Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Vis Insita by Caleb Nova

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 8 of 8
kopfsalat2000
Sunday 14th October 2012 18:28


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

Hiatus
This is a good story, you are a good writer. You'll find it in you to rewrite your stuff. Get over it! I have complete faith in you
Caleb Nova
Monday 15th October 2012 17:08
Hiatus (Author Response)
I'm trying. I finally managed to finish up what I lost, and now am working on new stuff. It's slow going, but I seem to have recovered a modicum of inspiration.
  Quote
The Pharaoh
Monday 23rd July 2012 02:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 41

Hiatus
Also, this other review is true for me as well:
Even though I don't review every chapter, I read them. I'm usually just lazy and don't feel like typing one out. But that said, I really hope you continue with this story, as there are few good ones left out there these days, in the lag of "After -Series". Yours is good, whether you believe it or not.

So, good luck, and sorry for reading and not reviewing when I do that. It's a bad thing, I know. Reviews are the author's food, and I need to do it more often. I hope you continue with the writing, even if it takes a while.
Caleb Nova
Saturday 25th August 2012 00:53
Hiatus (Author Response)
I understand. It's not easy to review. We read these things for entertainment: being expected to give feedback afterwards is like having to take a survey or when the teacher asks you to write an essay on the fun movie you just watched.
  Quote
The Pharaoh
Monday 23rd July 2012 02:45


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 41

Hiatus
...excuse me, *please allow my excitement and anticipation to nourish your inner writer and bring the story back out of not-discontinued-but-not-quite-hiatus
Caleb Nova
Saturday 25th August 2012 00:52
Hiatus (Author Response)
I really hope my muse comes back for a return engagement. I miss writing.
  Quote
The Pharaoh
Monday 23rd July 2012 02:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 41

Hiatus
*groan*
I saw your summary that said it was the continuation of TTM, and I was really excited. Then I saw "hiatus" and I was brought crashing down again. My reactions were slightly less intense than I've portrayed them here, but those were the first words that came to mind, and re-reading your Author's Note chapter inspired me to just go with it and explain all of this in a stream of consciousness rather than search for other words and end up overthinking it. (Is that technically a run-on sentence?) I really hope you regain your 6000 words and/or your motivation. In the meantime, I'm going to go re-read That Terrifying Momentum, mostly for Scott's witty dialogue but also for the general excellence of writing to be found there.

On to the story:
- At first I thought Harry changing his mind was you realigning things to canon, but that was soon disproven. I think I was pleased and then disappointed respectively, but once other big changes happened I got used to it. Now I'm looking forward to seeing how her going along plays out.
- Something else to consider that I just thought of: Ginny was a huge leader for the "good" students at Hogwarts. How would her not being at Hogwarts affect the situation there? I think Neville came into his own as a leader there at least partly following Ginny's lead.
- While Ginny's... boldness is certainly in-character for her, and at the time seemed right, looking back I feel like it may have been overdone a bit. Then again, maybe not. (That's not helpful, I know.)
- I can't remember where it was and am too lazy to check (sorry ), but there was a grammar mistake in chapter 2 or 3 that glared at me, b/c you're usually very good about that. If I recall correctly, it was a your/you're-type thing (don't hold me to that, though).
- In chapter 4, you refer to the Weasleys' "garage", whereas (to my understanding, at least) Britpicking dictates that it's called a "shed".
- I'm looking forward to seeing this continued, please allow my excitement
Caleb Nova
Saturday 25th August 2012 00:50
Hiatus (Author Response)
*groan* I saw your summary that said it was the continuation of TTM, and I was really excited. Then I saw "hiatus" and I was brought crashing down again. My reactions were slightly less intense than I've portrayed them here, but those were the first words that came to mind, and re-reading your Author's Note chapter inspired me to just go with it and explain all of this in a stream of consciousness rather than search for other words and end up overthinking it. (Is that technically a run-on sentence?) I really hope you regain your 6000 words and/or your motivation. In the meantime, I'm going to go re-read That Terrifying Momentum, mostly for Scott's witty dialogue but also for the general excellence of writing to be found there


Sometimes I groan when I go back and read Scott's 'witty' dialogue. Not that all of it has lost its luster in hindsight, but some of it...

Again, I'm missing the point, of course. Scott isn't always funny. He's not supposed to always be funny, even when he thinks he is.

- At first I thought Harry changing his mind was you realigning things to canon, but that was soon disproven. I think I was pleased and then disappointed respectively, but once other big changes happened I got used to it. Now I'm looking forward to seeing how her going along plays out.


Harry changing his mind was just Harry being himself. He desperately wants to keep Ginny out of danger, but, rationally, he knows that if something happens to her because he left her behind it's just as bad, if not worse. Scott's adamant stance on the subject definitely didn't help calming him on the subject. Harry might have been afraid that Scott would take Ginny along even if Scott didn't.

Interesting you were briefly disappointed that I didn't align to canon again. Most readers seem to want greater divergence from the books.

- Something else to consider that I just thought of: Ginny was a huge leader for the "good" students at Hogwarts. How would her not being at Hogwarts affect the situation there? I think Neville came into his own as a leader there at least partly following Ginny's lead.


Neville may also be better prepared now, before the fact. Luna is also closely attached to him. But to be honest, I'm not all that interested in what happens at Hogwarts once the majority of the Primes leave. Not yet, anyway.

- While Ginny's... boldness is certainly in-character for her, and at the time seemed right, looking back I feel like it may have been overdone a bit. Then again, maybe not. (That's not helpful, I know.)


Perhaps I overcompensated. I was so frustrated in trying to reconcile her canon character with her meek response to Harry's presumptuous, chauvinistic and frankly insulting demand. He didn't even ask if she would stay behind so he wouldn't be distracted, he straight up dumped her. And she just took it.

I attempted to ignore my own reaction to that scene (and Scott's reaction as well) when planning out my version of it. I wanted to first ascertain how Ginny's response in the book fit her character and actions up to that point before I altered it to account for the differences in TTM and Scott's influence. I'll tell you: pretty much right up until I wrote that out, her status as to whether she was staying or going was up in the air. I hadn't really decided one way or the other. I liked the idea of breaking with the book a bit more, but not the extent of having to break the character.

I'm not quite egotistical enough to state that it was Rowling who broke the character in that scene and I had to fix it. But I will say that I was ultimately unable to justify her behavior based on my own perspective of her canon character. That didn't mean she would absolutely go with Harry, but it did mean that, as I understood her and as I had written her up to that point, she couldn't react the same way she did in the book.

I guess you felt her fury was disproportionate. I wrote it coming from the angle that she was an already short-tempered, often volatile teenage girl who was crazy in love with this guy, and that guy just told her that she had to stay behind while he ran off to fight evil and quite possible die in the process. The implications in what Harry wants her to do, the implication that she would draw from it, are that he thinks she can't take care of herself and that he can take care of himself. Both these suppositions have proven false in the past. Also, she was surrounded by older brothers her whole life in a very close-knit family. When Harry tells her she can't come with, she takes it about the same way as if he'd told her to get back in the kitchen.

I mean, there's a lot going on there: I didn't even touch on her innate stubbornness, her desire to prove herself worthy of Harry's love and attention, (she may see him for who he is now, but part of who he is is still a Dark Wizard fighting, famous bad ) and the fact that Harry can't get on a broom without winding up in the hospital wing.

Anyway, I put a lot of thought into everything she did and said. Maybe too much thought. But I appreciate your perspective on it and I hope you appreciate or at least understand mine. Get back to me and let me know what you think about my train of thought.

- In chapter 4, you refer to the Weasleys' "garage", whereas (to my understanding, at least) Britpicking dictates that it's called a "shed".


They do say garage, actually, although it's not pronounced the same.

  Quote
sylvelle
Thursday 19th July 2012 14:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

Hiatus
I am very sorry to here this. I hope you can get everything together including your writing muse and finish. I shall miss Scott,k Lila, and the others
Smile..
Tricia
Caleb Nova
Saturday 25th August 2012 00:28
Hiatus (Author Response)
The crushing blow to the ol' muse is really the crux of the issue, to be sure.
  Quote
lizzypotter14
Monday 11th June 2012 19:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

Hiatus
Sorry to hear about your laptop. Hopefully you can get your inspiration back. I will hate to see this work incomplete.
Caleb Nova
Saturday 25th August 2012 00:27
Hiatus (Author Response)
yeah, me too.
  Quote
Dad
Monday 11th June 2012 07:42


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 480

Hiatus
I will not say anything about backups because I know you are hurting already.
Do you have to have a laptop? Even second hand laptops tend to be quite dear. Old desk top computers are dirt cheap. I could easily give you one. I hope you come back on line because you have such great style and unique story lines.

Also you seem to be one of a very few people who are now(were) using this site.
Caleb Nova
Saturday 25th August 2012 00:27
Hiatus (Author Response)
I did have backups, of almost everything... except for the latest chapter. Well, not everything I guess. All the completed chapters and some of my documents full of fragmented ideas are on google docs.

I have my brother's desktop and an older desktop I can use to write. I know they're cheap, I could build one myself for a few hundred bucks. The laptop is actually crucial though, believe it or not. Something about laying on my back in my room, surrounded by handwritten notes and scribbled ideas and\or poems seems the most conducive to writing. I wrote almost the entirety of TTM that way.

I don't know what kind of traffic Phoenixsong gets. All I know is my previous story did well here, and was treated well here.
  Quote
No Idea Why I Smile
Sunday 10th June 2012 23:34


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 72

Hiatus
Sincerely sorry to hear about the loss of the writing. I have been there before, where I have come up with brilliant stuff, only to have a computer crash and me lose all of it.

Back ups are a writer's best friend! I learned that the very very hard way.

Even though I don't review every chapter, I read them. I'm usually just lazy and don't feel like typing one out. But that said, I really hope you continue with this story, as there are few good ones left out there these days, in the lag of "After - Series". Yours is good, whether you believe it or not.

So, good luck, and sorry for reading and not reviewing when I do that. It's a bad thing, I know. Reviews are the author's food, and I need to do it more often. I hope you continue with the writing, even if it takes a while.
Caleb Nova
Saturday 25th August 2012 00:24
Hiatus (Author Response)
I'm getting to the point where I'm going to try and cobble some sort of laptop together and get writing again, even if I do have to start over. Writing is a compulsion. I can ignore it for a time, but not forever.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 8 of 8
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004