Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For A New Life by Antosha

Showing 1 to 14 of 14
ngayonatkailanman
Wednesday 11th December 2013 14:50


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

A New Life
Excellent. Enjoyed reading it.
  Quote
Dad
Thursday 14th November 2013 10:36


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 480

A New Life
Nice to see this on this site. Pity about the formatting character.
Antosha
Friday 15th November 2013 07:58
A New Life (Author Response)
Nice to see this on this site. Pity about the formatting character.


Thanks! This is, after all, the site where it most belongs.
  Quote
Sherylyn
Tuesday 5th November 2013 19:54


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 55

A New Life
I think hp4-sauce is trying to quote Ginny saying (ignore the formatting here, I'm trying to make it work)...

O
I

Is that right??
(It's the first word of this quote, in case that didn't work...
“Oi! Get your filthy mitts out of there!” squawked Ginny, turning and swinging —)
If so, I have no idea why the filter's having fits with it, but oh well... I'm sure it's serving a purpose somehow
Antosha
Saturday 9th November 2013 10:26
A New Life (Author Response)
I think hp4-sauce is trying to quote Ginny saying (ignore the formatting here, I'm trying to make it work)...

O
I

Is that right??
(It's the first word of this quote, in case that didn't work...
“Oi! Get your filthy mitts out of there!” squawked Ginny, turning and swinging —)
If so, I have no idea why the filter's having fits with it, but oh well... I'm sure it's serving a purpose somehow


That's hysterical!
  Quote
hp4-sauce
Monday 4th November 2013 09:01


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 91

A New Life
Okay I'll just say it. .
Antosha
Monday 4th November 2013 20:08
A New Life (Author Response)
Okay I'll just say it. .


:snort:

Still not showing up! XD
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Tuesday 29th October 2013 08:05


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 964

A New Life
Quite lovely. Thank you for posting this story that reveals so much about Harry.

I loved this by Ginny-
There’s a reason that sort of thing doesn’t happen much in wizarding families, luv. Accidental magic.”

Antosha
Sunday 3rd November 2013 19:18
A New Life (Author Response)
Quite lovely. Thank you for posting this story that reveals so much about Harry.

I loved this by Ginny-
There’s a reason that sort of thing doesn’t happen much in wizarding families, luv. Accidental magic.”



Thank you so much, Kate! I'm glad that this worked for you. And yeah: it occurred to me that a lot of the "natural" victims in our society -- children, women, the elderly -- would be in a very different situation in a wizarding world where physical strength meant almost nothing. Size, after all, is no guarantee of power. :-)
  Quote
LWJ2
Tuesday 29th October 2013 02:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

A New Life
Nicely mushy.

One criticism -- the timing. I would think that this is something that had been discovered prior to Ginny's 20th or so birthday. Then again, the mind is a peculiar place, and it's action-driven. Machs nicht.

Thanks for writing and sharing this story.
Antosha
Sunday 3rd November 2013 19:15
A New Life (Author Response)
Nicely mushy.

One criticism -- the timing. I would think that this is something that had been discovered prior to Ginny's 20th or so birthday. Then again, the mind is a peculiar place, and it's action-driven. Machs nicht.

Thanks for writing and sharing this story.


Es macht viel!

My thinking was that Harry was sensitive to the flashback because he was already in a retrospective mood.

And I'm glad that you found it nicely mushy. :-)
  Quote
hp4-sauce
Monday 28th October 2013 18:47


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 91

A New Life
Further to my previous review, the exclamation that Ginny made was "". A lovely very English word and very Ginny. For some reason when I added the exclamation marks in my original review as an after-thought, the way it was posted left the exclamation marks and took out the ! Anyway, hope it's not too long before you pen another.
Antosha
Sunday 3rd November 2013 17:55
A New Life (Author Response)
Further to my previous review, the exclamation that Ginny made was "". A lovely very English word and very Ginny. For some reason when I added the exclamation marks in my original review as an after-thought, the way it was posted left the exclamation marks and took out the ! Anyway, hope it's not too long before you pen another.


Thanks! Do you know, whatever that exclamation of Ginny's is, the filters here at PS don't like it! I keep seeing empty quote marks -- look at your quoted review above.

  Quote
Rhetor
Monday 28th October 2013 16:15


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

A New Life
Boy, you're tough! Back when I wrote "Blazing" (within minutes of finishing DH), you called me on having Harry and Ginny go at it too soon -- and now you're not sure they'd wait so long? Whew!


Oh sure, drag out a comment I made six years ago. You have a long memory.

Were I bent in proving my own internal consistency, I might say that jumping into bed during the first few days after DH might be too fast, while waiting three years to get married might be too slow. (At least it isn't self-evidently contradictory.) I get the impression that people get married young in the Wizarding World -- or at least they did during the first war, which might have been a consequence of the war itself rather than a social custom. I also had the feeling that both H and G were "settling down" types -- she because she's wanted him since she was eleven, he because (as you point out in the story) he's yearned for a real, loving family his whole life. I thought that, once they'd confessed their feeligs to each other and the barriers of minority and war were behind them, they'd want to beocome a public, permanent couple. I know I'm excessively romantic where the two of them are concerned, but then again, so are you.
Antosha
Sunday 3rd November 2013 17:54
A New Life (Author Response)
Boy, you're tough! Back when I wrote "Blazing" (within minutes of finishing DH), you called me on having Harry and Ginny go at it too soon -- and now you're not sure they'd wait so long? Whew!


Oh sure, drag out a comment I made six years ago. You have a long memory.

Were I bent in proving my own internal consistency, I might say that jumping into bed during the first few days after DH might be too fast, while waiting three years to get married might be too slow. (At least it isn't self-evidently contradictory.) I get the impression that people get married young in the Wizarding World -- or at least they did during the first war, which might have been a consequence of the war itself rather than a social custom. I also had the feeling that both H and G were "settling down" types -- she because she's wanted him since she was eleven, he because (as you point out in the story) he's yearned for a real, loving family his whole life. I thought that, once they'd confessed their feeligs to each other and the barriers of minority and war were behind them, they'd want to beocome a public, permanent couple. I know I'm excessively romantic where the two of them are concerned, but then again, so are you.


Six years ago. Eesh. Yeah, sorry about that.

In my mind (for this story) it worked something like this: they got together not long after Voldemort's defeat, broke up again because one or both wasn't sure that they weren't together for the wrong reasons, tried dating others, realized they were both miserable, and Luna convinced them both to get together again. Something like that.

Mostly, I like the idea that the road from the last chapter of DH to the epilogue may not have been entirely straight. Also, I was interested in the way in which memory can surface unexpectedly -- and if Harry were only a year removed from living with the Dursleys, I don't think this would have caught him -- or Ginny quite so much by surprise. And since it was a tenth-anniversary fic for PS, I figured I'd make it their tenth anniversary of meeting, which got Harry into a retrospective mood, which made him vulnerable.... Make sense?
  Quote
Patches
Monday 28th October 2013 12:43


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

A New Life
This is a good story but a reminder of things that they would like to forget. I appreciate your talent for bringing a sad memory to a good conclusion. Thanks for writing. p
Antosha
Monday 28th October 2013 15:01
A New Life (Author Response)
This is a good story but a reminder of things that they would like to forget. I appreciate your talent for bringing a sad memory to a good conclusion. Thanks for writing. p


Thanks so much. I chose my penname for Anton Chekhov, who never managed to write purely fluffy or purely tragic stories. I'm glad that this worked for you!
  Quote
Marinka
Monday 28th October 2013 00:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

A New Life
True, smell is very powerful memory trigger. Good story , thank you fo sharing
Antosha
Monday 28th October 2013 14:59
A New Life (Author Response)
True, smell is very powerful memory trigger. Good story , thank you fo sharing


Indeed it is, in both positive and negative ways!

Thanks.
  Quote
Arnel
Sunday 27th October 2013 18:58


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

A New Life
What a wonderful story! I'm glad that Harry eventually remembered the anniversary of meeting Ginny and that she was able to help him acknowledge his troubling flashback by replacing it with the realization that he was safe and living with someone who loved him. I'm going to go read it again!
Antosha
Monday 28th October 2013 14:59
A New Life (Author Response)
What a wonderful story! I'm glad that Harry eventually remembered the anniversary of meeting Ginny and that she was able to help him acknowledge his troubling flashback by replacing it with the realization that he was safe and living with someone who loved him. I'm going to go read it again!


Thanks so much! Yeah, I have to think that day stands out for Harry -- as it does for the readers that were along for the ride!

And my idea for the story started with that idea of a PTSD flashback -- and so I needed to start and end somewhere safe.

I'm glad that you enjoyed the story.
  Quote
Rhetor
Sunday 27th October 2013 17:43


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

A New Life
*Sniff* Lovely. The new memories replace the old, and love heals.

(I thought the Weasleys knew he'd been beaten by the Dursleys, though. I don't think it's anywhere explicit, but I felt sure of it...) (They waited 3+ years to get married? I suppose it seems sensible, but I imagined they'd be in more of a hurry...)
Antosha
Monday 28th October 2013 14:44
A New Life (Author Response)
*Sniff* Lovely. The new memories replace the old, and love heals.

(I thought the Weasleys knew he'd been beaten by the Dursleys, though. I don't think it's anywhere explicit, but I felt sure of it...) (They waited 3+ years to get married? I suppose it seems sensible, but I imagined they'd be in more of a hurry...)


Boy, you're tough! Back when I wrote "Blazing" (within minutes of finishing DH), you called me on having Harry and Ginny go at it too soon -- and now you're not sure they'd wait so long? Whew!

(In my head, the idea was that they'd taken a less than direct route to this point, and that they've moved in together relatively recently, which was part of the cause of Harry's reverie. In my head. I think I was placing this in the same fic-verse as "Prying," which is too... well-seasoned for this particular archive.)

In any case, thank you: it's always a pleasure to get feedback from you. And yeah: new memories and old. The layering is what makes us adults, I think.
  Quote
hp4-sauce
Sunday 27th October 2013 15:46


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 91

A New Life
It has been an age since I reviewed at this or any other HP site. Or visited for that matter.

So glad to see you're still writing. Short but sweet with your usual clean, literate style. Not sure Harry's experience with the Dursleys could really induce a PTSD moment after all he'd been through at Voldie's hands, but what the heck. Any story that has Ginny exclaiming: "!" is definitely worth a read!

Antosha
Monday 28th October 2013 14:38
A New Life (Author Response)
It has been an age since I reviewed at this or any other HP site. Or visited for that matter.

So glad to see you're still writing. Short but sweet with your usual clean, literate style. Not sure Harry's experience with the Dursleys could really induce a PTSD moment after all he'd been through at Voldie's hands, but what the heck. Any story that has Ginny exclaiming: "!" is definitely worth a read!



Thanks so much!

My thought was that Harry has had a chance to deal with the stuff that happened with Voldemort, and that that was a clean if nightmarish series of transactions; he's evil, and trying to torture and kill Harry. We never see Harry really look at the reality of what happened in his relatives' house, so that's what I wanted at least to touch on. (This idea was sparked by a recent PFW podcast, actually.)

And what is it that you were glad that Ginny exclaimed? "Oi"? If so, thank you. It was a pleasure!
  Quote
mdauben
Sunday 27th October 2013 13:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

A New Life
A rather sweet yet sad little one shot. I really enjoyed it,
Antosha
Monday 28th October 2013 11:15
A New Life (Author Response)
A rather sweet yet sad little one shot. I really enjoyed it,


Thanks! I'm glad that you liked it.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 14 of 14
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004