Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Vis Insita by Caleb Nova

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 7 of 7
Dun8y
Saturday 7th June 2014 06:59


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

4: Landfall
Not much to say about this, enjoyable as usual, like the way it follows the story, but with just enough difference to make you wonder where it'll go.
Thank you, Sue x
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 17th June 2014 18:08
4: Landfall (Author Response)
TTM was more experimental in that sense. Vis will begin to diverge more dramatically as it progresses.
  Quote
Narumi
Wednesday 13th February 2013 15:50


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

4: Landfall
Ok, I'm now driving myself crazy trying to figure out the sock drawer clue, and trying to think if I've forgotten it from TTM. Haven't got a clue on Ginny's gift, either, though that one doesn't bug me for some reason. Probably because we have theoretically been privy to all of Scott and Dumbledore's interactions, and I recall nothing of said drawer. Ah well, so much for getting some sleep- I must forge on into the next chapter to satisfy my curiosity!
Caleb Nova
Friday 15th February 2013 14:26
4: Landfall (Author Response)
Ok, I'm now driving myself crazy trying to figure out the sock drawer clue, and trying to think if I've forgotten it from TTM. Haven't got a clue on Ginny's gift, either, though that one doesn't bug me for some reason. Probably because we have theoretically been privy to all of Scott and Dumbledore's interactions, and I recall nothing of said drawer.


Afraid you'll have to wait longer to satisfy your curiosity. Scott has yet to open the strongbox.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Sunday 14th October 2012 14:25


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

4: Landfall
Hi there! Don't let those video games distract you too much... This is getting really exciting as it's diverging more and more from canon. Great job!
Caleb Nova
Monday 15th October 2012 13:07
4: Landfall (Author Response)
Hi there! Don't let those video games distract you too much...


Oh, man. If only I could.

This is getting really exciting as it's diverging more and more from canon. Great job!


Yes, I do start to deviate more than I did in TTM.
  Quote
RubeusHagrid
Wednesday 30th May 2012 14:00


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

4: Landfall
I really love this fanfic. I hope you're going to finish it, it would be a shame if you didn't.
It's a very interesting view on what could have happened if there was some sort of outside interference like this.
So, as I said, I really hope you're going to continue this story! in the meantime, I'm going to re-read That Terrifying Momentum.
Caleb Nova
Friday 24th August 2012 20:23
4: Landfall (Author Response)
I know, I need to continue. Losing my progress and my computer at the same time has been a difficult blow to shake off... not that I was doing that great with timely updates before hand. The incredible lateness of this reply is evidence enough of that.
  Quote
aharkins
Monday 13th February 2012 09:49


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 178

4: Landfall
I really couldn't care less about canon consistency as long as you're writing a good story (Which you are doing). I love the idea of muggle firearms trumping deatheater magic. That's gotta really old Voldy off. So as long as you let Scott knock off a few DEs every few chapters I'll be a happy reader.



Thanks for writing.
Caleb Nova
Friday 24th August 2012 20:22
4: Landfall (Author Response)
I don't know about 'trumping' necessarily. Competing, yes. And if I had Scott kill a couple of Death Eaters every single chapter, wouldn't you be bored of it before long?
  Quote
Dad
Monday 13th February 2012 05:08


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 515

4: Landfall
Interesting chapter. I was expecting a bigger yelling match. No blood spilled. As a useless aside, I put "something that was supposed to happen" into google and got some very strange answers.
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 21st February 2012 05:38
4: Landfall (Author Response)
I bet you did. But it's not an outside reference, it's internal, so I doubt there were any clues to be found.
  Quote
TomRiddle
Friday 10th February 2012 04:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

4: Landfall
Once again, marvelous work.

I do have a question for once, one that has been bugging me for quite a while.

How does Scott always know what time it is?

Caleb Nova
Tuesday 21st February 2012 05:46
4: Landfall (Author Response)
I debated whether or not to answer this question, since I generally prefer to leave some things to be explained in the narrative, and a great many more things not explained at all. In this case, I guess it's not a big deal.

Scott's awareness of time is a combination of his eccentricities and his near-Liberi level connection to the shape. Or, if you will, a bit of OCD and a bit of ESP. He doesn't consciously keep track of time; he doesn't have to. He just knows it.

It's important to delineate the role of the shape in this because Scott doesn't exhibit the traits of a savant in regards to mathematics. As you've seen over the course of the story, he's erratically (perhaps sporadically) brilliant in some ways but that's not one of them. He's in tune with the invisible ticking of the shape, as the universe rolls over from second to second, expanding at a steady rate as galaxies disperse while gravity and heat flicker and fade too slowly to be recognized. I kind of like that last sentence, so don't be surprised if it shows up in the story at some point.

In short, he just knows what time it is. Some part of his brain has latched onto it. If you'll remember, in TTM when he wakes up in the hospital after his brush with death there's a period when he *doesn't* know what time is.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 7 of 7
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 9th December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Author: Author by Night
Story: Rufus Scrimgeour’s Annual Christmas Party
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Thursday 11th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
Saturday 5th December
Author: parakletos
Story: A Spanner in the Works
Friday 20th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Worth a Thousand Words?
Monday 19th October
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Wednesday 7th October
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Code ©Jeconais, 2004