Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For For Love of Family by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 5 of 5
carolebear
Thursday 15th March 2012 20:34


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

38: Defence
Makes me wish that there was a way to use Veritaserum in real life. Administer three drops and you get to the truth of the matter. (Of course, I'm sure it would have its drawbacks, but it sounds better than what we have now.) How horrible to have to sit there and listen to all the things that demented woman did to her poor subjects. The outcome was very satisfactory - much better for her to suffer in Azkaban (too bad there are no dementors to torment her).
  Quote
J.R. Lewis
Wednesday 14th March 2012 19:16


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

38: Defence
With a defendant like that, who needs a prosecuting attorney? Of course, the Veritaserum helped a lot.

Good story and chapter. I know, I don't review enough.
Arnel
Wednesday 14th March 2012 21:28
38: Defence (Author Response)
Every review you sent me made me smile. I'm glad you've enjoyed the story. Thanks for reading. The next chapter is scheduled for posting on Thursday, March 15th. See you then.
  Quote
Aurorofthelight
Wednesday 14th March 2012 11:43


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

38: Defence
JUSTICE! But not nearly hard enough! I still like the bedpan idea! Maybe they could magic them to Azkaban!?! Great chapter - just brilliant!
Arnel
Wednesday 14th March 2012 13:57
38: Defence (Author Response)
I've told several reviewers that I considered having her Kissed, but then she wouldn't have the pleasure of all those years to reflect on why she was in prison. I'm glad you liked the chapter. A bit of fun takes place next chapter, so I'll see you Thursday... Thanks for writing to me.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Tuesday 13th March 2012 04:27


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

38: Defence
The door to the courtroom opened and eight goblins strode in. They surrounded the defendantís chair as the chains rattled open, allowing Shirley Gorman to stand. As she was led away, the readers of this story began to cheer loudly.
Arnel
Tuesday 13th March 2012 04:57
38: Defence (Author Response)
Everyone who has read this chapter likes these last two sentences. I'm glad you do, too. Thanks for reading, Grandma Kate. See you next week.
  Quote
Patches
Tuesday 13th March 2012 02:45


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

38: Defence
wow! This is amazing. An unanamous verdict against the Matron and a lifetime sentence in Askaban. Also retrobution to some of her vicims. Very well done. I really liked the interplay between the people involved. Harry and Ginny were there for each other. Draco had to leave the court when he heard the Matron's testemony about her plans for his son. That would be hard for any parent to hear. I like the way the interogator handled the questions. The calming draught and the veratas serum were necessary to get the truth out of the Matron. Her lawyer was a joke. I hope he is thought a fool from now on. thanks for writing. I look forward to more of this story. p
Arnel
Tuesday 13th March 2012 05:24
38: Defence (Author Response)
So many of my readers think the sentence and the votes are amazing, but what was I going to do with a character who practically hung herself when the truth came out under Veritaserum? I think most readers would have sent the Dementors after ME if I'd come up with nothing less than life in Azkaban because of all the people she's hurt trying to reach her twisted goal.

As for her solicitor, he found himself between a rock and a hard place because of the sort of criminal his client was. If you give a complete novice a high-profile case like this, where everything is stacked against his client, don't expect him to do the same job an experienced lawyer would do. To me, the poor bloke has two choices: find another career or take what's left of this one, learn from the mistakes made at this trial and then apply that learning to future trials in order to become a less intimidated representative.

There are three more weeks of posts for this story, which include two more chapters plus the epilogue. I'll see you next week, then...
  Quote
Showing 1 to 5 of 5
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Wednesday 3rd December
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004