Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Sins of the Fathers by parakletos

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 9 of 9
Dun8y
Monday 2nd June 2014 01:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

Chapter 10
It's been such a long time since I read this story, I had to go back and read it again. To be honest with you, I found it easier reading it the second time round, I felt that I was missing some crucial information at first, but it's all clicked into place! I love this story so much, the characters have developed in a way that is so different, yet so believable! I hope that you can continue to update regularly and you're feeling much better these days. You're one of my favourite authors on here. Thank you and carry on typing! (please!) xx
parakletos
Thursday 5th June 2014 11:11
Chapter 10 (Author Response)
I continue to be amazed that people re still reading this story, but I'm glad they are.

I have completed my first draft of the next chapter which has bits people won't like but there you go. There re actually only three more chapters to go- let's see if I can get it finished by the end of the year.
  Quote
wluer96
Tuesday 29th April 2014 09:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

Chapter 10
Love, love love this story. Love the characters, love the arc, love the AU. Looking forward to the next chapter!
  Quote
Arnel
Sunday 20th April 2014 00:55


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

Chapter 10
It's been such a long time between chapters that I decided to reread your entire story and now that I've read it, I certainly want to know more. I hope the next chapter is forthcoming sooner rather than later.

You certainly have a good grasp of what it means to belong to pure-blood society and the proper etiquette needed to survive in such circles. It took some getting used to, but after a few chapters, I began enjoying the antiquated and very formal turns of phrases, the required manners and the fact that Ginny seemed to be knowledgeable of but didn't care to use them, opting for the familiar instead.

Your Harry seems much lonelier than the boy JKR presents us with in SS/PS. I say this because he doesn't know how to act like a "normal" teenager, finding the familiarity and easygoing nature of the students' actions rather immature; I realize that because of his preparations for the defeat of Voldemort he wasn't allowed to be a child and think that Harry's underlying resentment of this is justified. His observations of Ron Weasley and the other seventh-year boys amused me and it makes me wonder if their jealousy would be as pronounced if Harry had been allowed to go to Hogwarts at the age of eleven.

I like your Ginny very much. She's as practical as Hermione, but she's also her own woman as well. It seems she's made the most of the unknown restrictions written into the marriage contract, having been made Head Girl while enjoying being on the Quidditch team and keeping her grades and level of physical fitness where she wants themÖ despite the dearth of successful courtship from the male population of Hogwarts. I agree with her assessment that if she'd been a bit more level-headed during the picnic scene, she might have stayed and talked things out with Harry rather than storming off and being the catalyst to Harry's "downfall." It is my hope that she and Harry will eventually come to their senses and realize that they really are attracted to each other, even without the compulsions of the contract.

Now for those living in Grimmauld Place. First, Sirius. As much as I like this character in other stories, I just can't like your version of him. There are two scenes that solidified this opinion for me, the first of which was the scene in Dumbledore's office after Harry's first fistfight when he bound Harry's magic without even considering Harry's point of view. The second scene takes place in Sirius' bedroom when he finds his paramour more interesting than the injured Harry who was currently comatose in the hospital wing. No real parent would ever act as selfishly as Sirius does in that scene. Now for Bellatrix. I see you've made her just as deranged as the one in canon, but in a completely different way. That she seems to think Harry is attracted to her and that she seems to have "given herself" to him on several occasions while he was in a bewitched slumber just made my stomach turn. In my opinion, Harry needs to get a flat of his own and then bar both Bella and Sirius from accessing his Floo for all but the most dire of emergencies! I hope this happens soon.

Please update soon. This story is too good and too intriguing to have your readers forget about it between postings. Well done.
parakletos
Sunday 20th April 2014 12:35
Chapter 10 (Author Response)
Forgive me for not responding to every point you raise- I hope you won't take it as an indication that I've not read the review properly (I have, three times :thumbsup.

When I started the story the aim was to write something that was 'Slytherin Harry' in the way that 8th Day is 'Slytherin Ginny.' Whereas the latter is quite a light piece, this was always darker and when I began posting it at SIYE I got a fair amount of stick and eventually pulled it. This, coupled with illness, led to long delays in writing the story and eventually to where the gaps have assumed biblical proportions.

You have highlighted what I believe was missed by lots of reviewers at SIYE that Harry is as much a victim in this as Ginny is. True, he knew of the contract and should have informed her of this, but the level of abuse he has and still suffers, I believe outweighs that.

Bellatrix is as twisted as she is in the books and Sirius just doesn't know when to stop. There is more on this in the next chapter which will begin to fill in some gaps for you.

Thank you for seeing that Ginny is her own woman - another area which I've received some flak over- and that she isn't just a receptacle for Harry. Ginny is my favourite character and in any given story it's her that normally carries most of my character (read that how you will ).

I'd love to say that the next chapter is close to publication -it isn't, but I have written a good chunk of it. I may post it elsewhere in scene format as I have before as a way of getting it out there.

Thank you again for taking the time not only to reread the story, but also to provide such a comprehensive critique of it.
  Quote
potternut190
Monday 14th April 2014 18:45


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

Chapter 10
Lovey chapter.
parakletos
Monday 14th April 2014 22:11
Chapter 10 (Author Response)
Lovey chapter.


Thanks!
  Quote
LeprechaunJV
Sunday 13th April 2014 19:59


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 131

Chapter 10


Long awaited.
parakletos
Monday 14th April 2014 04:54
Chapter 10 (Author Response)


Long awaited.


Touchť, mon brave.
  Quote
Marinka
Sunday 13th April 2014 16:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

Chapter 10
*does a happy dance* i canít believe you have updated! I have read bits of chapter 10 in you livejournal but the end of the chapter was not there, so a pleasant surprise to see it on PS
Poor Harry just canít catch a break and way to noble for his own good. I find it is interesting that he think that Tonks interested in him as fallout from the contract, will you elaborate on this?
He does need to leave home, at least this way Bella will have limited access to him. She is as crazy as she in canon, just not as nasty but i am sure it will come if Harry crosses her.
I read that chapter 11 is in the works, so really looking forward to more, i love this fic!
parakletos
Monday 14th April 2014 04:53
Chapter 10 (Author Response)
*does a happy dance* i canít believe you have updated! I have read bits of chapter 10 in you livejournal but the end of the chapter was not there, so a pleasant surprise to see it on PS
Poor Harry just canít catch a break and way to noble for his own good. I find it is interesting that he think that Tonks interested in him as fallout from the contract, will you elaborate on this?
He does need to leave home, at least this way Bella will have limited access to him. She is as crazy as she in canon, just not as nasty but i am sure it will come if Harry crosses her.
I read that chapter 11 is in the works, so really looking forward to more, i love this fic!


As I said in another response, the fallout on all connected parties continues, but people's real personalities start to assert themselves. The next chapter may take a while, but it is in progress.

Thanks for your review and for sticking with the story.
  Quote
nesciamema
Sunday 13th April 2014 15:56


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Chapter 10
FINALLY, thanks for the update! Can't wait to see what kind of predicament Ginny & Harry get into now and what is going on with Bella (other than she's crazy).
parakletos
Monday 14th April 2014 04:50
Chapter 10 (Author Response)
FINALLY, thanks for the update! Can't wait to see what kind of predicament Ginny & Harry get into now and what is going on with Bella (other than she's crazy).


Ah, Bella. Her storyline isn't finished yet. As for Harry and Ginny, well, they've got a few more obstacles to deal with.

I appreciate you taking time to review after all this time.
  Quote
mdauben
Sunday 13th April 2014 15:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

Chapter 10
Interesting chapter. So, the unfulfilled contract is having an effect on Tonks? It seems that even without the contract Ginny feels some attraction to Harry. I'll be interested in seeing what develops between the two of them and what additional obstacles the face.
parakletos
Monday 14th April 2014 04:48
Chapter 10 (Author Response)
Interesting chapter. So, the unfulfilled contract is having an effect on Tonks? It seems that even without the contract Ginny feels some attraction to Harry. I'll be interested in seeing what develops between the two of them and what additional obstacles the face.


The fallout from the contract hasn't finished yet and neither Harry nor Ginny are fully free from the effects either.

Thanks for stopping by.
  Quote
jawsinnc
Sunday 13th April 2014 15:06


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

Chapter 10
Awesome update! So glad you didn't abandon the story as so many others have. Your are a great writer and I look forward to your next update. You have die-hard fans!
parakletos
Monday 14th April 2014 04:46
Chapter 10 (Author Response)
Awesome update! So glad you didn't abandon the story as so many others have. Your are a great writer and I look forward to your next update. You have die-hard fans!


Glad that you enjoyed it. Thanks for taking the time to review.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 9 of 9
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004