I blame Sirius for sending Harry to a place where he might be in danger just because not all the Death Eaters and Dark wizards have been rounded up. I definitely want to know more about that.

As I said above, I really hope you'll be updating this story soon, especially now that I've taken the time to read it stem to stern in about twenty-four hours barring sleep, work and a fight with the old grout on my bathtub wall!
parakletos
Tuesday 27th September 2011 05:45
Chapter 9 (Author Response)
There are various strands ongoing in this story not all of which will be answered fully by the end of the tale.

Sirius has some way to go, but there are clues if you can find them.

H&G too have a way to go and there are plenty of barriers to their getting together, not least their pride. Still, I wouldn't be posting here if there wasn't a good chance to a resolution, would I? I just hope that I can reward your effort with a suitable narrative.

The next (planned) chapter is about to enter the beta process, but I have been contemplating inserting another in between to help with the flow and avoid cramming the planned chapter with back story.

I can't promise to finish the story quickly, but having abandonned 12 Months - I literally lost the plot on that one - I'm resolved to see this one through. The original plan was for three more chapters so perhaps by the end of 2013?

Thanks for taking the time to read, reread and review.
  Quote
Aurorofthelight
Monday 26th September 2011 09:59


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

Chapter 9
Great to see another chapter from you so soon - I almost fell out of my chair in surprise when I saw this! And it was brilliant! Absolutely brilliant! Couldn't help but laugh at the scene with Poppy - only she could play an embarassing situation like that with a straight face! Really enjoyed the interaction between Harry and Arthur - Mr. W came off as sort of a doofus and, as usual, Harry can't help but be a noble prat, especially when it comes to Ginny - sorry, Ginevra! That had to be a difficult meeting for Harry and Ginny, especially when they actually love each other so much! I think if I was Harry I would've waited for Ginny to read the letter before disappearing! Like I said, a noble prat! Hope those two figure out their love for each other soon! Can't wait for the next installment! This story rocks!
parakletos
Tuesday 27th September 2011 05:35
Chapter 9 (Author Response)
Great to see another chapter from you so soon - I almost fell out of my chair in surprise when I saw this! And it was brilliant! Absolutely brilliant! Couldn't help but laugh at the scene with Poppy - only she could play an embarassing situation like that with a straight face! Really enjoyed the interaction between Harry and Arthur - Mr. W came off as sort of a doofus and, as usual, Harry can't help but be a noble prat, especially when it comes to Ginny - sorry, Ginevra! That had to be a difficult meeting for Harry and Ginny, especially when they actually love each other so much! I think if I was Harry I would've waited for Ginny to read the letter before disappearing! Like I said, a noble prat! Hope those two figure out their love for each other soon! Can't wait for the next installment! This story rocks!


The next chapter is in advanced stages too, but I may decide to insert another one in between to avoid needinga big catchup next time.

I'm glad you enjoyed it and i hope you won't have to wait too long to read the next.
  Quote
LeprechaunJV
Monday 26th September 2011 03:21


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 131

Chapter 9
Ouch! Some letter!



Good Chapter.....
parakletos
Monday 26th September 2011 04:43
Chapter 9 (Author Response)
Ouch! Some letter!



Good Chapter.....


thanks
  Quote
Hot48cricket
Sunday 25th September 2011 19:43


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 38

Chapter 9
Oh, that is so sad. I believe Harry went about it in a proper way, but I do so hope that Ginny writes him and tells him she would like to see him again.

Awaiting the next chapter in this story!

Any chance of you continuing Twelve Months?? I really like that story!
parakletos
Sunday 25th September 2011 23:08
Chapter 9 (Author Response)
Oh, that is so sad. I believe Harry went about it in a proper way, but I do so hope that Ginny writes him and tells him she would like to see him again.

Awaiting the next chapter in this story!

Any chance of you continuing Twelve Months?? I really like that story!


I have picture of Ginny with a piece of parchment with the letters H-I-M on it (sorry Brit joke).

I've recently been reviewing 12M and there are multiple issues with the story that I can't resolve, mainly because I didn't plan things out and the details have disappeared from my addled brain. With this story, I plotted everything out so even though illness got in the way of things I've been able to continue.

Thanks for taking time to review.
  Quote
Antosha
Sunday 25th September 2011 18:40


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 92

Chapter 9
Ah. Harry has been studying at the Darcy School of Romance, I see.

(And an excellent school it is!)

parakletos
Sunday 25th September 2011 23:04
Chapter 9 (Author Response)
Ah. Harry has been studying at the Darcy School of Romance, I see.

(And an excellent school it is!)



Studying? He graduated with Honours, my good man.

  Quote
Showing 1 to 9 of 9
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004