Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For For Love of Family by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
Aurorofthelight
Friday 30th September 2011 17:42


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

26: Torment
Another magnificent chapter by the wise and wonderful Oz! (Sorry, I meant Arnel, darn it)! Seriously, I really enjoyed this installment immensely! Poor Ron may never get enough rest pursuing this case but it'll be worth it when he nails the swines! The interaction between the Potters and the Malfoys was very intersting! Who'd have thunk Harry and Ginny would go to help Draco and Asteria(Greengrass?) not to mention stay with them! Considering what Harry and Ginny and their kids have been thru recently, they would probably best understand what Draco and Asteria are going thru! Looking forward to the next one! Incidently, if you are open to suggestions for the evil old bag's demise, I was thinking along the lines of sticking her with her own needles then porting her with a dung bomb to Azkaban! Until next week!
Arnel
Saturday 1st October 2011 01:46
26: Torment (Author Response)
Me... Oz? You flatter me! Actually, I loved the Oz books as a child and have read several of them to my son, thus getting to relive the experience a second time.

You're right about Ron never getting enough sleep until the Matron is caught and Scorpius is safely home. Most likely he'll be living on coffee until the case is solved. Both he and Harry will then be able to heave a sigh of relief.

I've told several readers (usually Draco dislikers) that time and circumstances can change someone and in Draco's case, it matured him and made him realize that he didn't want to follow in his father's footsteps. That's why he and Asteria were willing and grateful to have the Potters support while they waited for news of Scorpius.

Your solution to how to get the Matron into Azkaban made me giggle. See you next week!
  Quote
carolebear
Friday 30th September 2011 10:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

26: Torment
I'm so glad the Malfoys unbent enough to accept comfort from the Potters. I know that their pride would not have allowed them to accept it from anyone else. As both Harry and Ron said, no one should be alone during a time like that. I'm praying that they find the Matron soon, as we know that she has already had Scorpius tortured. Hope his sanity survives without too many mental scars. I've got my fingers crossed!
Arnel
Friday 30th September 2011 10:52
26: Torment (Author Response)
If the Potters had been offering their company and support to Lucius instead of Draco, I think they would have been turned down outright. As it is, Draco and Asteria have probably spent enough time alone that having the Potters wait with them is a very welcome distraction. Draco is right to be concerned about Scorpius' sanity, but he also told Harry that his son is resourceful and resiliant, so he may come out of this ordeal scared and hurting, but still with all of his faculties. Keep your fingers crossed! Thanks for writing to me. Until next Thursday...
  Quote
MollyW
Friday 30th September 2011 06:23


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

26: Torment
I'm really enjoying your story! And I finally took the time to get a new password so I could comment. (I'll comment on previous chapters when I do a second read-through.)

I love your characterization of Draco and his friendship with Harry. You've made that very believable, and my heart actually broke for Draco. Having the Cruciatus curse put on him regularly by family members . . . *shudders* It's a miracle he broke away from a past like that to become a loving father.

I LOLed at Ginny and the dainty glass of flavored rum. Hee. Good to have some comic relief.
Arnel
Friday 30th September 2011 07:31
26: Torment (Author Response)
After reading the Epilogue in DH and the fleeting mention of Draco and Asteria found therein, I wondered whether Harry had actually tried to befriend Draco after the war. I came to the conclusion that he had since Draco acknowledges Harry, Ron, Hermione and Ginny with only a curt nod. The next logical move was to speculate what happened between Harry and Draco that would bring about the nod, but not the characteristic sneer of their Hogwarts years... a fragile friendship seemed about right. The rest of my theories about what has happened to Draco over the twenty years since the war ended are all laid out in the Draco segments I've written into the various chapters. I'm glad you like how I've characterized their friendship and how it seems to be growing. Also, Harry's persistence in befriending Draco right after the war helped him make the decisions he needed to not be like Lucius or Bellatrix and more like I think Narcissa was as a parent.

I've told other readers that as a writer, I think my chapters need to balanced emotionally, so with all the angst I wrote into this one, there had to be a little levity to even things out. What better way to lighten the mood than to talk about Ginny's preference for Firewhiskey over red current rum? I'm glad you saw the humor in it, too.

Finally, thank you so much for the review. Going back and writing review responses for early chapters helps me keep my facts straight because the writing process takes so long (I actually started this story on 22 October 2010 and began posting it in April 2011), so I've been writing on this project for nearly a year. I look forward to reading what you think of the previous chapters. Until next Thursday, then...
  Quote
Patches
Friday 30th September 2011 01:30


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

26: Torment
This is good. I'm glad Ron told Harry and Brian as soon as was practical. It was really good that Harry recognized that Ron needed a good meal and some rest. Harry making the decision to go and help Draco and Asteria in the hard wait for the ransom note was excellent. I was surprised that Harry would leave the hospital but he know what exercises to do and he felt Draco and Asteria needed friends more than he needed to stay in the rehab center. I'm glad the healer was so understanding and helped with Harry's exercise program so he doesn't lose any ground he has gained in his recovery. He gave Draco some good advice about letting those closest to him know how he feels. Thanks for writing. I look forward to next Thursday. p
Arnel
Friday 30th September 2011 01:46
26: Torment (Author Response)
Ron knows it would only be fair to Harry and Brian to let them know about Scorpius' kidnapping in person and in a timely manner, just as Harry know a tired, hungry Auror when he sees one. Harry is concerned enough for his friend to make sure he won't overextend himself.

As for Harry leaving the hospital, Healer Stilwell is involved enough in the Aurors' case that if the Matron is suspected of kidnapping Scorpius, and Harry wants to be with the parents, he's not going to stand in Harry's way. Instead, he approved of Harry taking his equipment with him so he could continue his exercise program away from The Groves.

Harry's friendship and support of Draco is being taken to new levels as they endure the long wait for news of Scorpius. That includes encouraging Draco to express his feelings so others will know how to help.

I'm glad you're enjoying the story. Until next Thursday...
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 29th September 2011 19:52


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

26: Torment
Despite the kidnapping of Scorpius by the crazed Matron. this chapter feels very hopeful. It gives us glimpses of Harry and Ginny's improved communication and genuine affection. I also like the small interlude with Hermione and Ginny. Draco and Asteria's welcome of the Potters and their need for their comnpanionship was heartwarming.

This tickled me...so very Ginny...
Ginny tried hard not to look at Harry when Asteria offered her a glass of red current rum for she knew they’d both break out into giggles; she much preferred what the men were drinking. However, in deference to Asteria, she accepted a dainty glass of the rum and went to sit next to her husband.
Arnel
Friday 30th September 2011 00:00
26: Torment (Author Response)
After all the angst I've written into this story, I wanted there to be the feeling of hope you found in this chapter. Harry and Ginny's night together a few chapters ago has helped their relationship immensely and they're feeling more like the couple they were before Harry's accident than they were before Christmas. This helped them agree and lend their support to the Malfoys who desperately needed companionship while they waited for the kidnappers to contact them.

I'm glad your favorite quote is about Ginny and the firewhiskey. It's mine, too, because it shows that even though she learned to drink with the best of them during her stint with the Harpies, she's also a good enough friend to know that Asteria's feelings would be hurt if she joined the men. I can just see her having a very private giggle with Harry later that night in their bedroom. I think you probably can, too.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 29th September 2011 19:50


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

26: Torment
Despite the kidnapping of Scorpius by the crazed Matron. this chapter feels very hopeful. It gives us glimpses of Harry and Ginny's improved communication and genuine affection. I also like the small interlude with Hermione and Ginny. Draco and Asteria's welcome of the Potters and their need for their comnpanionship was heartwarming.

This tickled me...so very Ginny...
Arnel
Thursday 29th September 2011 23:49
26: Torment (Author Response)
Thanks for reading and reviewing. I always enjoy your reviews.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004