Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Vis Insita by Caleb Nova

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
Dun8y
Saturday 7th June 2014 06:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

2: Goodbye, Arcadia — Part I
I absolutely love Luna! I love how you have her and Neville together, I think that's what we all wanted to be confirmed in jks books. I find it strange seeing Neville's grandmother being referred to as grandmum, it isn't a term we tend to use in the UK, but that is not a criticism, just an observation. (Generally, your English is good, but I am a fussy so and so, and do 'translate' when an Americanism sneaks in)
Looking forward go continuing this story. Thank you so much x
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 17th June 2014 22:07
2: Goodbye, Arcadia — Part I (Author Response)
I absolutely love Luna! I love how you have her and Neville together, I think that's what we all wanted to be confirmed in jks books.


Well, not all of us, but it did seem likely for awhile. I don't remember if it's as clear in the original version of TTM or if I added to it in the revised edition, but the implication is that Scott changed the outcome, that Luna and Neville may have ended up with Rowling's choice of significant others if not for Scott. It's also implied, I think during Harry's birthday party, that Scott did it entirely for his own convenience.

I find it strange seeing Neville's grandmother being referred to as grandmum, it isn't a term we tend to use in the UK, but that is not a criticism, just an observation. (Generally, your English is good, but I am a fussy so and so, and do 'translate' when an Americanism sneaks in)


I went through about six betas before giving up, I think about two or three of them were British, but I haven't had any help with Briticisms since the first half of TTM. I do my best, but I'm sure a native notices a lot of little things I'm not aware of. Being a huge fan of Spaced does not make me a Londoner, unfortunately. It can be hard to find the UK equivalents for some American slang. 'Grandmum' is probably just an extrapolation of my own invention. Should I reedit these chapter, I'll be sure to expunge it.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Wednesday 22nd May 2013 12:59


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

2: Goodbye, Arcadia — Part I
Does "Arcadia" refer to n.4 Privet Drive?

I like the adult Scott, it makes for a nice change.
Caleb Nova
Saturday 25th May 2013 18:38
2: Goodbye, Arcadia — Part I (Author Response)
'Arcadia' refers to the whole of the suburbia, but also Privet Drive. It's a sarcastic title.

As an adult, Scott is written a little differently, yes.
  Quote
Narumi
Tuesday 12th February 2013 21:02


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

2: Goodbye, Arcadia — Part I
Interesting. I like the way you've changed some things completely, but left others very close to the same. I did spend a good bit of time wondering why Scott couldn't just pull Harry through an aperture, but then I figured he probably couldn't, though I can't remember you ever specifying as such. Would make for a rather dull and short chapter though, I'm sure!
Caleb Nova
Wednesday 13th February 2013 12:56
2: Goodbye, Arcadia — Part I (Author Response)
Interesting. I like the way you've changed some things completely, but left others very close to the same.


There's an internal consistency to the plot, as opposed to relying entirely on the books. Most of the things that change are because of Scott's actions, but all the talk about the shape and chaos isn't just filler. Nothing happens exactly the same way twice.

I did spend a good bit of time wondering why Scott couldn't just pull Harry through an aperture, but then I figured he probably couldn't, though I can't remember you ever specifying as such. Would make for a rather dull and short chapter though, I'm sure!


There is actually a reason behind that, not just 'because the plot demands it' logic. I haven't actually discussed it in the story, but it's another of the sometimes unexplained limitations that guide Scott's actions.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Sunday 14th October 2012 17:15


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

2: Goodbye, Arcadia — Part I
An excellent Neville/Luna scene. Really good work!

It seems very important to you to make it clear that the adult Scott is different... That surprises me, but no doubt you'll have your reasons...

The story's picking up speed, that's good. Thanks for sharing!
Caleb Nova
Monday 15th October 2012 16:53
2: Goodbye, Arcadia — Part I (Author Response)
An excellent Neville/Luna scene. Really good work!


I'm glad you liked it. I was hoping people would, but it didn't seem to get many comments.

It seems very important to you to make it clear that the adult Scott is different... That surprises me, but no doubt you'll have your reasons...


Not THAT different. Just remember it was all in the context of Harry butting heads with Lila.

The story's picking up speed, that's good. Thanks for sharing!


And thank you for reviewing!
  Quote
RubeusHagrid
Sunday 27th November 2011 13:44


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

2: Goodbye, Arcadia — Part I
I like this story.
I just read That Terrifying Momentum, and these first two parts of this story.
You are going to continue this story, right? I hope you do. I really enjoy reading it.
Scott's hysterical. You imagined a whole new way for these stories to unfold, while keeping the key parts. It's very entertaining.
I hope you're continuing this story!
Caleb Nova
Sunday 8th January 2012 04:38
2: Goodbye, Arcadia — Part I (Author Response)
I did continue the story. I know the wait was overlong, but there's a chapter three now.
  Quote
Dad
Monday 10th October 2011 09:28


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 480

2: Goodbye, Arcadia — Part I
Is it acceptable to finish on a sentence like the last one? Keep it coming.
Caleb Nova
Sunday 23rd October 2011 20:49
2: Goodbye, Arcadia — Part I (Author Response)
I can only assume it is acceptable, since I was allowed to post it.
  Quote
lizzypotter14
Sunday 9th October 2011 05:06


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

2: Goodbye, Arcadia — Part I
I had always tried to picture what was in Harry's mind between the time frame of the Dursley's departure and the arrival of the Order. You had gave me a new and interesting point. Good work.
Caleb Nova
Sunday 23rd October 2011 20:49
2: Goodbye, Arcadia — Part I (Author Response)
I think Scott's presence probably changes whatever JKR had in mind by a great deal. His discussions with Harry add an interaction without any analogue in canon.
  Quote
TomRiddle
Saturday 8th October 2011 23:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

2: Goodbye, Arcadia — Part I
Salutations once again Caleb S. Nova esq.
Marvelous work again as per usual.
I did however notice one small error. Scott originally says he only has WP6s but then states he has WP5s. Might be a mistake, might just be me pointing out stupid you don't care about.
Cheers
~Tom Riddle
  Quote
Aragorn
Saturday 8th October 2011 16:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

2: Goodbye, Arcadia — Part I
Like the chess playing scene; presume it's foreshadowing some eventual story dynamic.

Thanks for the update.
Caleb Nova
Sunday 23rd October 2011 20:48
2: Goodbye, Arcadia — Part I (Author Response)
Stratego, not chess. Very different game. And it could be foreshadowing, but it could not be as well.

Thanks for the review.
  Quote
TomRiddle
Saturday 8th October 2011 13:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

2: Goodbye, Arcadia — Part I
Salutations once again Caleb S. Nova esq.
Marvelous work again as per usual.
I did however notice one small error. Scott originally says he only has WP6s but then states he has WP5s. Might be a mistake, might just be me pointing out stupid you don't care about.
Cheers
~Tom Riddle
Caleb Nova
Sunday 23rd October 2011 20:47
2: Goodbye, Arcadia — Part I (Author Response)
It is a mistake on my part, but being in dialogue it can easily be a mistake on Scott's part as well. I didn't really want to send in another doc for Sherry to mess with just to fix that.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004