Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Vis Insita by Caleb Nova

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 5 of 5
Dun8y
Tuesday 10th June 2014 01:10


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

12: Truth of Sequence
I think your interpretation of Ginny is true to what her family know of her, she can be volatile and outspoken, and she is just learning how to make the best of things. Molly and Lila at the end was good, like all mums ( and dads!), Molly just wants to protect her family, and can't understand why Lila won't tell her anything, so it stands to reason that as soon as Lila opens up a little, she breaks through the barriers put up by Molly. Another well written chapter thank you.
Sue x
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 17th June 2014 22:20
12: Truth of Sequence (Author Response)
I think your interpretation of Ginny is true to what her family know of her, she can be volatile and outspoken, and she is just learning how to make the best of things.


I appreciate that, I do struggle to find her voice, sometimes.

Molly and Lila at the end was good, like all mums ( and dads!), Molly just wants to protect her family, and can't understand why Lila won't tell her anything, so it stands to reason that as soon as Lila opens up a little, she breaks through the barriers put up by Molly.


Were you bothered at all by how calculated it was on Lila's part? Or do you think it was equally genuine, if directed?
  Quote
Aragorn
Thursday 2nd January 2014 12:44


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

12: Truth of Sequence
Nice Lila/Molly dialog.

Although I've rarely complained about any of your writing, do recall not really appreciating The Kiss in the dorms oh so long ago; felt pretty flat to me.

Having said that, have to give you full kudos for the H/G interaction here...like the new depth you're bringing to it.

...and goody, another chapter to read before I stop
Caleb Nova
Sunday 26th January 2014 19:07
12: Truth of Sequence (Author Response)
Although I've rarely complained about any of your writing, do recall not really appreciating The Kiss in the dorms oh so long ago; felt pretty flat to me


I do remember that, yes. You would have preferred something that diverged more from the book.

Having said that, have to give you full kudos for the H/G interaction here...like the new depth you're bringing to it.


They are my main couple for writing, and they come easier to me than Ron/Hermione do. Not entirely sure why.
  Quote
deej
Wednesday 18th December 2013 06:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

12: Truth of Sequence
First off, I think you wrote another very good chapter. I like that you have brought Sophie back and are using her in the way you are. I enjoyed the insight into what is happening with the rest of the Weasleys and Lila.

Secondly, Don't listen to some of the nay-sayers. You are wtiting Ginny as you see her from the books. I think every fan fiction author has their own perception of the characters. You are being true to what you started with in TTM, and I am glad you are continuing that here. Even if at times I would have liked to see something a little different, I remember that this is your story and just enjoy it.

Keep up the excellant work and, as always, I look forward to the next installment.

Deej
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 31st December 2013 13:18
12: Truth of Sequence (Author Response)
First off, I think you wrote another very good chapter. I like that you have brought Sophie back and are using her in the way you are. I enjoyed the insight into what is happening with the rest of the Weasleys and Lila.


Good, glad you liked that. Lila has been off-page for quite awhile, separated as she is.

Secondly, Don't listen to some of the nay-sayers. You are wtiting Ginny as you see her from the books. I think every fan fiction author has their own perception of the characters. You are being true to what you started with in TTM, and I am glad you are continuing that here. Even if at times I would have liked to see something a little different, I remember that this is your story and just enjoy it.


The 'true to what I started in TTM' is, to me, the important part. And don't hesitate to tell me what you would have liked to see, I always find that interesting.

Keep up the excellant work and, as always, I look forward to the next installment.


As much as I look forward to the next review? Thank you.
  Quote
sylvelle
Sunday 15th December 2013 22:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

12: Truth of Sequence
I just want Ginny there for Harry I know she's gonna be perfect.
Glad for another chapter..yay.. and a good one..
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 31st December 2013 13:15
12: Truth of Sequence (Author Response)
Oh, she'll be there for him. Whether he wants it or not (and he definitely didn't at first).
  Quote
mdauben
Sunday 15th December 2013 14:43


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

12: Truth of Sequence
I know you asked not to review your author notes, but I just have to! I have no problem with your depiction of Ginny so far. I certainly don't see any need to "Mary Sue" her to somehow make her more interesting. Likewise I never cared for the popular fanon concept of "healer Ginny ". I think this idea originated during the early years of the series when little was known of her personality. Certainly in the later books when we actually get to know more about her there's nothing to indicate she would be especially suited to that career. I'm any case, I enjoyed the confrontation with Molly at the end of the chapter. It seemed very in character without drifting into the extreme /irrational behavior used by some authors. Looking forward to the next update.
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 31st December 2013 13:14
12: Truth of Sequence (Author Response)
I know you asked not to review your author notes, but I just have to! I have no problem with your depiction of Ginny so far. I certainly don't see any need to "Mary Sue" her to somehow make her more interesting.


And that's really my biggest concern. 'Maxing her stats', like I said. The problem though is that we get so little of Ginny from the books that what's interesting about her is only hinted at.

Likewise I never cared for the popular fanon concept of "healer Ginny ". I think this idea originated during the early years of the series when little was known of her personality. Certainly in the later books when we actually get to know more about her there's nothing to indicate she would be especially suited to that career.


And it's a big deal, Healer Ginny. I've read so many stories where that's her chosen career. Quidditch suits her better, I think.

I'm any case, I enjoyed the confrontation with Molly at the end of the chapter. It seemed very in character without drifting into the extreme /irrational behavior used by some authors. Looking forward to the next update.


It's amazing how often Molly gets character-assassinated, isn't it? There's a hundred million fanfics out there with her screaming at everybody for no reason. Like Dumbledore, I think she tends to get used as an obstructionist authority figure by a lot of authors.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 5 of 5
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004