Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Vis Insita by Caleb Nova

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 9 of 9
Dun8y
Monday 9th June 2014 02:12


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

7: The Balance Unseen
Great that the horrible old woman, Mrs Black, was contained by Scott! I'm glad they actually went back to the grim old place, I like that house, even though Harry doesn't!
Thank you for writing, Sue x
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 17th June 2014 22:12
7: The Balance Unseen (Author Response)
It made sense for them to go there, as a base of operations. I wouldn't have minded a change of scenery, but I followed the logic.
  Quote
The Pharaoh
Tuesday 18th June 2013 23:49


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

7: The Balance Unseen
I've noticed a couple subtle ways I feel like you may be trying to show Ginny's relative naiveté compared to the Trio and Scott. Then again, people seem to read too much into stuff you write a lot, going from previous reviews. However, she also is definitely more explicitly aggressive in her romantic approach towards Harry than my impression of her from the books and most fanfiction (though the second shouldn't really count). She's more subtle in the books. Of course, Scott's presence makes room for some creative characterization license. It could be a result of being emboldened by Scott's directness rubbing off on her, or it could be her way of coping with all the stress that's happened recently, or any number of other explanations.
Two small corrections during the sweep of the Black house: (1) When Scott mentions a thread close to Snape's in the charm, Hermione says "Who's?" In the interest of preserving the near-immaculate standards of your writing, I feel compelled to point out that it should be "Whose?" (2) The old Headmaster's name is Phineas Nigellus, not Phineas Black.
Caleb Nova
Wednesday 14th August 2013 17:27
7: The Balance Unseen (Author Response)
I've noticed a couple subtle ways I feel like you may be trying to show Ginny's relative naiveté compared to the Trio and Scott. Then again, people seem to read too much into stuff you write a lot, going from previous reviews. However, she also is definitely more explicitly aggressive in her romantic approach towards Harry than my impression of her from the books and most fanfiction (though the second shouldn't really count). She's more subtle in the books.


She has her reasons. Perhaps they may be explored at some point...

Two small corrections during the sweep of the Black house: (1) When Scott mentions a thread close to Snape's in the charm, Hermione says "Who's?" In the interest of preserving the near-immaculate standards of your writing, I feel compelled to point out that it should be "Whose?"


Yet another thing to fix. I should keep a changelog.

The old Headmaster's name is Phineas Nigellus, not Phineas Black.


Nigellus is actually his middle name, I did research that.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Thursday 23rd May 2013 18:33


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

7: The Balance Unseen
Well done. I'm looking forward to that rescue mission
Caleb Nova
Saturday 25th May 2013 18:40
7: The Balance Unseen (Author Response)
The rescue mission is now posted!
  Quote
RubeusHagrid
Wednesday 8th May 2013 09:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

7: The Balance Unseen
This is such a great story. It really is, and I'm not just saying that to make you feel good. Just thought you might like the encouragement to continue writing.
Caleb Nova
Wednesday 8th May 2013 22:52
7: The Balance Unseen (Author Response)
I always appreciate the encouragement. In this case, however, the next chapter was submitted a number of weeks ago. Sherry has just been so busy that she hasn't gotten around to posting it yet. Her schedule permitting, it will be here soon.
  Quote
RubeusHagrid
Tuesday 5th March 2013 18:44


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

7: The Balance Unseen
This is great. When I found out that you continued, I was so excited. I don't think you understand how excited I was. Usually, when a story is incomplete, I don't read it, because I just don't have the patience to wait for chapters to come out, but I couldn't just forget about this story, it's too great! I can't wait to see what happens next!

Oh, I feel like I should also tell you that I've only ever reviewed your stories. They're the only ones that made me feel like they were just so awesome and I had to tell you that I thought so.

Please continue. This is really my favorite fanfic of all time. Or at least one of them.

I feel like I may have a few questions, but not at the moment because I forgot. OK I'm off to re-read That Terrifying Momentum. Hopefully, by the time I'm done and back to this chapter, there'll be more!

Caleb Nova
Friday 8th March 2013 00:49
7: The Balance Unseen (Author Response)
This is great. When I found out that you continued, I was so excited. I don't think you understand how excited I was. Usually, when a story is incomplete, I don't read it, because I just don't have the patience to wait for chapters to come out, but I couldn't just forget about this story, it's too great! I can't wait to see what happens next!


I know unfinished stories can be a real pain. That lack of closure is difficult for a reader; everything remains unresolved, always waiting for the next update. That's the nature of fanfiction, published serially, like old pulp magazines.

Oh, I feel like I should also tell you that I've only ever reviewed your stories. They're the only ones that made me feel like they were just so awesome and I had to tell you that I thought so.


And I really, truly appreciate that you've reviewed! That said, maybe spread the love a little the next time you read something you like. I'm not the only person looking for a little support.

Please continue. This is really my favorite fanfic of all time. Or at least one of them.


I'd be more than happy being just one of them.

I feel like I may have a few questions, but not at the moment because I forgot. OK I'm off to re-read That Terrifying Momentum. Hopefully, by the time I'm done and back to this chapter, there'll be more!


If any of those questions come back to you, I always enjoy answering them.
  Quote
mommy2db
Monday 11th February 2013 06:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

7: The Balance Unseen
I am so glad that you are continuing this work of art. I'm already going through withdrawl and I just finished the last chapter of Vis Incita and can't wait for more.
Caleb Nova
Wednesday 13th February 2013 12:35
7: The Balance Unseen (Author Response)
Hey, thanks. The next chapter is still in progress, but I am working on it.
  Quote
SpellChecker
Monday 28th January 2013 22:59


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

7: The Balance Unseen
On my phone, so short!

Nice job paraphrasing Rowling, while adding some new characters and events. Also, it's nice to read a story that follows grammar and spelling conventions.
Caleb Nova
Friday 1st February 2013 23:07
7: The Balance Unseen (Author Response)
I try to avoid paraphrasing, which is why most scenes that correlate directly with the books are written from a different POV. There are some parts that are more paraphrased than others, though. I believe at this point there are three lines taken verbatim from Rowling, which isn't too bad for over 300,000 words.

My grammar and spelling owes a great deal to Sherry, the fine webmjstress of Pheonxisong and editor of this story.
  Quote
deej
Thursday 24th January 2013 13:00


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

7: The Balance Unseen
Nice job, Caleb.

I am very glad you are continuing this story as it is one of my favorites of all time. I have read, and reviewed many fanfics over the years, and yours stands up to the best of them. (And no comments about my taste in fanfics, as I think I have very good taste.)

I don't know if this as been asked before, but have you thought about writing books based on Scott and his adventures? I think they would be very popular. I know I would read them.

Anyway, keep up the good work, and I look forward to the rest of the story.

Deej
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 29th January 2013 22:48
7: The Balance Unseen (Author Response)
I am very glad you are continuing this story as it is one of my favorites of all time. I have read, and reviewed many fanfics over the years, and yours stands up to the best of them. (And no comments about my taste in fanfics, as I think I have very good taste.)


I'd hardly be inclined to argue, seeing as you're reviewing my story.

I don't know if this as been asked before, but have you thought about writing books based on Scott and his adventures? I think they would be very popular. I know I would read them.


The biggest problem with that idea (and it's one I've given a lot of thought) is that Scott's 'adventures' require him to integrate with an already established universe. So, I'd more or less have to write an entirely different book for him to interfere with.

Also, I'm not very prolific. Never have been. Churning out a new fanfiction chapter every month or so is about typical for me.

Anyway, keep up the good work, and I look forward to the rest of the story.


Thank you, I appreciate that.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Monday 21st January 2013 13:48


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

7: The Balance Unseen
lol good job

now, since it was you who came up with that line, you shouldn't mind if I keep using it!

I liked the 'magic word' and the porn (who wouldn't...).

I was expecting Kreecher (or what's his name... that mad house elf) to make an appearance. Scott could probably cook a decent French onion soup, but after that wedding, I don't think he will
Caleb Nova
Wednesday 23rd January 2013 22:56
7: The Balance Unseen (Author Response)
lol good job now, since it was you who came up with that line, you shouldn't mind if I keep using it!


I don't think anyone can really claim that phrase.

I was expecting Kreecher (or what's his name... that mad house elf) to make an appearance. Scott could probably cook a decent French onion soup, but after that wedding, I don't think he will


I don't know if he even likes that.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 9 of 9
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Wednesday 3rd December
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004