Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Vis Insita by Caleb Nova

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 3 of 3
Dad
Thursday 12th June 2014 04:04


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 505

18: Apology Not Accepted
I read this last week and was a bit confused. I re-read it today from two chapters back and found out I had missed the last chapter. Undoubtedly getting senile, though I do not check this site often enough because it gets so little traffic.
Any way, I suggest you send them "up north", (say that with a Lancashire accent). If they pass by Bolton, my younger self will buy Scott a pint.
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 17th June 2014 22:28
18: Apology Not Accepted (Author Response)
I can't look those locations up right now, but you can let me know where Scott is in relation to you in an upcoming chapter.
  Quote
Dun8y
Tuesday 10th June 2014 07:47


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

18: Apology Not Accepted
It seems to me that the story is going to have to go somewhere soon, otherwise it'll become a bit like the original book and just have lots of words with nothing much happening. Thank you for writing, my only problem is that I've caught up with you! Ah well, I can do waiting quite well, as long as it's not too long please.
Thank you, Sue x
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 17th June 2014 22:05
18: Apology Not Accepted (Author Response)
It seems to me that the story is going to have to go somewhere soon, otherwise it'll become a bit like the original book and just have lots of words with nothing much happening.


Such is the nature of my decompressed approach to character interacting and my devotion to logic above induced drama. And I don't think a comparison to the book is all bad, really. It's my basis, after all.

Thank you for writing, my only problem is that I've caught up with you! Ah well, I can do waiting quite well, as long as it's not too long please.


Yes, hopefully not too long.
  Quote
The Pharaoh
Thursday 5th June 2014 16:07


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 52

18: Apology Not Accepted
I'm glad to see you're definitely moving ahead with this, if the recent update pace is indicative.

There were a couple typos I noticed, and I'll point them out because there usually aren't any and so either 1) you care about not having typos and will appreciate it, or 2) you don't care, but regardless I hold you to a higher standard than I do most fanfic authors. In the opening quoted passage, it says "Observation may be required determine if they are..." instead of "required to determine," and when Hermione's scolding Scott she says, "if I ever hear the two of you says things like that to each other again," where it should be "the two of you say things like that".

Anywho, content-wise... Ginny said she didn't want to talk about the Diary, but everything she was saying to Scott and thinking to herself was integrally about the Diary. Then, perhaps it was just his being clouded by anger, but Harry seemed remarkably lacking in empathy in the morning bedroom conversation up until he finally turned completely around, even though he told himself he was very aware of Ginny's feelings.
I was relieved when someone finally phrased it as, "the risks greatly outweigh the rewards," because that occurred to me right away as the best way to put it and it was frustrating that no one had said it.
I feel like I should be satisfied by the chapter length when I look at the scroll bar on the page and see how long it is, but it felt like almost nothing actually happened; about half the chapter was internal monologue, it seems like.
Caleb Nova
Thursday 5th June 2014 16:42
18: Apology Not Accepted (Author Response)
"There were a couple typos I noticed, and I'll point them out because there usually aren't any and so either 1) you care about not having typos and will appreciate it, or 2) you don't care, but regardless I hold you to a higher standard than I do most fanfic authors."

Little things do sometimes slip past myself and Sherry (I've certainly read more than a few published books with typos). I fixed those myself elsewhere, so thanks for the heads up, but only Sherry can do it here.

"Anywho, content-wise... Ginny said she didn't want to talk about the Diary, but everything she was saying to Scott and thinking to herself was integrally about the Diary."

I'm not sure I understand your objection. Her internal monologue and the emotions of her reaction were entirely about the Diary, yes. The events of her first year were central to her state when confronting Scott. But I was of the opinion that she would not want to discuss the events surrounding the Diary with Scott. It was personal, and he wasn't there, and she isn't all that close to him, not close enough to talk about the Diary, for sure. When Scott mentions the Diary, she quickly shuts him down.

Her stance on the matter is motivated by the Diary, yes, and they both know that (or, at least, Scott suspects, even if he doesn't know the fully story). But she'll be damned if she talks about it with Scott or allows him to claim she's biased because of it. That's none of his business, from her standpoint.

"Then, perhaps it was just his being clouded by anger, but Harry seemed remarkably lacking in empathy in the morning bedroom conversation up until he finally turned completely around, even though he told himself he was very aware of Ginny's feelings. "

I would argue that empathy is not one of Harry's primary attributes. He demonstrates remarkable insensitivity at various points throughout the books, most especially towards Cho. He ignored Ginny for years, despite her obvious attraction.

And, yes, he was very angry that what he saw as a potential shortcut to victory was being blocked by his companions at every turn. As is often the case with him, he did not consider the risks before he decided.

"I was relieved when someone finally phrased it as, "the risks greatly outweigh the rewards," because that occurred to me right away as the best way to put it and it was frustrating that no one had said it."

Well, the ultimate possible endpoint was swift victory. Many people in history have risked everything for that same, elusive reward. Harry's friends were unwilling to be risked, not that he really thought about them before deciding that losing the curse link was bad. You'll notice at the end of the chapter, out of all Harry's companions, Scott was the most willing to consider the benefits. But he's too practical to not see the odds were unfavorable to the point it couldn't be worth it.

"I feel like I should be satisfied by the chapter length when I look at the scroll bar on the page and see how long it is, but it felt like almost nothing actually happened; about half the chapter was internal monologue, it seems like."

Fair enough, though I must remind you this story, and its predecessor, have never been anything but extremely decompressed. I don't think this can be considered anything but par for the course.

This chapter is actually an endgame, but it's for a game that no one noticed. Not a single person commented during That Terrifying Momentum about Harry's lack of scar pain and visions. But, nearly 200,000 words after the end of sixth year, here is the explanation. It was a thread I left dangling, perhaps in the unconscious hope someone would notice. On the writing side of things, I just never found an organic place for it. I finally arrived at that place this chapter. I think it's a necessary closing of an open question, and a confrontation that was a long time in coming.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 3 of 3
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 3rd December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Thursday 11th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
Saturday 5th December
Author: parakletos
Story: A Spanner in the Works
Friday 20th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Worth a Thousand Words?
Monday 19th October
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Wednesday 7th October
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Author: Author by Night
Story: Spectators
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Code ©Jeconais, 2004