Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For For Love of Family by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 5 of 5
carolebear
Saturday 17th December 2011 19:49


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

34: Memory
It was so good to see Draco beginning to heal from his ordeal. I look forward (as does Rose, I am sure) to the time when he is able to return to Hogwarts. Wait, this story is coming to a close? I'm glad there is still a bit to go, then; I'm not ready to tell it goodbye yet. I do hope we will find that Harry is able to heal even more. I know that you will keep it realistic, though; you excel at that.
Arnel
Saturday 17th December 2011 20:02
34: Memory (Author Response)
Yes, Scorpius is beginning to come to terms with what happened to him. He may not be ready to go back to Hogwarts yet, but beginning a friendship through letters with Rose will go a long way towards his healing. In a future chapter he will return to Hogwarts and actually talk to Rose for the first time. I think you'll enjoy the conversation.

As for Harry, you'll just have to wait. I'm not through with him yet and with another three or four chapters to go, there's still a lot of ground (and loose ends) to be covered. I think you'll like what you read in those chapters.

Thanks for writing to me. Until next time I post...
  Quote
Lizlovegood12
Monday 12th December 2011 18:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

34: Memory
I loved the chapter!!!! Hopee you can update soon!!!! I hope Scorpius gets well soon and can go back to Hogwarts and snog Rose!!! Lol!
Arnel
Monday 12th December 2011 19:55
34: Memory (Author Response)
I'm not at all certain he will go back to Hogwarts just to snog Rose, but if he continues to confront the memories as he is, he'll be back at school sooner rather than later. I'm glad you liked the chapter. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts.
  Quote
Aurorofthelight
Saturday 10th December 2011 17:32


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

34: Memory
Another brilliant chapter, Arnel! I really enjoyed the focus on Scorpius! You really hit the nail on the head with your depiction of what a young kidnap victim would go thru after rescue! I was especially impressed with how Ron handled Scorpius - he needed an objective 3rd party to help guide him thru that memory and Ron handled it spot on. Scorpius's parents would have been too emotional to do what Ron did! Ron really has matured, especially considering how he handled the letter from his daughter to Scorpius! Having a grown daughter of my own, I know from experience how hard it is to let your little girl grow up! I really appreciate the hard work you obviously put into this wonderful chapter!
Can't wait for the next one especially if it's the one where the evil old crone gets her just desserts - or maybe she should just be dessert for the Hogwart's giant squid!
Arnel
Monday 12th December 2011 20:13
34: Memory (Author Response)
Actually, I was thinking that dear Shirley would make a great meal for one of Charlie's dragons! Set her loose in the dragon pen and let her get roasty-toasty! I'm sorry to say that her just desserts won't be coming for another chapter or two... there are just too many loose ends to tie up before we get to her. Besides, we need to let the Aurors sort through all the new evidence while all the barristers prepare their cases.

As for Scorpius and his parents, I think we think alike when it comes to emotional parents. Draco and Asteria needed both Harry and Garrett to talk them through the memory because they were seeing what happened to their son for the first time. Ron, on the other hand, has had some experience with what happened in the cave, so he could be much more objective and helpful when Scorpius needed someone to lean on.

I think Ron is going to have more trouble reconciling the fact that the parents of the boy who wants to go out with his daughter are his own arch-rival and his wife! He's trying, but as one of my other readers put it, there's no love lost between Draco and Ron. I think Ron has all but forgiven Draco for indirectly poisoning him so long ago, but he hasn't spent that much time in Draco's company to get to know the reformed Slytherin like Harry has. Therefore, he paused to weigh the wrath of an angry daughter verses accepting Draco--and thus Scorpius--more than he already has.

Thanks for the thoughtful review. I enjoyed reading it.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Saturday 10th December 2011 12:39


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 964

34: Memory
I am always amazed that you can pack so much information in a chapter without overburdening us. Poor Scorpius. He is going to need a great deal of loving care and careful debriefing to be able to function normally.
Arnel
Sunday 11th December 2011 21:30
34: Memory (Author Response)
There will be more about how Scorpius is coping in future chapters. Suffice it to say that he remains at home until he's ready to go back to Hogwarts and even then, he'll need to spend time with his Pensieve if things become difficult for him. I don't think there's going to be a quick fix for his mental suffering, but I also think that with friends like Rose to talk to, he'll have a better time recovering than if he isolated himself. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts.
  Quote
Patches
Saturday 10th December 2011 02:32


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

34: Memory
This is a great chapter. I'm glad you took your time and included so much detail. The pensieve view of part of Scorpius chapture was well thought out. I like the way that Harry and Ron stepped in and helped Scorpius deal with different details and his reactions to different scenes in the pensieve. Auror Carmichael added his support by giving Scorpius a hug when he met him. He let him know he thought he was brave and resourceful throughout the whole ordeal. It was really helpful to have the 3 men be so supportive of Scorpius ordeal and the way he handled things. Harry letting him know that by telling them about the man's name and what happened to him will be more evidence against the Matron at her trial. I'm glad Ron told him Rose wanted to write to him and Scorpius really wants to write to Rose. That will help them both. Asteria really overreacted to Scorpius accidental magic. Harry's explanation was really good. I'm glad they were able to put most of Asteria's concerns to rest. I look forward to more of this story. You and your betas do such a great job. Thanks for writing. p
Arnel
Saturday 10th December 2011 07:41
34: Memory (Author Response)
It sounds to me as though you really enjoyed the chapter. I loved writing it because it had such a positive feel to it. This was Scorpius' chance to discover what the adults who rescued him really thought of him; that he's a brave and resourceful young man instead of a pathetic victim.

I admit Asteria overracted to Scorpius' accidental magic, but it's something that actually happens in real life. I know this because I've overreacted to a few things my own son has done, but I don't think it makes us bad mothers; I think it makes us human. I think she reacted the way she did because something she thought had been in control (Scorpius' accidental magic) had resurfaced and she was worried that he might not be able to control it and somehow get into trouble. Sometimes it's better to admit what has us worried rather than internalizing our fears and letting that worry fester and blow things all out of proportion. At least Asteria was talking to someone who had the answers she needed.

As soon as I read your praise of me and my beta team, I emailed them to let them know you appreciate their efforts.

Thanks for writing to me. I promise to post again soon.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 5 of 5
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004