Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For For Love of Family by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 4 of 4
Patches
Monday 19th March 2012 15:15


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

39: Auction
This is a great celebration of triumph over evil. Harry has overcome so much and to be comfortable to appear at an event like this in a wheelchair was terrific. Thank goodness the trial is over and the Matron got what she deserved. The auction was a great idea and people were sure to open their purses more with a good meal behind them. The family joining together to bid on the Bahama vacations was wonderful. I'm so glad that Arthur appreciated the care a love from all of his children. I love the fact that Harry bought the pearls for Ginny. I'm sure she was pleased. You and your betas did an excellent job on this one. Very well done. Thanks for writing. p
Arnel
Monday 19th March 2012 20:54
39: Auction (Author Response)
Harry buying the pearls for Ginny is a real life story. Years ago, I was teaching at a private school which had an auction like this and unbeknownst to me, my husband bid on and won a set of pearls for me... outbidding the headmaster of the school who wanted them for his wife! Like Ginny I was tremendously pleased and I still wear the necklace as often as I can.

I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter. Thanks for reading and writing to me. The next chapter will be up on Thursday.
  Quote
Aurorofthelight
Monday 19th March 2012 11:40


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

39: Auction
Great Chapter! Nice change of pace with everyone happy!
Arnel
Monday 19th March 2012 20:49
39: Auction (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. It was a fun chapter to write. Thanks for reading and reviewing.
  Quote
carolebear
Thursday 15th March 2012 20:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

39: Auction
I loved this chapter! The downtime with Ron and HArry at the beginning was great, and I love that they were so honest with the waitress, even though they didn't actually consume more than one bottle from the pub's stock.

The fundraiser was absolutely fantastic; I love how everyone in Harry's extended family is now financially comfortable enough to be able to participate in the contributions and auctions. Ginny really was a wonderful choice to co-chair. May all future events be as successful! Cheers!
Arnel
Thursday 15th March 2012 22:27
39: Auction (Author Response)
Honesty is the best policy when you're job is in law enforcement. What sort of example would they be setting if they only paid for half of what they consumed?

As for Ginny and the auction, I like to think she actually enjoys helping Madam Offerman with St Mungo's fundraising activities, not only because the patients benefit from the money raised, but because she's found an activity she finds personally fulfilling. With Ginny helping to organize this auction and future events, I think the hospital will reap the benefits.

One of the themes I've been pursuing throughout this story is overcoming adversity and throughout canon Arthur and Molly were always strapped for cash. As I thought about the changes that could take place during the twenty years following the war, I knew that the money Arthur and Molly spent to educate their family could and would be channeled different places, meaning that it was time they reaped the benefits of not having school tuition expenses. Besides, as adults, their children have made names for themselves through their successful careers, which enables them to rally around a worthwhile cause like St Mungo's Hospital.

Thanks for reading and reviewing.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 15th March 2012 19:45


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 964

39: Auction
You had me at
the Muggle pub, The Seldom Inn
. You do very well with place and proper names.

You have written a smashing chapter, full of love and humor. Well done.
Arnel
Thursday 15th March 2012 22:05
39: Auction (Author Response)
To be honest, I didn't make up the name of the pub. There really is a Seldom Inn and I drive past it every Monday evening on my way to a piano lesson.

After all the angst, it was nice to write a bit of Weasley/Potter fluff. Thanks for reading.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 4 of 4
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004