Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Vis Insita by Caleb Nova

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 8 of 8
The Pharaoh
Tuesday 18th June 2013 19:34


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 35

5: The Leaving Cycle
P.S. Only problem I saw:
“'Cake Time!' Lila sang out, carrying the delicious desert on a tray, candles lit." Unless they've acquired a taste for sand, there are two 's'es in dessert.
P.P.S. lol "magi-tits"
Caleb Nova
Wednesday 14th August 2013 14:01
5: The Leaving Cycle (Author Response)
I'll be sure to fix that if I post a revised version of this story.
  Quote
The Pharaoh
Tuesday 18th June 2013 17:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 35

5: The Leaving Cycle
Came back to this site after a long while, and was very pleasantly surprised to find you had updated. Your writing is like stepping out of Plato's cave: you're one of few authors who lead me outside into the literary light, and when I've read all I currently can and go back down into the cave the occasionally good, usually mediocre or bad writings of those other authors leave me newly dissatisfied. I think I actually grieve a little each time I finish the most recent chapter. I definitely did when it said Hiatus. Not only are you witty like I only wish I could be, but you have what I consider award-winning professional standards of writing. I also appreciate that you apparently do research before you write; you don't just go based on canon as best you can remember it, you actually care about continuity and doing it right.
Sorry if this sounds annoying or fanboyish. I just appreciate superior literary quality, believe you have it, and find it so rarely that I feel strongly about it when I find it. The feeling was also supplemented (but not brought about entirely) by the fact that I wanted to reassure you when your Author's Note described you needing to remind yourself that people actually want to read your work. I very much want to read your work, and I hope you will continue writing this.
Caleb Nova
Wednesday 14th August 2013 14:00
5: The Leaving Cycle (Author Response)
Came back to this site after a long while, and was very pleasantly surprised to find you had updated. Your writing is like stepping out of Plato's cave: you're one of few authors who lead me outside into the literary light, and when I've read all I currently can and go back down into the cave the occasionally good, usually mediocre or bad writings of those other authors leave me newly dissatisfied.


Good fanfiction can be hard to find. I don't think I'm deserving of such lavish analogy and praise, but man... It does feel good.

I think I actually grieve a little each time I finish the most recent chapter. I definitely did when it said Hiatus. Not only are you witty like I only wish I could be, but you have what I consider award-winning professional standards of writing. I also appreciate that you apparently do research before you write; you don't just go based on canon as best you can remember it, you actually care about continuity and doing it right.


Continuity can be difficult. I do research when I need to and count on chaos theory to cover my otherwise. So much of what I explore, particularly the facets of magic, was left unsaid in the books that it gives me a fair amount of freedom. A great deal of the information on the Harry Potter wiki and other such sites is speculation.

Sorry if this sounds annoying or fanboyish. I just appreciate superior literary quality, believe you have it, and find it so rarely that I feel strongly about it when I find it. The feeling was also supplemented (but not brought about entirely) by the fact that I wanted to reassure you when your Author's Note described you needing to remind yourself that people actually want to read your work. I very much want to read your work, and I hope you will continue writing this.


Thank you. I know it's been a long absence but I was writing during it, so with a little luck I'll have something for you before too long.
  Quote
Narumi
Thursday 14th February 2013 20:24


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

5: The Leaving Cycle
Interesting with Ginny's gift, I was expecting something we'd seen before, not a totally new magical item. So, was this Dumbledore giving his blessing for Ginny to join in the Horcrux hunt?? Another excellent chapter. I like that Lila is actually Scott's younger sister, that makes me want to go back and re-read their interactions in TTM with that in mind. And I like that Lila and Ginny have become closer, it is nice for them to both get a sister figure ( not ignoring Hermione, but she is a friend first, to me).
Caleb Nova
Friday 15th February 2013 19:28
5: The Leaving Cycle (Author Response)
Interesting with Ginny's gift, I was expecting something we'd seen before, not a totally new magical item. So, was this Dumbledore giving his blessing for Ginny to join in the Horcrux hunt??


Maybe. It certainly seems to indicate that he knew she was going.

Another excellent chapter. I like that Lila is actually Scott's younger sister, that makes me want to go back and re-read their interactions in TTM with that in mind.


Do you think you'd gain any insight from that? I doubt their relationship standing is that self-evident, though it was obvious from the start that they didn't have the parent-child relationship many would have expected.

And I like that Lila and Ginny have become closer, it is nice for them to both get a sister figure ( not ignoring Hermione, but she is a friend first, to me).


Probably not that close, but Ginny has connected to Lila in a way she never did with Scott.
  Quote
Aragorn
Saturday 17th November 2012 08:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

5: The Leaving Cycle
Congratulations on your rebounding so well! Actually, this seems as good a chapter of yours as I can recall -- and I've really liked a lot of them.

Yeah, it's disappointing to me too that you don't have more reviews -- considering the quality of the writing -- but I hope you don't take it personally. As you acknowledge, circumstantially it's a bit of a tough sell. And, regardless of the numbers, it's truly an excellent story. Just know that.

Am often struck by the "rightness" of particular lines and phrases in your writing. Today, I thought to capture one:

"His job sometimes required killing, but it also required him to sit out in the sunshine and eat biscuits with a small girl for companionship. True integration was about becoming part of someone's life and accepting everything that came with that."

Thanks.
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 20th November 2012 18:03
5: The Leaving Cycle (Author Response)
Congratulations on your rebounding so well! Actually, this seems as good a chapter of yours as I can recall -- and I've really liked a lot of them.


It's a very character based entry, without any real action but there are some important plot bits in there too.

Yeah, it's disappointing to me too that you don't have more reviews -- considering the quality of the writing -- but I hope you don't take it personally. As you acknowledge, circumstantially it's a bit of a tough sell. And, regardless of the numbers, it's truly an excellent story. Just know that.


It is a tough sell, I know. Given the amount of readers this fandom has, I have to wonder if such an entry into any other fandom would have been ignored entirely.

Am often struck by the "rightness" of particular lines and phrases in your writing. Today, I thought to capture one:


I'm not entirely sure what you mean, but I always appreciate it when you pick out a particular section you enjoyed.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Sunday 11th November 2012 16:51


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 116

5: The Leaving Cycle
Well, here we go I'm glad you took up writing again. In fact, I like your story better than the Nightmares of Futures Past (just keep on writing, okay? )
Caleb Nova
Monday 12th November 2012 05:48
5: The Leaving Cycle (Author Response)
In fact, I like your story better than the Nightmares of Futures Past


I appreciate the sentiment, but I wasn't trying to compare and contrast.

(just keep on writing, okay? )


I'm trying.
  Quote
Dad
Monday 5th November 2012 07:38


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 478

5: The Leaving Cycle
I have not checked this site lately, so it was a great pleasure to find this chapter. Glad you are back on the boil.
Caleb Nova
Friday 9th November 2012 03:03
5: The Leaving Cycle (Author Response)
Glad you are back on the boil.


Wow, that sounds exceedingly painful. I am glad that you, in turn, are back on the boiling of reviews, or whatever.
  Quote
sylvelle
Sunday 4th November 2012 11:07


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 30

5: The Leaving Cycle
Welcome back. Took me quite some time to figure out which story this was.. But got it now and I'm very glad you are back.
Liked it a great deal.
More please
Tricia
Caleb Nova
Friday 9th November 2012 03:02
5: The Leaving Cycle (Author Response)
You didn't know what story this was? Guess I was gone even longer than it felt like. Well, I'm glad you liked it.
  Quote
TomRiddle
Saturday 3rd November 2012 18:02


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

5: The Leaving Cycle
Mr. Nova Esq.
I can't say how happy i am that you've returned from your smelly abyss. I do sincerely hope that you did not look into it. I shudder at the thought of what the abyss might've seen in you.
Excellent chapter for your return, I have one question - was the Dr. Who reference when Hermione was explaining the beaded bag intentional? If it was that you've become a much better author in my eyes, if not. You just got lucky.
I eagerly await the next chapter in this tale of yours.
I remain,
~TomRiddle
Caleb Nova
Friday 9th November 2012 02:58
5: The Leaving Cycle (Author Response)
I can't say how happy i am that you've returned from your smelly abyss. I do sincerely hope that you did not look into it. I shudder at the thought of what the abyss might've seen in you.


I can't decide if this is a Nietzsche reference or you're implying that the depth of my soul are so horrifying that even an abyss would be cowed. Either way, I can appreciate it.

Excellent chapter for your return, I have one question - was the Dr. Who reference when Hermione was explaining the beaded bag intentional? If it was that you've become a much better author in my eyes, if not. You just got lucky.


The extent if my Dr. Who knowledge is the following; he's some sort of constantly reincarnating alien who fights robots and does stuff with time. Also, in this one episode there were these stone angels that soldiers kept trying to shoot with no success.

I eagerly await the next chapter in this tale of yours.


We'll see what I can do about that.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 8 of 8
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004