Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Vis Insita by Caleb Nova

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 3 of 3
Dun8y
Tuesday 10th June 2014 11:41


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

17: Parts Per Million
I did like the girl talk, not sure if I'd ever have done that though! About the lack of connection with voldemort, to be honest, I was just so caught up in the story, I never even gave it a thought! I'm glad Remus was in this chapter, albeit only a short time.
Thank you, Sue x
Caleb Nova
Wednesday 18th June 2014 02:02
17: Parts Per Million (Author Response)
About the lack of connection with voldemort, to be honest, I was just so caught up in the story, I never even gave it a thought!


I think that was the case with most readers. This chapter was the answer to a question no one asked.
  Quote
Chatmandu351
Wednesday 4th June 2014 08:26


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

17: Parts Per Million
Oh, wait. Never mind. You had the Hermione/Sophie conversation in TTM. Granted Scott's name came up a bunch but only in relation to Kharadjai politics/government. That was fairly gender neutral, right?
Caleb Nova
Thursday 5th June 2014 20:26
17: Parts Per Million (Author Response)
It depends. The Bechdel test is very vague in that it only requires two women to talk about something other than a man. The length of that 'talk' is indeterminate. The last time I checked a Bechdel test website, movies were given a pass based on sentences alone. Iron Man 3 had a pass based on mere sentences. It also doesn't specify whether the 'talk' can be included within a longer conversation or must be standalone.

So, yes, depending on what standard we hold literature to, I passed at the point you mentioned. Lila and Molly also discussed Ginny, among other things, a few chapters ago. Lila and Ginny also had a talk about Ginny's inclusion with the group, when Harry was unconscious. A lot of it was about him, but also about her.

So it's hard to say where I stand. Depends on your point of view, probably. I wouldn't dare to judge for myself how feminist or sexist my story may be.
  Quote
Chatmandu351
Monday 26th May 2014 13:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

17: Parts Per Million
Hate to be the bearer of bad news, well not actually, but you still fail the Bechdel test. Hermoine and Ginny talked about their boyfriends. If you REALLY REALLY want to pass the test, have Hermione and Sophie talk about magical and physical properties in this universe compared to others. And don't bring the topic of Scott into it. Except Sophie would probably defer all such questions to Scott, it is his OP after all.
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 3rd June 2014 08:26
17: Parts Per Million (Author Response)
I never said I thought I passed. Hence me declaring that I refused to be consistent:

A few chapters ago, I was worrying about the Bechdel Test. Then for this chapter, I drove this bitch straight into Girl Talk™. I refuse to be consistent. You can't make me.


The Girl Talk was the complete opposite of the Bechdel, rife with cliche.

And, no, I'm not interesting in passing the test artificially by shoehorning in a pointless conversation. My stories are packed with pointless conversations, of course, but I prefer they happen naturally.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 3 of 3
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004