Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Vis Insita by Caleb Nova

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
Dun8y
Tuesday 10th June 2014 03:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

13: Each Breath Be Blessed, Every Hour Be Stilled
I loved the poem at the start of this chapter, I felt quite emotional reading it x
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 17th June 2014 22:22
13: Each Breath Be Blessed, Every Hour Be Stilled (Author Response)
I really appreciate you saying so, most of my readers aren't really into poetry and prefer the technical excerpts. I'm glad you liked it, I spend as much time on my (extremely amateur) poetry sometimes as I do on the fiction.
  Quote
Dun8y
Tuesday 10th June 2014 03:10


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

13: Each Breath Be Blessed, Every Hour Be Stilled
Good to see Kylie opening up more, she's right, Scott doesn't need to talk to her like a child. Looking forward to them going to Godric's Hollow and seeing how you deal with that.
Here's me being a picky Brit, when we write about the floors of a house, we write the word as storey, not story. Thought you might like to know that as it has been used a couple of times incorrectly, once again though, observation and not criticism.
Thank you for sharing, Sue x
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 17th June 2014 22:21
13: Each Breath Be Blessed, Every Hour Be Stilled (Author Response)
Good to see Kylie opening up more, she's right, Scott doesn't need to talk to her like a child.


Yeah, it was fun finally having her speak up for once, and even be slightly aggressive.

Looking forward to them going to Godric's Hollow and seeing how you deal with that.


Well, since that chapter was already up, you've seen it, so I can't be mysterious.

Looking forward to them going to Godric's Hollow and seeing how you deal with that.


Yeah, I think I just missed that this time, because I remember doing it correctly at some point.
  Quote
Aragorn
Thursday 16th January 2014 16:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

13: Each Breath Be Blessed, Every Hour Be Stilled
CORRECTION of my previous review: "There are many things that could be said about this CHAPTER, but I think the scene with KYLIE at the end is one of the best."
Caleb Nova
Sunday 26th January 2014 19:16
13: Each Breath Be Blessed, Every Hour Be Stilled (Author Response)
It's a good moment for characterization. Kylie has been so quiet there hasn't been much about what's happening in her head. I thought that scene might help.
  Quote
Chatmandu
Wednesday 15th January 2014 03:38


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 153

13: Each Breath Be Blessed, Every Hour Be Stilled
... I'm not a dumb little kid
And Kylie speaks several whole sentences! I do wonder what has been going on in HER mind. Nice to show she is in fact a preteen who understands child responses are no longer satisfactory.

Did Scott REALLY try to provoke Ginny like he does Hermione, re: the "vote" question? Wow, he must really be tired to make that mistake. Sophie may deserve the Nobel Peace Prize after this mission is over if he continues to do that.
Caleb Nova
Sunday 26th January 2014 19:15
13: Each Breath Be Blessed, Every Hour Be Stilled (Author Response)
And Kylie speaks several whole sentences! I do wonder what has been going on in HER mind. Nice to show she is in fact a preteen who understands child responses are no longer satisfactory.


Probably the first real insight given for her in some time.

Did Scott REALLY try to provoke Ginny like he does Hermione, re: the "vote" question? Wow, he must really be tired to make that mistake. Sophie may deserve the Nobel Peace Prize after this mission is over if he continues to do that.


I don't know what Scott was thinking. He probably wasn't.
  Quote
Aragorn
Sunday 5th January 2014 16:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

13: Each Breath Be Blessed, Every Hour Be Stilled
There are many things that could be said about this paragraph, but I think the scene with Sophie at the end is one of the best. Scott switching from his simple talk at her request is a reminder of a spice you're quite fond of...ie, the technical descriptions...but one you don't overuse.

I recall praising the addition of Kylie to the story way back in TTM, for reasons I wasn't really sure of, and your continued integration here clearly justifies whatever caused your inspiration and my intuition then. It adds an emotional layer to the story that has nothing to do with their mission...but is oh so about their basic humanity, and why we care about them even more.

Your AN is a great recognition...and a valuable learning for you. Writing this brilliant 'should' have more readership. Believe you've identified why it's played out as it has...

Caleb Nova
Sunday 26th January 2014 19:14
13: Each Breath Be Blessed, Every Hour Be Stilled (Author Response)
I recall praising the addition of Kylie to the story way back in TTM, for reasons I wasn't really sure of, and your continued integration here clearly justifies whatever caused your inspiration and my intuition then. It adds an emotional layer to the story that has nothing to do with their mission...but is oh so about their basic humanity, and why we care about them even more.


It's true, Kylie has just sort been there to provide character moments, which she's quite good at. Of course, it appears she has nothing to add to the mission... So far.

Your AN is a great recognition...and a valuable learning for you. Writing this brilliant 'should' have more readership. Believe you've identified why it's played out as it has...


I've actually thought about rewriting the first six chapters of TTM and putting the originals from Scott's POV in a separate 'outtake' story. I don't know, I'm still considering the pros and cons (the cons being mainly it will be more work).
  Quote
deej
Thursday 2nd January 2014 05:04


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

13: Each Breath Be Blessed, Every Hour Be Stilled
High marks for posting again so quickly. This one of the few stories I keep up with any more. I still wish you could find a way to write books based on Scott and his adventures.

I like how Sophie was able to exert some influence over Scott. It shows he think of her as more of an equal. I also like how Kylie is coming out of her shell more. I would think if she could open up a little more, she could provide some insight. She seems like a smart girl.

Now that you are writing it, I always wondered why Harry didn't use more muggle weapons. JK might have some aversion to them, but I don't even remember many fanfic authors doing it. I will say, your knowledge of weapons is pretty impressive. Some of them I have had to look up to get a good mental image.

As always, I am looking forward to the next chapter.

DEEJ
Caleb Nova
Sunday 26th January 2014 19:05
13: Each Breath Be Blessed, Every Hour Be Stilled (Author Response)
High marks for posting again so quickly. This one of the few stories I keep up with any more. I still wish you could find a way to write books based on Scott and his adventures.


Yeah, me too. I've put some more thought into it and I figure I have two options: either I write a story for Scott to integrate into, or I change some of the nature of the Kharadjai and base the story entirely in their universe.

I like how Sophie was able to exert some influence over Scott. It shows he think of her as more of an equal.


While Scott technically outranks her, they're friends and comrades first and foremost. Rank doesn't mean much on a long term integration.

I also like how Kylie is coming out of her shell more. I would think if she could open up a little more, she could provide some insight. She seems like a smart girl.


Perhaps she could.

Now that you are writing it, I always wondered why Harry didn't use more muggle weapons. JK might have some aversion to them, but I don't even remember many fanfic authors doing it. I will say, your knowledge of weapons is pretty impressive. Some of them I have had to look up to get a good mental image.


Muggles are very peripheral to Rowling's books, as perhaps they should be. She has gone on record as saying that, if you have a Muggle with a shotgun vs. a wizard, the Muggle will win. But that's a very simplistic scenario that seems to take nothing into account but reaction time. Magic is far slower than firearms, but no less deadly when properly applied; and far more versatile.

Most fanfictionists follower her lead and keep the focus on magic. There have been a few stories with guns, but not many. My focus is on magic as well, and the magical world, but the secondary universe I've introduced is technology based.


As always, I am looking forward to the next chapter.


As much as I look forward to your next review?
  Quote
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Wednesday 3rd December
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004