Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For A Less-Than-Perfect Love by RSS

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
Moonshoes
Sunday 23rd October 2011 10:33


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

22: Moving Forward
This story is great! I'm not usually one for love stories, but this is incredibly entertaining .

It could just be my interest in psychology, but I would love to see more of his interactions with "Dr. Nutters" . I saw that you said you were writing something for them entering a memory in the pensieve; I think that would be so interesting, especially if it was a really personal memory that Harry has a really strong reaction to.

Thanks for such a great story! Keep writing!
  Quote
smasher1
Saturday 15th October 2011 09:03


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

22: Moving Forward
Oh crap. I am not even fashionably late. My defense, I changed the phone app and lost all my links and then never got around to restoring them. > .>
Another great chapter. I seriously loved the pink floyd part! Please tell me you gave him Another Brick In The Wall-Part 2 too. "We dont need no edu-kaaaation"! lol!

The part with Ted was pretty awesome too. Kids are fun. I was on my cousin's lil daughter's bday yesterday. Fun little rugrats

As always, keep up the good work and post soon!

Smasher
RSS
Thursday 20th October 2011 03:20
22: Moving Forward (Author Response)
Hi Smasher, Thanks for the review. I don't care if you were late! I was late in responding so we're even. I'm glad you like that I have Harry listening to Pink Floyd. Yes he received all of The Wall and know he will get a kick out of that song too. Thanks for commenting on baby Ted, and I'm glad you liked that section. Won't be long until the next chapter posts, hopefully within the week. Thanks again. - R
  Quote
smasher1
Saturday 15th October 2011 09:03


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

22: Moving Forward
Oh crap. I am not even fashionably late. My defense, I changed the phone app and lost all my links and then never got around to restoring them. > .>
Another great chapter. I seriously loved the pink floyd part! Please tell me you gave him Another Brick In The Wall-Part 2 too. "We dont need no edu-kaaaation"! lol!

The part with Ted was pretty awesome too. Kids are fun. I was on my cousin's lil daughter's bday yesterday. Fun little rugrats

As always, keep up the good work and post soon!

Smasher
  Quote
smasher1
Saturday 15th October 2011 09:02


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

22: Moving Forward
Oh crap. I am not even fashionably late. My defense, I changed the phone app and lost all my links and then never got around to restoring them. > .>
Another great chapter. I seriously loved the pink floyd part! Please tell me you gave him Another Brick In The Wall-Part 2 too. "We dont need no edu-kaaaation"! lol!

The part with Ted was pretty awesome too. Kids are fun. I was on my cousin's lil daughter's bday yesterday. Fun little rugrats

As always, keep up the good work and post soon!

Smasher
  Quote
Ursulabear
Saturday 15th October 2011 04:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

22: Moving Forward
Great chapter. I am looking forward the next one.
I really liked your idea of putting Teddy in a role of cushioning Harry's and Ginny's tension at their first get-together. I cannot help but think how Ginny can see a great future father in Harry, seeing his interactions with the baby (girls always think along this way). I think Ginny's tension is a bit too much, considering her extended written communication with the improved Harry during the last months. Well, the unexpectedly strong flaring up of her love may just be the explanation.
I am very curious how the other auror trainees will react to Harry's return, how he works his way back to his community. And I want to know more about Dr. B's personal reactions and thoughts about Harry, and how a wizard's treatment is different from that of a muggle. I found the opening about the inhibiting effect of the Statute of Secrecy great and worth exploring, building upon. I am dying to know how a re-evaluation of a memory of Harry's works.
Sorry to be more interested in Harry's journey than in the fate of his relationship with Ginny - or are there more surprises about this relationship? I hope it won't be steady and... boring. The happy ending is satisfying to expect, but ... how about some unexpected turns along the way there (then maybe I ask too much ... criticizing is way easier than writing, so I am sorry if the author is offended).
RSS
Thursday 20th October 2011 03:33
22: Moving Forward (Author Response)
Thanks for your comments along the way. I'm glad you are reading and enjoying the story. You've made some great comments above. I think there are many avenues I could potentially explore with my story, and you have some great ideas. I've never thought to write in Dr. B's point of view! I will divulge that you will see him enter a memory with Harry at some point soon. Overall, it's interesting to see everyone's different takes on the story and what interests them. I am not offended by your comments, and I'm glad you realize that writing isn't easy! It's a lot of hard work and I simply can't please everyone. Either way, I am nearing the finale, so you'll find out if there are surprises or turns soon. Thanks for writing to me, I appreciate it and hope to hear from you again! -R
  Quote
twinsmom
Tuesday 11th October 2011 21:26


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 92

22: Moving Forward
I'm just catching up with everyone else with this story. I love how believable it is. I love how you have Harry dealing with all his issues. And I love that you are taking them thru some baby steps.

The only catch I think I made was in Fleur's letter in this part. She mentions Dominique coming for a visit. Don't you mean Gabrielle? Isn't Dominique the name of a future child?

Anyway! Love this. I hope you have a bit more of Neville and Luna in future bits.
~christy
RSS
Thursday 20th October 2011 03:23
22: Moving Forward (Author Response)
I caught the error and updated and changed it at SIYE, but I need to get my beta to update it here. Yes, neither I nor my two betas caught the error, which is so strange. Thanks for pointing that out though. Thanks for pointing out the believability of my story. I"m glad you like watching Harry and Ginny's baby steps as they move closer to a reconciliation. No promises for Neville and Luna but now that you asked, I will think about adding them in certain parts! Thanks for reading and leaving your thoughts! Cheers, R
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Tuesday 4th October 2011 15:57


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

22: Moving Forward
Hello there!
Oh yeah, I know that CD
I'm glad we're finally seeing the "new" Harry, but I don't quite understand Ginny's reluctance... maybe it's because I'm to firmly on Harry's side (and male, too ), but if she still loves him, what's so difficult? However, she seems willing to forgive him, so there's hope.
I like your Teddy, he's cool
Thanks, as always, for the update and for the work you put into this.
RSS
Friday 7th October 2011 07:46
22: Moving Forward (Author Response)
You know you're the only one out of all my reviewers who commented on the Dark Side of the Moon, or the music at all! Actually, Pink Floyd is my husbands favorite band, and I think Harry would enjoy the album. Among other albums Harry received from the Grangers and Dr B were the Beatles White Album, Abbey Road and Revolver, Fly bv Night by Rush (another of husbands favorite bands, And he also received other Pink Floyd albums including The Piper at the Gates of Dawn, Ummagumma ,Animals Wish you were here, and the Wall. A nice selection really. I also think they threw in some Clapton, probably Disraeli Gears by Cream in there too...and a few others..Anyhow, can you tell I'm a music freak? Back to the actual writing, Thanks for saying Teddy is cool, I had to do some one year old baby research to write that piece but I like how it came out! And I also do see a difference between the way that men and woman react to Ginny's behavior here. I hope you like where I'm going with this. Thank you for taking the time to review! Best, R
  Quote
Patches
Saturday 1st October 2011 13:50


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

22: Moving Forward
This is excellent. I'm so glad Harry is happy with his flat. It is just enough for him. I was surprised but I shouldn't have been when he invited them over for tea. Of course Molly would bring him a knitted afgan. That was a nice touch. She also brought sandwiches. Not unexpected for Molly. Of course there was also cake. Got to have pudding. I really like the fact that Ginny was a little off. She is feeling uncomfortable and wanted to be there but also didn't. Harry was thrilled to see her and was doing his best to be a good host. Andromeda and Teddy provided a good distraction and then a catalyst to help them start a good conversation. I think for a first meeting sense Harry discovered how he really feels for Ginny this went really well. You did a great job putting this together. Ginny has a lot of pride and it was pure Ginny that didn't look back to see Harry on the balcony. Thanks for writing. p
RSS
Friday 7th October 2011 07:31
22: Moving Forward (Author Response)
Thank you Patches! I do appreciate all your comments, they were fun to read and I'm glad that you thought this was good writing. It's great that you thought that all of Molly's little touches that afternoon were authentic. She definitely wanted to make sure his day was special. I'm also glad that you thought that the meeting between Harry and Ginny went well. Your last comment about Ginny being 'pure' Ginny when she didn't turn back to see Harry staring at her from the balcony was fab! I am glad I was able to pin her so well. Thanks again, and I'll get back to writing the next chapter! Best, R
  Quote
keeptheotherone
Saturday 1st October 2011 00:46


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

22: Moving Forward
I really enjoyed this chapter! Ginny's confusion seems very real and understandable, and it's so nice to see Harry thinking about her and making good choices for himself. Looking forward to more!
RSS
Saturday 1st October 2011 10:13
22: Moving Forward (Author Response)
I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter, and that you feel that Ginny's feelings are authentic for her situation. Thank you for leaving your thoughts! -R
  Quote
Andie28
Friday 30th September 2011 20:48


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

22: Moving Forward
Great chapter! I like Ginny's contradiction between wanting to be with him and protecting herself, that's very real and exatcly what i was expecting from her. Besides, it's amazing how you portray the new Harry, from the way he dresses to his behaviour, everything is an indication of his improvement, which is great.

The interaction between them is both painful and sweet, there's so much tension but at the same time there's a familiarity that makes you smile. Even when they were acting awkward it was fun, and baby Teddy made me laugh, he reminds me of my niece.

Sorry to hear you don't have much time to write, i've actually been checking your story every day to see if there was a new chapter, and its been sad not to be able to read beacuse i was on vacation and now i have classes next monday My freedom days are over :'(
But i at least was granted access to Pottermore three days ago and it's been very enterteining, i absolutely love it! The new information is great, i adoro Rowling even more now

Well, i won't bored you anymore Good writing! Bye.
RSS
Saturday 1st October 2011 10:20
22: Moving Forward (Author Response)
Thanks for commenting on the writing having to do with baby Ted. I own a specialty baby store, so I'm around babies all the time, so I did some baby observing for the story! I was hoping that I was writing the scene in a believable way for a one year old to behave. My son didn't walk at one so I figured that Ted didn't walk yet, and I also wanted to show how fascinated a baby could be by something simple like a sheet of parchment. I'm glad he reminded you of a baby in your life! Speaking of Pottermore, I just checked into the site this morning for the first time, and was kicked out by the server after a few minutes! It seems neat, but something that could consume even more of my time! A goal of mine is to post a chapter once monthly until the end (there are five chapters left to go as of now) so check back periodically in October, but towards the end of the month. You don't bore me, I did enjoy reading your review and writing you and appreciate your thoughts. Cheers! - R
  Quote
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Wednesday 3rd December
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004