Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Vis Insita by Caleb Nova

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 7 of 7
Dun8y
Saturday 7th June 2014 10:59


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

4: Landfall
Not much to say about this, enjoyable as usual, like the way it follows the story, but with just enough difference to make you wonder where it'll go.
Thank you, Sue x
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 17th June 2014 22:08
4: Landfall (Author Response)
TTM was more experimental in that sense. Vis will begin to diverge more dramatically as it progresses.
  Quote
Narumi
Wednesday 13th February 2013 20:50


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

4: Landfall
Ok, I'm now driving myself crazy trying to figure out the sock drawer clue, and trying to think if I've forgotten it from TTM. Haven't got a clue on Ginny's gift, either, though that one doesn't bug me for some reason. Probably because we have theoretically been privy to all of Scott and Dumbledore's interactions, and I recall nothing of said drawer. Ah well, so much for getting some sleep- I must forge on into the next chapter to satisfy my curiosity!
Caleb Nova
Friday 15th February 2013 19:26
4: Landfall (Author Response)
Ok, I'm now driving myself crazy trying to figure out the sock drawer clue, and trying to think if I've forgotten it from TTM. Haven't got a clue on Ginny's gift, either, though that one doesn't bug me for some reason. Probably because we have theoretically been privy to all of Scott and Dumbledore's interactions, and I recall nothing of said drawer.


Afraid you'll have to wait longer to satisfy your curiosity. Scott has yet to open the strongbox.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Sunday 14th October 2012 18:25


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

4: Landfall
Hi there! Don't let those video games distract you too much... This is getting really exciting as it's diverging more and more from canon. Great job!
Caleb Nova
Monday 15th October 2012 17:07
4: Landfall (Author Response)
Hi there! Don't let those video games distract you too much...


Oh, man. If only I could.

This is getting really exciting as it's diverging more and more from canon. Great job!


Yes, I do start to deviate more than I did in TTM.
  Quote
RubeusHagrid
Wednesday 30th May 2012 18:00


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

4: Landfall
I really love this fanfic. I hope you're going to finish it, it would be a shame if you didn't.
It's a very interesting view on what could have happened if there was some sort of outside interference like this.
So, as I said, I really hope you're going to continue this story! in the meantime, I'm going to re-read That Terrifying Momentum.
Caleb Nova
Saturday 25th August 2012 00:23
4: Landfall (Author Response)
I know, I need to continue. Losing my progress and my computer at the same time has been a difficult blow to shake off... not that I was doing that great with timely updates before hand. The incredible lateness of this reply is evidence enough of that.
  Quote
aharkins
Monday 13th February 2012 14:49


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 176

4: Landfall
I really couldn't care less about canon consistency as long as you're writing a good story (Which you are doing). I love the idea of muggle firearms trumping deatheater magic. That's gotta really old Voldy off. So as long as you let Scott knock off a few DEs every few chapters I'll be a happy reader.



Thanks for writing.
Caleb Nova
Saturday 25th August 2012 00:22
4: Landfall (Author Response)
I don't know about 'trumping' necessarily. Competing, yes. And if I had Scott kill a couple of Death Eaters every single chapter, wouldn't you be bored of it before long?
  Quote
Dad
Monday 13th February 2012 10:08


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 482

4: Landfall
Interesting chapter. I was expecting a bigger yelling match. No blood spilled. As a useless aside, I put "something that was supposed to happen" into google and got some very strange answers.
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 21st February 2012 10:38
4: Landfall (Author Response)
I bet you did. But it's not an outside reference, it's internal, so I doubt there were any clues to be found.
  Quote
TomRiddle
Friday 10th February 2012 09:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

4: Landfall
Once again, marvelous work.

I do have a question for once, one that has been bugging me for quite a while.

How does Scott always know what time it is?

Caleb Nova
Tuesday 21st February 2012 10:46
4: Landfall (Author Response)
I debated whether or not to answer this question, since I generally prefer to leave some things to be explained in the narrative, and a great many more things not explained at all. In this case, I guess it's not a big deal.

Scott's awareness of time is a combination of his eccentricities and his near-Liberi level connection to the shape. Or, if you will, a bit of OCD and a bit of ESP. He doesn't consciously keep track of time; he doesn't have to. He just knows it.

It's important to delineate the role of the shape in this because Scott doesn't exhibit the traits of a savant in regards to mathematics. As you've seen over the course of the story, he's erratically (perhaps sporadically) brilliant in some ways but that's not one of them. He's in tune with the invisible ticking of the shape, as the universe rolls over from second to second, expanding at a steady rate as galaxies disperse while gravity and heat flicker and fade too slowly to be recognized. I kind of like that last sentence, so don't be surprised if it shows up in the story at some point.

In short, he just knows what time it is. Some part of his brain has latched onto it. If you'll remember, in TTM when he wakes up in the hospital after his brush with death there's a period when he *doesn't* know what time is.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 7 of 7
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004