Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For For Love of Family by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
carolebear
Monday 17th October 2011 10:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

28: Resourcefulness
Hooray, Scorpius did a great job of helping himself, even if he didn't get away or get rescued in this chapter! The aurors couldn't have found him without the information he provided. I just hope he wakes up early enough to cast the Levicorpus spell before Igor comes back (loved the nickname another reviewer used, so I borrowed it). Too bad Ron couldn't give him more credit for using the Patronus spell; he really did use it under trying conditions.

The information about the castles is so detailed; you've really done your research. I look forward to seeing Scorpius get rescued soon!
Arnel
Monday 17th October 2011 14:11
28: Resourcefulness (Author Response)
Draco told Harry a couple of chapters back that Scorpius was a capable and resourceful young wizard. He'd be rather proud of the praise you're giving his son! You'll have to wait a couple of chapters for the actual rescue because there are a few "meanwhile, back at the ranch" sort of scenes we need to get through in order to progress properly through 8 January 2021. Your borrowing of the Igor nickname has me giggling because it's so true that Tim is acting just like Frankenstein's assistant!

I had a lovely time researching the castles. They're all real and you can find pictures of them on the web if you'd like to see what they look like.

Thanks for reading and reviewing.
  Quote
Ursulabear
Sunday 16th October 2011 03:41


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

28: Resourcefulness
Dear Arnel, I greatly admire your writing and thank you for your prompt response. So the labeling of scorpion as an insect was not a mistake, but the fruit of much deliberation. It is great what an amount of thought and research you put into your writing.
Sorry to bother you with a website problem, but there is no contact possibility directly to the webmaster. This problem concerns also other postings, not just yours. Please, forward it to the appropriate people. The header of the printer-friendly version of the postings is filled by the wrong data, even the title of the chapter is wrong, e.g. your Prologue is named WIP there. The header looks like this:
Author: 30 - Add Author To Your Email Update List
Story: 17
Part: WIP
Rating: For Love of Family
Setting: 7712
Status: 180254
Reviews: 0
Words: 180,254
Updated: December 31, 1969, 5:45pm
Printer Friendly Format
Thanks for the help.
Arnel
Sunday 16th October 2011 08:38
28: Resourcefulness (Author Response)
Thanks for bringing the problem to my attention. I've forwarded your review to the admins and thank you for alerting us to the problem.

Half the fun of writing stories like this is doing the research. I get to poke my cursor into lots of subjects from castles to insects to diseases/illnesses to exercises for paralyzed people. I always gather more information than I use in my chapters, but I consider that a good thing because it helps with review response writing. I'm glad you like my details. And yes, I thought long and hard about whether or not Ron would have learned about scorpions in Care of Magical Creatures... I decided Hagrid would have considered "Muggle" arachnids "boring" and wouldn't have covered them!

Thanks for reading.
  Quote
Aurorofthelight
Friday 14th October 2011 17:02


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

28: Resourcefulness
Spectacular chapter! The Auror action was awesome! Scorpius is a bright kid thinking of the cushioning charm & allowing for his feet to regain feeling! I'm alittle surprised that Broomhilda and Igor left him alone tho - maybe they were out recruiting flying monkeys & assumed he couldn't escape! Unfortunately, assumption is the mother of stupidity! I hope the Aurors get to him in time - not only is Scorpius hanging onto the cliff but so are your readers waiting for the next chapter! (clarification from my last review: Witchypoo, Freddie the Flute & the Vroombroom were all in Sid & Marty Croft's old 1969-70 Saturday morning TV show "H.R. Pufnstuf", which I watched as a kid)
Arnel
Friday 14th October 2011 21:10
28: Resourcefulness (Author Response)
H.R. Pufnstuf sounds really cute. Unfortunately for me, my parents didn't get a television until early 1960 and I wasn't allowed to watch it on Saturday mornings without one of my parents being in the room. That's why I mixed the characters up with those from Disney.

I'm glad you found the Auror action awesome. I love writing the "good guys", but the baddies are just as fun in their own way. As for our young hero of the moment, I was tired of making the teens in this story the victims, so Scorpius didn't get experimented on. His father has said he's a resourceful young wizard who sensibly uses his head; his actions in this chapter definitely show it. As for the Matron and Tim, she's blinked out of existence (using the Time Turner) to get some sleep after staying up 'way too late perfecting her latest evil potions. Tim, on the other hand, has crashed wherever he sleeps, having forgotten to go to the cave to give Scorpius his evening meal. Please have faith in Harry's Aurors. They *will* get the job done soon.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts with me. See you next week...
  Quote
MollyW
Friday 14th October 2011 13:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

28: Resourcefulness
Perfect title and great chapter! I particularly loved your description of Scorpius' escape attempt. I felt it was very true to life--definitely not easy for him but within the realm of possibility for someone of his age and abilities.

I really wanted the Aurors to find Scorpius and rescue him in this chapter. Poor kid. *hugs him* Until next week . . .
Arnel
Friday 14th October 2011 14:32
28: Resourcefulness (Author Response)
I'm really glad you liked the chapter and think Scorpius' escape attempt was plausible. I, too, wanted the Aurors to find him in this chapter, but because of how much I've written about their search and what needs to happen next in the timeline, I couldn't fit it all in. Please know that eventually the Aurors will rescue Scorpius and capture the bad guys. In the meantime, he'll take all the hugs he can get! Thanks for reading and reviewing. Until next Thursday...
  Quote
Ursulabear
Friday 14th October 2011 12:56


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

28: Resourcefulness
Well done chapter. One little hitch: the scorpion is not an insect, it belongs to the family Arachnidae (i.e. spiders). I wonder how Ron with his arachnophobia could stand to watch this patronus. I am also missing Astoria's sister (and parents) commiserating with the Malfoys. I hope Ron will thaw up eventually toward Draco. The beginning scene at Hogwarts is a little out of topic in the chapter.
I wonder what the Time Turner is for. I would like a little more 3D characterization of the villains' motives, too ... though villains are 1D in most books, even JKR's Voldemort has max 1,5 dimensions.
Arnel
Friday 14th October 2011 14:28
28: Resourcefulness (Author Response)
When writing the chapter, I went on the assumption that Ron doesn't know that a scorpion is an arachnid. He assumes the animal is an insect which helps him to watch the Patronus. However, I hope you noticed that Ron was busy writing down what Scorpius reported. He probably concentrated on the words and descriptions rather than chose to look at the Patronus.

As for Asteria's sister, Daphne, and their parents missing from the story, that's an aspect of their family life I just plain left out. It happens when one is borrowing someone else's characters or learning to juggle multiple points of view like I am in this story.

The Time-Turner: the Matron uses it to get the sleep she loses while experimenting with her potions. It's as simple as that.

As for the time line of this story, I'm trying to stick to it. Putting in the scene at Hogwarts shows what's going on in the world at that hour of the night and leads to something that will happen in the next chapter.

I hope this helps. Thanks for reading.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Friday 14th October 2011 08:05


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 964

28: Resourcefulness
Well done. You did very thorough research and made it interesting to read. Scorpius is resourceful and realistic. Draco and Asteria are right to be proud of him.
Arnel
Friday 14th October 2011 14:05
28: Resourcefulness (Author Response)
Draco and Asteria need someone or something to be proud of and they've raised Scorpius to be his own man, so I agree that they can be proud of him.

As for the research I love looking at the castles and reading their history, so that was a nice bonus that came out of writing this chapter. I'm glad my enthusiasm for the subject is evident in my writing.

Thanks for reading and reviewing. Until next Thursday...
  Quote
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004