Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For For Love of Family by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
Lizlovegood12
Wednesday 16th November 2011 07:45


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

31: Solace
Hi! It took me a while to read it all!! I love the story!! Hope you'll be able to update soon!
Arnel
Wednesday 16th November 2011 09:30
31: Solace (Author Response)
I'm so glad you kept at it and that you like the story. I did manage to get the next two chapters written, so one will be posted sometime tomorrow! See you Thursday...
  Quote
Patches
Thursday 10th November 2011 00:26


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

31: Solace
Thank goodness they finally got Scopius out of there. The torture the Matron used on him was inhuman which just proves how inhurman she is. I'm amazed that Tim surendered to Healer Stillman and Ron. That was a greaat asset for them to have about all the things those awful people have done. I hope 4 aurors are enough to capture the Matron and her other two minions. They also have another victum to rescue. It sounds like the lady they brought is a pickpocket. It just goes to show crime does not pay. Thanks for writing. I look forward to more of this story. You have my sympathies. I'm fighting a cold myself. Take care of yourself and write when you can. p
Arnel
Thursday 10th November 2011 02:03
31: Solace (Author Response)
I've been writing steadily on the next chapter and only have three sections left to finish. I'm aiming for a next posting date of November 17. If I get those three sections done, I'll make it.

You are so right about the Matron being inhumane to those she tortures. She chooses to experiment on the weak and the destitute and in her insanity, she thinks she is making Healer Stilwell pay... her victims just have different faces. More on her insanity in future chapters.

Tim has actually been contemplating turning himself in and helping the Aurors since the Matron threw the metal fragment at him several chapters back. I've dropped a hint or two about his change of heart, but I think they might have been a little too subtle for most readers.

You'll just have to read about the methods Ron's team uses to subdue and capture the Matron and her followers. It's all in the timing...

Thank you for reading and being such a faithful reviewer. I've enjoyed your reviews very much and look forward to the next one.
  Quote
bozokriki
Saturday 5th November 2011 10:07


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

31: Solace
Great story thus far. Can't wait for the rest of it... You've got a great talent for writing kris.kramer@ymail.com
Arnel
Saturday 5th November 2011 20:21
31: Solace (Author Response)
I'm glad you're enjoying the story. I have a doable goal of November 17 for the next update since the next chapter is half-written. Thanks for reviewing the chapter.
  Quote
Aurorofthelight
Friday 4th November 2011 17:20


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

31: Solace
Awesome chapter! One of the best! Can't help but feel sorry for Tim, but it shows that even when you are facing your own mortality it is possible to do what is right instead of what is easy! At least Tim can pass on with a clear conscience now! Glad to see they finally got Scorpius out but wouldn't the evil old cow have heard the sound of the disapparation? Another great cliffy at the end - can't wait for the next chapter to see if they nail the old crone & her scumbag assistants!
Arnel
Saturday 5th November 2011 00:16
31: Solace (Author Response)
Now that the Aurors are in the cave and have successfully spirited Scorpius away to St Mungo's the next order of business is to capture the assistants and then the Matron herself. That last battle will be the first thing on the Aurors' to-do list in the next chapter.

Even though I didn't specify which Auror was casting what spell, they all had assigned tasks as part of the team. This way, they worked together to get the job done correctly and efficiently without stressing the lead Auror too much. Therefore, if everyone did his or her assigned task correctly, the Matron wouldn't have heard Garrett Disapparate because his departure was masked by the Silencing Spell one of his colleagues had applied.

I'm glad you think the way I do about Tim. He's led a double life the last few years because of the Matron; he's had to be somewhat caring and compassionate towards the people he cares for even if his way of handling his patients isn't the kindest and he's been forced to become like the Matron because of her influence on him. When she (the bigger bully) finally did something to him that hurt him more than usual, he reverted to the more thoughtful and compassionate person he was before he began working for the Matron. That's what I focused on in this chapter and I'm glad you could actually feel sorry for such a mean-spirited character as Tim.

Thanks for reading and commenting. I appreciate your taking the time to do so.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Friday 4th November 2011 16:47


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

31: Solace
Well done, as usual. This was another well written chapter which brings us closer to resolution of all the problems of the characters in your story. I, for one, can wait patiently for you do be satisfied with any new chapters. I also wish you good health.

I did giggle at one of the musings of the Matron.
(Oh, how she hated the practice of bottling water in plastic bottles. The water tasted stale, but what could she expect when she was forced to buy her dinner from the Muggles?)

I tend to agree with her and won't drink water in plastic bottles.
Arnel
Saturday 5th November 2011 00:23
31: Solace (Author Response)
I'm so glad you're willing to wait for the next chapter. I promise it will still be the quality you've come to expect from me.

Thanks for agreeing with the Matron on the quality of the bottled water. I'm glad she gave you cause to giggle.

Thanks for being such a faithful reviewer. I've looked forward to your reviews each week.
  Quote
Ursulabear
Friday 4th November 2011 11:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

31: Solace
Thanks for the well-organized chapter. Your prose has a good rhythm, almost like a well-paced movie. The last scene, Scorpius' emotional release, was really touching.
I would have liked to see more of the emotional turnaround of Dawson - an unstable and arrogant, less than intelligent bloke in the past, now a type worthy of some redemption. I would have imagined more wrath in him toward the Matron. His last moves in the ward were almost peaceful, no evidence of pain or struggle, which he must have had as shown later in Stilwell's office.
I liked your idea of the Forgetfullness Spell, but why did Gorman still remember to cast it before her nap? If she expressly asked Scorpius later whether he was alone, why did not she remember to cast Homenum Revelio?
The choice of words how you let your villains speak is too sophisticated for my taste: I think more slang and dirty or sarcastic expressions would be more in place. Even if the Matron is well educated, I hardly believe it about her accomplices, especially given Ogden's sadistic and masochistic character.
I wish you good health and appreciate your intentions to keep the high standards in your writing. Take your time, but please, don't give up on your engrossing story.
Arnel
Saturday 5th November 2011 00:59
31: Solace (Author Response)
I think I've read that last section more times than I have the entire chapter. I'm glad you found it touching.

As for Tim, I have been leaving small hints here and there in the last few chapters that he was becoming fed up with the Matron, especially after she punished him so severely, and even though I haven't given him a catharsis in this story, I think the sudden realization that his body is failing him more rapidly than he expected is enough to make him change his ways, admit his involvement in the Matron's schemes and be kind to his patients as a last act of compassion before he dies.

The Matron didn't forget to cast the Homeneum Revelio charm, she put off doing so. When I began writing that section, I asked myself what bit of careless laziness could prevent her from detecting the Aurors in her cave and the simple answer was complacency; she thought about doing it and then put it off until later. I know I've done that more times than I care to admit and nine times out of ten, it's been a decision that hasn't been one of my best. So... I gave her a very human flaw that will eventually lead to her capture.

Part of my purpose for writing so many points of view in this story was to learn to handle different subplots and eventually bring them altogether at the end. That my villains speak slang or incorrect English was not one of my focus points. Maybe in my next story I'll focus on their speech patterns and how they think. To me, learning to do one thing well is what is important, so since this story is a learning experience for me, you'll just have to be patient when my characters are more sophisticated than you think they should be!

I promise you that I've come too far with this story to abandon it. I need the same closure that you do, so I will be writing the last few chapters Thanks for being patient.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004