Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Vis Insita by Caleb Nova

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 12 of 12
Aragorn
Monday 30th September 2013 18:46


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

9: This Island, These Tides
In re-reading, am struck by how good your dialog is. Love the Hermione/Scott exchange in the grocery.
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 22nd October 2013 02:54
9: This Island, These Tides (Author Response)
It seems like an odd place to hold a conversation. Not for Muggles, of course, but for the setting of the story and the people involved.
  Quote
wluer96
Monday 9th September 2013 07:32


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

9: This Island, These Tides
Well, having just discovered your brilliance, I can say I haven't missed you. Yet. But I feel that I will, having spent the last four days with your amazing stories. To answer some of your author's notes (which I honestly look forward to), yes I like Lila. She normalizes Scott in a way, makes him easier to understand because he's not the only one. And he's a brother, a sibling, which many of us can relate to. I'm not sure I'm entirely in love with your Ginny, as she seems to only have two emotions: bitchy and horny. As a female of the species, I fully understand that there are times when that's all we are. I was starting to wonder what her role would be on the hunt, if that's all she was. So I liked her most in this chapter. She had a brain and some shyness, too. And I love that Sirius had a gun. It's so very appropriate.
And I like the opening quotes too. The glimpses into the "other world." They're always interesting and always make me think.
So thank you for writing.
Caleb Nova
Saturday 14th September 2013 17:36
9: This Island, These Tides (Author Response)
To answer some of your author's notes (which I honestly look forward to), yes I like Lila. She normalizes Scott in a way, makes him easier to understand because he's not the only one. And he's a brother, a sibling, which many of us can relate to.


Oh, he's far from the only one. And far from even being all that unique. But however large his world is, there's no need for more than a sliver of it in the story.

I'm not sure I'm entirely in love with your Ginny, as she seems to only have two emotions: bitchy and horny


Harry's given her plenty of reasons to be both...

As a female of the species, I fully understand that there are times when that's all we are. I was starting to wonder what her role would be on the hunt, if that's all she was. So I liked her most in this chapter. She had a brain and some shyness, too.


...But it's not an unfair criticism. I haven't used her POV much thus far and therefore the motivations behind her behavior have remained largely unexplored.

And I love that Sirius had a gun. It's so very appropriate.


Yes, that did work better than I thought.

And I like the opening quotes too. The glimpses into the "other world." They're always interesting and always make me think.
So thank you for writing.


Thank you even more for reviewing.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Monday 9th September 2013 07:20


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 116

9: This Island, These Tides
I enjoyed this chapter, thanks for the update!
Caleb Nova
Saturday 14th September 2013 17:32
9: This Island, These Tides (Author Response)
And thank you for the review!
  Quote
bazza28
Saturday 7th September 2013 05:52


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

9: This Island, These Tides
Good chapter; someone else mentioned the shopping being a highlight and i agree. I always like reading how wizards and witches cope in the muggle world which they often avoid despite it being all around them. You put the effort in with the research on british places, Islington was a nice touch. Boo Arsenal though.

I'm trying to work out what's going on with Kylie and how much of a part she has to play seeing as how she's not a prime. I hope there's some more kicking death eater butt action soon.

As others have said, where did you go for 2 months?

Fantastic to read as always, hope we don't have long before the next chapter
Caleb Nova
Saturday 14th September 2013 17:32
9: This Island, These Tides (Author Response)
Good chapter; someone else mentioned the shopping being a highlight and i agree. I always like reading how wizards and witches cope in the muggle world which they often avoid despite it being all around them. You put the effort in with the research on british places, Islington was a nice touch. Boo Arsenal though.


Yes, I did some research on grocery shopping in Islington. There is actually a Tesco Express in the area, I made sure of that. Apologies for any details I got wrong. I'd love to go to England and do some first-hand research, but that's just not within my monetary means.

I'm trying to work out what's going on with Kylie and how much of a part she has to play seeing as how she's not a prime. I hope there's some more kicking death eater butt action soon.


We shall see, yes?

As others have said, where did you go for 2 months?


I wasn't having any fun, if that makes my absence easier to bear.

Fantastic to read as always, hope we don't have long before the next chapter


I hope so, too.
  Quote
Swell
Sunday 1st September 2013 11:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 42

9: This Island, These Tides
I loved the previous story. This time though things seem to develop more slowly. Would bringing in Lila more often help with this ?
Caleb Nova
Saturday 14th September 2013 17:30
9: This Island, These Tides (Author Response)
I don't know... I guess it could. Honestly I think the last story was probably slower, considering how little action the time period contained. I think your perception is probably affected by the delay between chapters.
  Quote
Eggjock
Wednesday 28th August 2013 23:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 33

9: This Island, These Tides
Good chapter
Caleb Nova
Saturday 14th September 2013 17:29
9: This Island, These Tides (Author Response)
Thanks
  Quote
TomRiddle
Tuesday 27th August 2013 13:34


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

9: This Island, These Tides
Mr. Nova,
I hope that your time away was enjoyable, where did you go and why if I may be so bold as to ask.
I enjoyed this chapter, especially the bit in the grocery store. Far too often I see stories where wizards are useless in the muggle world. It's a nice change to see that wizards can read words like "Bottled Water" or "Flour".
I anxiously await the next chapter and trust that there will not be a quite as lengthy gap between this chapter and the next as there was between this and the previous.
I hope you're enjoying your summer.
I Remain,
~TomRiddle
Caleb Nova
Saturday 14th September 2013 17:29
9: This Island, These Tides (Author Response)
I hope that your time away was enjoyable, where did you go and why if I may be so bold as to ask.


Hell. Or at least Purgatory.

I enjoyed this chapter, especially the bit in the grocery store. Far too often I see stories where wizards are useless in the muggle world. It's a nice change to see that wizards can read words like "Bottled Water" or "Flour".


What stories would those be? The implication would be that wizards are naturally stupid. That does sometimes seem to be the case, but I operate under the principle that such apparent stupidity is created by a society that enforces ignorance. They should be able to figure it out, especially since two of them were Muggles up to a certain age and Scott is handling the money.

I anxiously await the next chapter and trust that there will not be a quite as lengthy gap between this chapter and the next as there was between this and the previous.


There shouldn't be, if all goes well.
  Quote
Aragorn
Tuesday 27th August 2013 13:10


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

9: This Island, These Tides
Recall your asking some months ago about the quotes at the beginning of each chapter: how we like them. Depending on my mood i don't always connect with them, but this one fully added to the story for me.

Want to acknowledge your courage in coming up with this totally outside-the-box story, your perseverance in sticking with it...and whatever you're doing to keep the quality of your writing at such a high level. Probably steadily getting better as you go...certainly not dropping off any.

You obviously care a lot about making this really good. And it shows. Thanks for that...
  Quote
sylvelle
Tuesday 27th August 2013 12:04


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 30

9: This Island, These Tides
Glad you are back. How did you manage? I'm afraid I'd self-destruct without my fan fiction fix. Just ask my husband.
Love the chapter, well worth the wait, I would like to see things move a bit faster but I guess they need a little down time.
Send more!!
Tricia
Caleb Nova
Saturday 14th September 2013 17:26
9: This Island, These Tides (Author Response)
Glad you are back. How did you manage? I'm afraid I'd self-destruct without my fan fiction fix. Just ask my husband.


It was difficult. I kept writing, which kept me somewhat occupied.

Love the chapter, well worth the wait, I would like to see things move a bit faster but I guess they need a little down time


I know. This story is proving to be equally decompressed to the first. Plus, they're having a hard time getting things going. Their objectives remain difficult, to say the least.
  Quote
Chatmandu
Tuesday 27th August 2013 08:37


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 153

9: This Island, These Tides
Under age magic... Did Kylie bring her wand when she escaped? Because she is a pure-blood I'd think yes but even in canon pure-bloods didn't always think things through.

Ginny - Harry. In the first chapter I thought your depiction of Harry was too wishy-washy. I have changed my mind. You have both characters thinking things through, aware of a line that once crossed will never exist again. Based on your character development they want to jump each other's bones but are also thinking okaaayy, then what? I would project that once they are both satisfied with the "then what?" answer some serious jumpy-bonesy will happen.
*Caveat. The ONLY time I was every right in canon or fanfic projections was with Harry not repeating his post-Cedric depression in book six.
Caleb Nova
Saturday 14th September 2013 17:24
9: This Island, These Tides (Author Response)
Under age magic... Did Kylie bring her wand when she escaped? Because she is a pure-blood I'd think yes but even in canon pure-bloods didn't always think things through.


Probably something they'll have to deal with, at some point.

Ginny - Harry. In the first chapter I thought your depiction of Harry was too wishy-washy.


Hey, give the guy a break. He's under some ball-crushing pressure right now.

I have changed my mind


Well alright then.

You have both characters thinking things through, aware of a line that once crossed will never exist again. Based on your character development they want to jump each other's bones but are also thinking okaaayy, then what? I would project that once they are both satisfied with the "then what?" answer some serious jumpy-bonesy will happen.


Maybe. They've got a lot on their plate as it is.

*Caveat. The ONLY time I was every right in canon or fanfic projections was with Harry not repeating his post-Cedric depression in book six.


perhaps not that extreme, but he's not exactly full of good cheer.
  Quote
Aragorn
Tuesday 27th August 2013 07:24


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

9: This Island, These Tides
Recall your asking some months ago about the quotes at the beginning of each chapter: how we like them. Depending on my mood i don't always connect with them, but this one fully added to the story for me.

Want to acknowledge your courage in coming up with this totally outside-the-box story, your perseverance in sticking with it...and whatever you're doing to keep the quality of your writing at such a high level. Probably steadily getting better as you go...certainly not dropping off any.

You obviously care a lot about making this really good. And it shows. Thanks for that...
  Quote
Aragorn
Monday 26th August 2013 21:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

9: This Island, These Tides
Recall your asking some months ago about the quotes at the beginning of each chapter: how we like them. Depending on my mood i don't always connect with them, but this one fully added to the story for me.

Want to acknowledge your courage in coming up with this totally outside-the-box story, your perseverance in sticking with it...and whatever you're doing to keep the quality of your writing at such a high level. Probably steadily getting better as you go...certainly not dropping off any.

You obviously care a lot about making this really good. And it shows. Thanks for that...
Caleb Nova
Saturday 14th September 2013 17:22
9: This Island, These Tides (Author Response)
Always appreciated, Aragorn. I'm glad you've stuck with this story despite my absences.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 12 of 12
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004