Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Vis Insita by Caleb Nova

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 4 of 4
TomRiddle
Monday 3rd November 2014 15:39


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

19: For Your Information
Sorry for the long absence. I have been keeping up (with the exception of everything further on than this chapter) I recently got a job that takes up quite a bit of my free time and so I've taken to catching up on your chapters on the bus on my commute. My little iPhone being not particularly conducive to writing out reviews.

That said. It's nice to have these sorts of conversations. Quite fond of this chapter, for some reason the last few chapters of just domestics have been nice.

I do like your authors notes, Its a little bit more of you added on in addition to your writing. That sounds dumb.

When Scott was bitching about wandlore with Harry he mentions a "Halsey" that wasn't by chance a nod to Halo was it?
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 18th November 2014 12:20
19: For Your Information (Author Response)
" My little iPhone being not particularly conducive to writing out reviews."

I wrote an author's note on a phone, once. Not an experience I'd care to repeat.

When Scott was bitching about wandlore with Harry he mentions a "Halsey" that wasn't by chance a nod to Halo was it?


Admiral Halsey was a fleet commander during World War II. If there's a Halsey in Halo, then I'd imagine we are both referencing the same real-world individual.
  Quote
The Pharaoh
Monday 11th August 2014 07:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

19: For Your Information
P.S. Is Scott generally in adult form or teen form in the house? Because it seems like he's in adult form from some of the descriptions, but some of the things he says and the fact you refer to him as "Scott" when before you made a point to refer to the adult form as "Kharan" indicate otherwise.
Caleb Nova
Saturday 23rd August 2014 09:20
19: For Your Information (Author Response)
Scott hasn't been a teen since the wedding. He reverted to being an adult the day after, when they were at Lila's apartment, and hasn't had a reason to change since. In regards to some of his more colorful comments, they may come less often but he's not an entirely different person.

I dropped the Scott/Teen Kharan/Adult naming convention. I used it in TTM, but for Vis I knew he would be an adult for most of the story, so I stopped doing that. They all think of him as Scott, anyway, and refer to him as such. I only did the switch in TTM because he was changing for short periods in between chapters, and it was to help the readers keep things straight.
  Quote
The Pharaoh
Monday 11th August 2014 07:04


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

19: For Your Information
Oh God, "maybe something to do with anal?"... I would've expected a bit more reaction from Ginny, at least a choked sound or something, given that it's more about her body and she's more likely to be offended at the idea, and that she's had less time to get used to Scott's obscenity. Anyway, I like how Kylie's being there is turning out to be helpful for the Hunt, considering you said you weren't initially planning for her and Trevor to actually be part of the story. Of course, you probably were planning this particular plot point from the moment you made Kylie's family aligned the way it is.
I hadn't thought about it, but I think you're right about A/Ns giving a sense of presence to respond to. I usually only review a fanfic chapter when I have something in particular that I want to comment on, or to give my overall impression when I reach the end of what's there so far in a newly discovered story, even with long A/Ns. The only exceptions to this are when something is particularly well-written and I want to praise them for this and encourage/beseech them to continue if it's still ongoing. In cases like this one, where I anticipate each new chapter and greatly enjoy reading the wonderful prose and storyline, I will review each chapter as it comes out because I earnestly want them to continue.
Caleb Nova
Saturday 23rd August 2014 09:16
19: For Your Information (Author Response)
Oh God, "maybe something to do with anal?"... I would've expected a bit more reaction from Ginny, at least a choked sound or something, given that it's more about her body and she's more likely to be offended at the idea, and that she's had less time to get used to Scott's obscenity.


I think I omitted any reaction purely because Harry was moving on and leaving Scott behind at that moment. Ginny might have made a face or something, I just didn't write it out.

Anyway, I like how Kylie's being there is turning out to be helpful for the Hunt, considering you said you weren't initially planning for her and Trevor to actually be part of the story. Of course, you probably were planning this particular plot point from the moment you made Kylie's family aligned the way it is.


It did end up being a very nice solution for me.

I hadn't thought about it, but I think you're right about A/Ns giving a sense of presence to respond to.


It's why I keep writing them, even when I can't think of anything to say. Something I'll just write some nonsense to get myself started, I can usually ramble well enough with some momentum.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Tuesday 29th July 2014 01:59


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

19: For Your Information
Hello there!

First, apologies for not having written any reviews for the last chapters. It's because of my phone! You see, I've now got a phone that has internet! Wow! So lately, I've been doing all my fanfiction reading with my phone. However, I couldn't remember my password, so I couldn't leave any reviews. I've now looked up the password and I do hope my phone will remember it...

However, let me assure you that I was always waiting avidly for the next chapter to appear, and I read all of them with great interest and pleasure. Since I know you like reviews (I think you mentioned it somewhere), I will write some for those last chapters when I read through your story the next time. It will certainly happen, since there's so little good HP fanfiction coming out that fullfills the "Ginny is the best thing that ever happened to Harry" requirement. And your story already is a treasured classic in my (bookedmarked) collection

Thanks for writing, keep it up!
Caleb Nova
Friday 1st August 2014 13:48
19: For Your Information (Author Response)
It will certainly happen, since there's so little good HP fanfiction coming out that fullfills the "Ginny is the best thing that ever happened to Harry" requirement. And your story already is a treasured classic in my (bookedmarked) collection


I appreciate that. It's true that canon pairings are actually not the most popular ones. Too predictable? Too many slash fangirls? Who knows. But H/G are my preference as well, obviously. I suppose I generally stick to the canon pairings when it comes to fiction.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 4 of 4
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004