Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For For Love of Family by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 5 of 5
Patches
Sunday 20th November 2011 13:25


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

32: Battle
This is an exciting ending to the battle to save Scorpius and the muggle woman who was the Matron's last victum. The aurors did very well. I was surprised how well the Matron did against so many aurors. Of course her apparating was one of the main reasons. Garrettls return couldn't have had better timing. I'm glad Harry was there to help the Malfoy's and then to help Mary Beth. I hope she doesn't have the same problems Harry did. Very well don and I like the format that shows who was doing what, when. Thanks for a great chapter and a great story. I look forward to more of this story. pms
Arnel
Sunday 20th November 2011 14:12
32: Battle (Author Response)
The next chapter will be out this Thursday. I'm very glad you liked the action in this one and that you approve of Garrett's timely arrival. Harry has also proven to himself that he's not a useless lump since he's been able to help the Malfoys and that he may just be ready to go back to work whenever Healer Stilwell says he can.

As for Mary Beth, remember this is a Harry Potter story where only those adult figures he comes to love are either hurt or die. Mary Beth is a coworker, so because of Harry's quick thinking, she's probably going to be fine eventually. You'll just have to read the next chapter when it comes out on Thursday. I'm glad you're looking forward to it. See you then...
  Quote
mlmswimgirl
Sunday 20th November 2011 10:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

32: Battle
I can't wait for the next chapter!!
Arnel
Sunday 20th November 2011 13:52
32: Battle (Author Response)
It's coming out on Thursday. I hope you can wait until then. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Miranda Jones
Saturday 19th November 2011 15:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

32: Battle
Oh boy!! I read the whole story in one go! I and read mostly harrypotterfanfiction.com, and I just recently found pheoenixsong.net, and yours was one of the first stories that I've read, and I must tell you that I've loved it every step of the way.

I'm so excited that Ron's finally caught the Matron...what a relief!

Please update soon, and know that you have another fan.
Arnel
Saturday 19th November 2011 20:50
32: Battle (Author Response)
Wow! I'm flattered you'd spend so much time reading the entire story in one go! This website is full of accomplished writers and I sincerely hope you'll take the time to explore the archives. If you want me to suggest some authors, please PM me and I'll gladly send you a list of my favorite authors on the site.

I agree with you that it's a relief that the Matron is now in custody. There's more of this subplot to come, so look in on the site on Thursdays to see if I've posted another chapter. There will be an update next Thursday, and I look forward to hearing from you again. Until then... thanks for reading.
  Quote
Aurorofthelight
Friday 18th November 2011 16:21


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

32: Battle
Manificent chapter! Absolutely magnificent! Thrills, chills and spills all around! The Malfoy reunion was very well done, very moving! Nice to see Draco and Astoria as loving parents and very relieved ones as well! I think it did Harry some good to see that as did his quick thinking when he saw Mary Beth! That was a heckuva fight and it was good to see the good guys finally win one - I must pay homage to Ron and his team for a job well done! Nice to see the evil old crone get her comeuppance - she makes Delores Umbridge look like Mary Poppins! It would be poetic justice for the matron to get sentenced to be stuck with so many of her own pins she ends up looking like a porcupine! Looking forward to the next chapter!
Arnel
Saturday 19th November 2011 02:39
32: Battle (Author Response)
The thrills, chills and spills are becoming easier for me to write, so I'm glad you approve!

I've always thought--especially with the advent of HBP and DH--that Draco Malfoy was a young man who craved his father's approval and love and didn't get it. I also think he was greatly affected by what happened to his parents at the hands of Voldemort and that he decided early that he didn't want to be like either of them. So... he became the kind and loving father to his son that Lucius wasn't to him and Scorpius finally felt safe when his dad showed his love by staying at his bedside and not letting go of Scorpius' hand.

Oh, yes, the Matron will and has gotten her comeuppance. There's more to this subplot coming up in future chapters as well as her ultimate fate. As they say in TV-land, stay tuned. You just might get to see that porcupine!

A new chapter will be out next week, so see you next Thursday!
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 17th November 2011 19:44


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

32: Battle
Well done. You managed to weave all the threads together. I thought the segments with Scorpius was especially well done. There's hope for Draco.
However, the steady pressure of his father's hand in his was more reassuring than anything else, and Scorpius finally released the last of the tension that had kept him aware even through the effects of the potions he'd taken. With one last sigh, he let the darkness take over and finally let himself really sleep.

Arnel
Friday 18th November 2011 00:16
32: Battle (Author Response)
The next few chapters will definitely be wrap-up chapters as we see the results of all the turmoil the characters have gone through.

I look at Draco as a parent as someone determined to be for his child what Lucius wasn't for him, a loving, nurturing guide who commands respect and expects results, but doesn't rule with an iron fist. I think Scorpius still craves Draco's approval and respects, but doesn't fear him like Draco did Lucius. Therefore, when they reunite at St Mungo's, Draco's presence is a comfort to his son. I'm glad you liked that section. There will be more along this vein next chapter.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I always look forward to your comments.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 5 of 5
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004