Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For For Love of Family by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 5 of 5
carolebear
Monday 17th October 2011 10:47


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

27: Preparation
I hate not having time to read and review when the chapters come out! very frustrating when RL interferes. Loved the prank planning; it sounds like Albus will have quite the memorable birthday. I think what I really like it that it isn't mean-spirited. Sure, some people will be embarrassed, but it should be obvious that it's all in good fun.

Ginny's got some good ideas for the fundraiser. I recently attended an auction that raised over $70K. Very impressive for a night's work, and this was for a relatively small community. something like this Charity ball should be good for loads of Galleons.

And finally, I'm so happy Ginny is finally asking for help; far from showing weakness, it shows strentgh to know when you have done all you can alone. I know she will benefit.
  Quote
Aurorofthelight
Friday 7th October 2011 17:30


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

27: Preparation
This chapter was quite brilliant although it was so all over the place it almost made me dizzy! Loved the Hogwart's action with the prank potion! Grandpa & Grandma Potter would be proud of the 3rd generation marauders, indeed! Uncle Fred has to be chuckling up there, too! Glad to see Ginny getting some help for herself......nothing like talking to an impartial 3rd party to help you deal with your troubles! I was happy to see Silvia not taking any guff from Harry in the pool and making him see his swim thru.....had to do wonders for his confidence! Poor Scorpius! Hanging around like a side of beef in a butcher's shop! I just hope his escape plan allows for his feet being asleep once he hits the floor -- getting the feeling back will be a real owie! And he sure can't afford to stumble around and wake up Witchiepoo and Freddie the Flute before he has a chance to make his escape on the Vroombroom! (OH NO, wrong story again! :whew Can't wait for the next installment! Until next week!
Arnel
Saturday 8th October 2011 22:47
27: Preparation (Author Response)
The difficulty with writing a multi-point of view story is that it's nearly impossible to show the timeline in concise order because one character does things at the same time others are doing something completely different to make a certain outcome happen. So... while Harry is comforting the Malfoys, James and Lily are brewing potions while Ginny is doing something completely different from anyone! That's why I put in the "time stamp" to help readers (and myself) keep track of what's going on when.

When I was writing the prank sections, I couldn't help thinking that the Marauder generation plus Uncle Fred must be watching and egging Lily and James on as they work to perfect their prank on Albus and the school.

Silvia is the sort of therapist who won't take anything from her patients if she senses the set-back is only temporary and that he/she will learn from the experience as Harry obviously did. He has a long way to go, but is making slow and steady progress towards walking again.

I don't think Scorpius is thinking about the fact that his feet have gone to sleep or the pain he will obviously be in once he reaches the floor, but his father knows he's plucky kid who won't let a little thing stand like pain in his way. Loved the movie comment and yes, I have watched that particular Christmas movie many times. I, too, am smiling.

Thanks for reading and sending me your creative thoughts. See you Thursday...
  Quote
MollyW
Friday 7th October 2011 14:15


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

27: Preparation
James and Lily are such good siblings! That prank sounds extremely fun. I love how you matched the songs with who's singing them.

Poor Scorpius! Good for him for trying to escape.

Good for Ginny for getting the help she needs, too. It's not only in the Wizarding world that people are hesitant to seek help when they need it . . .
Arnel
Friday 7th October 2011 21:59
27: Preparation (Author Response)
One of my pre-betas gets all the credit for the idea of the singing houses. Albus' birthday is coming up soon, so you'll get to see exactly how it all shakes out then.

Scorpius is a plucky kid. Somehow he'll make his plan work.

The overwhelming opinion from my readers is that they approve of Ginny getting help. Every one thinks she and Harry will be better for it in the long run. Perhaps you do too?

I'm glad you are enjoying the story. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Until next Thursday...
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Friday 7th October 2011 06:46


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

27: Preparation
Everything is beginning to head toward resolution with deliberate speed. You are doing a fine job of switching from location to location and thread to thread, almost like screenplay would.

I had to laugh at Ginny's musings about Madame Offerman-
From beyond the door came the sound of uncontrolled giggling and as she turned left into the corridor leading to Madam Offerman’s office, Ginny wondered if the sound had addled the chairwitch’s brain; she knew if she spent any time on this floor listening to the sound it would get to her.

Apparently it had made the fundraising chairwitch a bit loopy.
Arnel
Friday 7th October 2011 07:08
27: Preparation (Author Response)
You're right about this story speeding toward its conclusion. I calculate there's only about eight chapters left depending on how long the final show-down chapter turns out to be. I'm glad you think I'm doing a good job of keeping the timeline straight; juggling this many points of view is a bit tricky with so much is happening to so many in so little time.

It's good to know, too, that you were amused by some of Ginny's more irreverant thoughts.

Thanks for letting me know what you liked about this chapter. See you next Thursday.
  Quote
Patches
Friday 7th October 2011 02:13


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

27: Preparation
This is really good. I am so glad that Ginny has decided to get some help for herself. She did the right thing asking Hermione for advice. I'm so glad that Hermione encouraged her to do this. It will really help her and Harry in the long run. I'm so glad that James and Lily are working together to give Albus a happy birthday. They really need some fun in their days right now. I'm also glad that Scorpius is working on helping himself. It is great he forgot his wand was in a special pocket. Otherwise he might have trie to escape too soon. I'm glad he is doing better except for that stupid Crucio Curse his captures hit him with. If he can get free he might be able to lead the aurors back to the cave where they can capture Madam and her henchmen. Thanks for writing. I look forward to more of this storyl p
Arnel
Friday 7th October 2011 04:29
27: Preparation (Author Response)
The interesting thing about this chapter is that most of my readers are cheering for Ginny rather than egging on James and Lily! I suppose it's because they agree with you that if Ginny gets help, her relationship with Harry will improve, too.

As for Scorpius, he is trying to help himself, but it's been hard on him hanging around thinking his captors took his wand... they didn't: Tim was put in charge of patting Scorpius down when he arrived at the cave and he didn't do a very good job of it since he didn't detect the hidden wand pocket. As Draco said last chapter, Scorpius has a good head on his shoulders and he's going to make a break for it the first opportunity he gets. He's also lucky to not have been injured: if he had been, he'd probably have found himself as a part of the Matron's "treatment" programs.

There will be another installment next Thursday. See you then!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 5 of 5
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004