Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Vis Insita by Caleb Nova

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 9 of 9
Dun8y
Tuesday 10th June 2014 00:07


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

8: Dear Kylie
I've just realised stupid predictive text changed a word from 'Hell', to 'he'll' Grrr!! I'm normally quite good about checking what I've written as well! x
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 17th June 2014 22:19
8: Dear Kylie (Author Response)
Autocorrect can be a real pain sometimes.
  Quote
Dun8y
Monday 9th June 2014 03:00


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

8: Dear Kylie
Oh I love the idea of a Death Eaters wife giving him he'll if he caught a cold! It made me chuckle! Poor Kylie, no wonder she never said much having a family like that, I thought there must have been a reason for her being so quiet. I like this chapter, as always, a good fast pace throughout.
Lila, I think she's a good antidote to Scott, she's just as gung-ho as he is, but not as acerbic or antagonistic towards others. As to you writing a story about Scott, you mentioned that he is already in a universe, ie the Harry Potter one, could you not invent another world for him? (This is from a non writer who would love to be able to play with people's emotions the way that writers do!)
Thank you once again for writing for our enjoyment, Sue x
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 17th June 2014 22:16
8: Dear Kylie (Author Response)
Oh I love the idea of a Death Eaters wife giving him he'll if he caught a cold! It made me chuckle!


He won't have to worry about it, as he was dead shortly after saying that. The banal nature of the exchange was meant to provide some humanity to characters who otherwise existed as cannonfodder.

"Poor Kylie, no wonder she never said much having a family like that, I thought there must have been a reason for her being so quiet. "

Yes, I'm still not sure why I decided to make her a more central character, but I haven't regretted it yet.

"Lila, I think she's a good antidote to Scott, she's just as gung-ho as he is, but not as acerbic or antagonistic towards others."

You think so? That's an interesting interpretation, but I think I get it. It's true that she's more no-nonsense that Scott is, and tends not to go on the verbal offensive unless provoked.

"As to you writing a story about Scott, you mentioned that he is already in a universe, ie the Harry Potter one, could you not invent another world for him? (This is from a non writer who would love to be able to play with people's emotions the way that writers do!) "

I've toyed with the concept and even done a little bit of preliminary world building, but nothing's come of it, yet. As for being a non-writer, have you ever tried? Or do you just not enjoy it, as may be the case. A lot of people find writing to be a chore, even if it's fiction. I do sometimes, as well, if I'm struggling with writer's block yet again.
  Quote
bazza28
Sunday 30th June 2013 11:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

8: Dear Kylie
Sorry , the chapter i mentioned wasn't the opening one!
Caleb Nova
Wednesday 14th August 2013 13:52
8: Dear Kylie (Author Response)
Hey, it does exist, though!
  Quote
bazza28
Sunday 30th June 2013 11:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

8: Dear Kylie
Hey there, i reviewed your last story around 4 years ago, doesn't seem that long ago though... time moves ever forward.

I came back to phoenixsong after not really reading anything from there for a couple of years. This story is quite possibly my favourite on this site, and i have read a good portion of them. Whilst the visitors to this corner of the internet are dwindling, i wanted to say that there are those who love your work and look forward to every chapter you post, whatever the delay. You have a gift for writing good prose and dialogue. I really love reading your work.

I remember first being hooked from the opening chapter of "That Terrifying Momentum" set in WW2, 1945. I am a Modern History grad myself so that struck a chord with me instantly, Keep going if you can, despite the writers block, the story is fantastic and unique on here.

Peace and love

Sam
Caleb Nova
Wednesday 14th August 2013 13:54
8: Dear Kylie (Author Response)
Hey there, i reviewed your last story around 4 years ago, doesn't seem that long ago though... time moves ever forward.


Yeah, it sure does. Very depressing.

I came back to phoenixsong after not really reading anything from there for a couple of years. This story is quite possibly my favourite on this site, and i have read a good portion of them. Whilst the visitors to this corner of the internet are dwindling, i wanted to say that there are those who love your work and look forward to every chapter you post, whatever the delay. You have a gift for writing good prose and dialogue. I really love reading your work.


Thank you. I don't know if your praise is deserved but it is highly appreciated.

I remember first being hooked from the opening chapter of "That Terrifying Momentum" set in WW2, 1945. I am a Modern History grad myself so that struck a chord with me instantly, Keep going if you can, despite the writers block, the story is fantastic and unique on here.


I am trying. I was away for two months without internet access or a computer but despite that handicap continued to write by hand (an unpleasant process, I've always felt). So there is more coming.
  Quote
mdauben
Saturday 29th June 2013 06:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

8: Dear Kylie
I just ran across your story the other day and decided to give it a try. I suppose I should have actually read your previous story first but even though I didn't it wasn't hard to jump in here and understand what was going on. This is an interesting twist on cannon and I've been enjoying it. Your Ginny seems a bit more... Forward than she did in the books but it does make a nice contrast to Harry's fumbling inexperience at dealing with their romantic relationship. I'll be looking forward to seeing how the horcrux hunt goes in your story and how your characters deal with the slightly different situation you've placed them in.
Caleb Nova
Wednesday 14th August 2013 13:57
8: Dear Kylie (Author Response)
Interesting that you didn't find it difficult to jump in without reading the preceding story; I would have said that full knowledge of the previous entry was mandatory for understanding. I guess I was wrong.

My Ginny does diverge somewhat from the books (she has a reason, though), I suppose. I was never able to glean a satisfactory version of her character from what little Rowling gave me, My interpretation has diverged as the story has.

I hope you continue to enjoy.
  Quote
The Pharaoh
Wednesday 19th June 2013 00:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 36

8: Dear Kylie
We appreciate all your hard work fighting through writer's block to deliver us our latest fix. The closest I can come to answering your question is that I like Lila's banter with Scott. Thinking more on it, I think she's a good check for Scott, i.e., she can hold her own with him and even put him in line sometimes. It's fairly situational to their characters, but I think maybe it helps to have someone there who can stand as equals with Scott so he's not alone in his relative almightiness. Such a singularity could be intimidating to readers and could potentially cloud Scott's judgment.
Regarding Thomas Paxton's input, have you ever considered writing the stories that would result w/o it separately, as either independents or outtakes from this (though the couples probably haven't progressed quite that far yet here), on a website that allows it of course? Those are always interesting to read. Have you already done so, and if so, where?
Keep pushing for more prolifery!
Caleb Nova
Wednesday 14th August 2013 17:32
8: Dear Kylie (Author Response)
We appreciate all your hard work fighting through writer's block to deliver us our latest fix. The closest I can come to answering your question is that I like Lila's banter with Scott. Thinking more on it, I think she's a good check for Scott, i.e., she can hold her own with him and even put him in line sometimes. It's fairly situational to their characters, but I think maybe it helps to have someone there who can stand as equals with Scott so he's not alone in his relative almightiness. Such a singularity could be intimidating to readers and could potentially cloud Scott's judgment.


Lila is younger than Scott and technically he is also her superior officer, but that doesn't always count for much. As his sister she can and often has wielded influence over him.

Regarding Thomas Paxton's input, have you ever considered writing the stories that would result w/o it separately, as either independents or outtakes from this (though the couples probably haven't progressed quite that far yet here), on a website that allows it of course? Those are always interesting to read. Have you already done so, and if so, where?


Paxton's 'influence' amounted to a couple of changed sentences, nothing more. I tend to ignore him as often as I listen, which has resulted in more than a few debates.
  Quote
Dad
Sunday 2nd June 2013 12:14


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 480

8: Dear Kylie
All action chapter..waiting for more.
Caleb Nova
Monday 3rd June 2013 00:34
8: Dear Kylie (Author Response)
Working on it, my friend. Still working.
  Quote
sylvelle
Friday 31st May 2013 15:33


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

8: Dear Kylie
I like Lila a great deal. Why? I like her interaction with Scott and her big-sister attitude with the girls. And she kicks butt too. Yay.
Tricia
Caleb Nova
Monday 3rd June 2013 00:34
8: Dear Kylie (Author Response)
Good, I'm glad you connected with Lila. I think she has created some interesting connections with the core cast.
  Quote
TomRiddle
Friday 24th May 2013 21:45


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

8: Dear Kylie
Mr. Nova,
I'm surprised at the significant delay between when this was posted at FF.net and when it was posted here.
I loved the chapter as usual, I've become rather interested in the interactions between Scott and Kylie, it's nice to see a bit more of Kylie.

To your direct question.
I've never really understood massive distaste of OC's. Any OC's i've disliked have been due to poor writing overall, blatant mary-sue-ing, or an OC that takes over the story or has abilities that don't really fit well or are never properly defended.
To explain that a bit more. I don't necessarily care who it is, Harry, Seamus, Ernie, or an OC. I feel that the author has free reign to do whatever, but that it must be believable and within reason. There must be a mostly logical sequence of events that have led to this OC's existence or why a particular character is OOC.
TTM and VI could have been awful, however Scott and Lila's presence (and by extension Sophie and the other woman Scott talked to prior to Slughorn's christmas party, her name escapes me) were explained in a logical and thorough manner such that it makes sense that they're there. "Oh, TommyBoy should have died, the fact that he didn't is bad, Scott is a outside observer who is now taking more direct action to help out. But he's just as confused about why he's here as Harry & Co. are."
Even Trevor and Kylie were explained and you were gonna never talk about them again, you even almost killed Kylie off.


When it gets down to it, and i apologize if everything above doesn't make any sense what so ever. Is that Scott & Co. work and are believable to me as a reader because of your writing them so that they are believable.

I hope some of this makes sense or helps you in some way.

God that was a long review.

Please punch your good friend in the mouth due to the PG-13 ratings, but then buy him a beer for continuing to insist that it remain PG-13 so that there was a plot that is quite honestly amazing.

I Remain
~TomRiddle
Caleb Nova
Sunday 26th May 2013 05:54
8: Dear Kylie (Author Response)
I'm surprised at the significant delay between when this was posted at FF.net and when it was posted here.


It was actually done a couple weeks before I even posted it to FF.net. I was hoping to get Sherry's revised version first but she ended up being too busy to take care of it for awhile.

I loved the chapter as usual, I've become rather interested in the interactions between Scott and Kylie, it's nice to see a bit more of Kylie.


I never expected to be utilizing her this way, but I think it works.

As for the OCs, I understand that a rational is important. There are a lot of facets to Scott's mission, who he is and where he comes from, only a few of which are explored in the story. It's important to give context to Scott's presence and actions but I think equally important not to overwhelm with endless background on things that won't impact Harry's story. A few glimpses at the Kharadjai Republic is all that is needed.

Please punch your good friend in the mouth due to the PG-13 ratings, but then buy him a beer for continuing to insist that it remain PG-13 so that there was a plot that is quite honestly amazing.


I was being hyperbolic. The lines in question were changed from being mildly risque to more muted and realistic. I've never written anything explicit for Vis Insita and probably never will.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 9 of 9
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004