Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For For Love of Family by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
Lizlovegood12
Friday 30th December 2011 18:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

35: Firsts
It took me awhile to read this, I've been so busy... But it was worth the wait! Loved the chapter! so Brian and Lily ah? Lol! Isn't he to old? My favourite part was Harry's welcome party! I can't wait for the next chapter! I hope you've had a very nice holiday and I wish you a Happy New year! Have fun! Bye!
Arnel
Friday 30th December 2011 20:32
35: Firsts (Author Response)
I'm so glad you finally had the time to sit down and finish reading my story. There are still several important chapters to come and I'm writing steadily on each one.

About your concern with the age difference between Brian and Lily. Right now, he is a little too old for her, but at the moment, he's not looking for a girlfriend. The girls sitting behind him at the Quidditch match soured his desire for a romantic liason any time soon: what he really wants and needs is a friend and Lily sees him as himself, not someone to be pitied or treated delicately. Once Brian leaves Hogwarts and Lily is a sixth or seventh year, the age difference won't be so obvious and won't matter as much to others: she'll even raise in status with her dorm mates because she'll have an "older" boyfriend. More on this subject in coming one-shots.

Harry's party was fun to write because it was such a positive event in his recovery. I'm really glad that scene was your favorite because I think it's mine as well.

Thanks for the kind review and holiday wishes. Happy New Year to you, too!
  Quote
carolebear
Wednesday 21st December 2011 19:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

35: Firsts
I loved the chapter, too! Both Brian and Harry are finding out how they can resume their old lives. Modifications will have to be made, but it WILL be possible. the meeting with Healer Stillwell was so uplifting; all Harry's wishes came true! Loved the Quidditch match. I understand Brian's frustration. I'm glad Lily came to join them; hope that works out. Isn't Lily interested in Brian?
Arnel
Wednesday 21st December 2011 20:05
35: Firsts (Author Response)
Lily and Brian are just beginning their friendship. Because there's three years of age between them, she's a little young to have an older boyfriend. However, there's nothing wrong with the two of the writing letters, sitting together at Quidditch matches and sharing the same table in the library. The older they are the less the age difference ceases to be a factor.

Brian and Harry are indeed learning what they're capable of doing in the "real" world and how successful they are at it. Years ago, when I was at university, there was a young man in my teacher preparation courses who was wheelchair bound. What amazed me was that he did everything the rest of us did, except that he did it sitting down instead of standing. It is my hope that by having Harry and Brian ease back into their old lives, they will realize they are still the same, capable people they were before they were hurt.

I'm so glad you liked the chapter. I had fun writing it and thank you for reading my story.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Tuesday 20th December 2011 09:37


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 964

35: Firsts
I also love the upbeat tone of this chapter. Your final few words express that well.
Ron watched him roll over to his desk, get out his slide board and settle into the big chair behind it. The sight of his best friend back where he belonged left a lump in his throat and he could only wave as he closed Harry’s door.

It was good to have Harry back in the office.


And back in his own bed with Ginny!
Arnel
Tuesday 20th December 2011 20:42
35: Firsts (Author Response)
These last few chapters are all upbeat for the most part. I'm not sure how readers will react to what is revealed at the Matron's trial: they could cry, they could snarl, they could cheer. Other than that, good things are happening all around... especially now that Harry is back in his own bed with his wife most nights. I'm glad you liked the end of this chapter. It's one of my favorite sections. Thanks for reading and writing to me.
  Quote
Aurorofthelight
Monday 19th December 2011 13:08


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

35: Firsts
Almost forgot, Arnel! I have the priveledge of seeing Pink Floyd in concert in the States during their heyday!
Also, have a very Blessed and Happy Christmas!!!
Arnel
Tuesday 20th December 2011 08:23
35: Firsts (Author Response)
I grew up listening to Pink Floyd, but wasn't allowed to go to any of their concerts. The song I remember most is "The Wall" because at the time I really disliked the words and would always turn to another station until that particular song was over! I'm glad you were able to see the band in concert. Thanks for sharing that memory with me.

Happy Holidays!
  Quote
Aurorofthelight
Monday 19th December 2011 13:04


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

35: Firsts
Bravo! Wonderful, uplifitng chapter all the way thru! The intimacy between Harry and Ginny was very sweet! I especially enjoyed the attention you paid to Brian and his recovery! His return to Hogwarts for a Quiddich match was a brilliant touch and it was heart-warming to see how the students resonded positively to him! Had to help his spirits immensely dispite his frustrations! The welcome back party for Harry at the Auror office was alot of fun! LOL on the Marauder-worthy gag Susan and Mary Beth pulled on him! And Ron was the perfect straight man! Another suggestion for the Matron's punishment: just to make her still feel useful to the Healing Profession, magic all the bedpans in St. Mungos to port themselves when dirtied to her cell at Azkaban for her to clean! After all, you know what the say about idle hands...
Arnel
Tuesday 20th December 2011 08:32
35: Firsts (Author Response)
For the most part, the remaining chapters will be happy and uplifting ones, although I'm not sure how the chapter with the Matron's trial will be received. Readers might just end up cheering and crying at the same time because of what is revealed in that chapter. I'm looking forward to your reaction to that particular chapter.

Brian really did need a boost in his morale. He now knows what he needs to work on as well as how the public is going to react to him as a disabled person. With help from his friends, I think the transition will be be a little smoother than if he faced it alone.

I had so much fun writing the welcome back party scene. Susan and Mary Beth's prank just flowed from my fingers and it was a natural thing to include Ron as their straight man... I think he had lots of practice during his years helping George at the shop.

Your idea to punish the Matron by making her wash bedpans for the rest of her life made me snicker. I haven't decided what her punishment will be, but it will be appropriate for someone like her.

Thanks for reading and for always writing such amusing reviews. You make my day when I find notification from the website that you've reviewed my chapters.
  Quote
Patches
Sunday 18th December 2011 23:29


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

35: Firsts
This is great. I'm so glad that Healer Stillwell and Harry decided it was time for Harry to have weekends at home with Ginny. They have both needed that personal time. The time Brian had at home was good for him and Kendra and James. Brian is a little unhappy about finding people feeling pity for him and some amusment about his situation. Part of that is immaturity and also a lack of sympathy. He will have to realize that not everyone will be symathetic or kind. In a way it is just like everyone else. Some people will like you for your self. Others will like you for some benefit to themselves. Some people won't like you for whatever reason and there is nothing you can do about it. It is a fact of life. I really liked the interaction between Harry and Ron at the pub and at the ministry. The prank the girls pulled on him about his work load was great. I'm glad they made such a big fuss over Harry's return to work. Very well done. Thanks for writing such a good chapter. I consider it one of my best Christmas presents. I look forward to more when Christmas if over. Have a good one. p
Arnel
Monday 19th December 2011 06:28
35: Firsts (Author Response)
There are lots of life lessons Brian is going to have to learn quickly now that he's starting to venture from the safe haven of The Groves. However, with help from friends like Lily, James and Kendra he will be able to shrug off others' negative remarks and learn to cope with them in a positive manner. I'm glad you enjoyed the Harry sections. It's time for him to start getting his life back and what better ways to claim it than spending time at home with his wife and going back to work in an environment where he's liked and accepted for himself instead of his image.

I continue to write steadily on the next chapters and will hopefully be able to post the first or second week of January. Keep your fingers crossed... Thanks for reading and reviewing my chapter.

Happy Holidays,
Arnel
  Quote
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004