Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  

Reviews For Letters From Ginny by OHGinnyfan

Showing 1 to 6 of 6
Thursday 27th March 2008 08:25

Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Letters From Ginny
wow!!! I loved this story!!! It was awesome!!! I remember reading another fanfic that was sort of like this but i think that it was an actual fanfic on harry being missing and they try to convince ginny that he is really gone... lol
Friday 9th November 2007 16:01

Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Letters From Ginny
wow!!!! I love this!!!! I cant wait to read Harry's letters!

Tuesday 24th October 2006 23:52

1st year
Num. of Reviews: 18

Letters From Ginny
That was so sad and yet happy at the same time, i loved it.
Saturday 24th September 2005 21:09

2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 57

Letters From Ginny
*sniff* i have read this story several times now and every time it sends a few tears down my face...congradulations on a well wrtten story
Disassembly of Reason
Sunday 17th April 2005 21:27

Letters From Ginny

meme list: letter-writing!Ginny, auror!Harry, writing-professional!Ginny, established!relationship(Harry/Ginny, marriage, 5 years), separated!relationship(fortunes of war, 7 months, mutual fidelity), revealed!pregnancy(son, named for grandfathers)

[I *have* read "Letters from Harry" and a substantial chunk of <I>The Homecoming</I> already, but the information about Harry's and Ginny's lives from those stories will go into those reviews, not this one.]

(My apologies if the meme list is a bit tiresome, but I have a tendency to make lists and classify things, and it helps feed my little hobby to try to summarize in a fairly standardized way. I like finding stories that take the same approach, and stories that take contrasting approaches (e.g. in this case that might be writing-professional!Harry and auror!Ginny). Ahem. Moving on...)

Hmm. From the date of the first letter and the text, Ginny appears to have found out about the pregnancy on or about 31 July - Harry's birthday. Would the author consider writing another one-shot about *that* birthday present?

Not surprising that a lot of inaccurate, unauthorized biographies of Harry have been written now that Voldything is gone. Since Ginny is an author, it's logical that she'd pass the time with writing about Harry while missing him. (Coining the term "Voldything" is just about the only thing Vernon Dursley's ever done that I approved of.)

Ginny's work on the book may explain why the letters are relatively infrequent. The first letter was written on the day of Harry's departure, the second two weeks later (but to the child, not Harry himself). The second letter to Harry himself is dated nearly two months after the first. Altogether, there are 5 letters apiece to Harry and to Jamie over seven months. (Realistically, it's difficult to make up that much material, I daresay, given that Ginny is at home and heavily pregnant for most of it - she's under emotional strain, but not a lot of activity otherwise, unless the author cared to use the work on the biography as a reason to discuss Harry's past in more detail, or Ginny's feelings for him past and present.)

What is Ginny's normal genre as an author? History? (We don't know her feelings about History of Magic in canon, so that's wide open). Textbooks? Children's books? Fiction for adults, or for children?

It makes sense that Ginny would write letters immediately after Harry's departure, on Christmas Day, and on Valentine's Day, but I'd also expect a letter on Hallowe'en. As the anniversary of his parents' deaths, something Harry as a grown man would be aware of, I wouldn't be surprised if he had a bit of seasonal depression about that particular day. (He doesn't show this in canon, but in canon we have no evidence that he's ever been told the exact date of his parents' deaths.)

I rather like the fanon idea that Harry's first son and daughter would be named after their grandparents as shown here. I'd expect Sirius' and Remus' names also to get consideration, for later children if not the firstborn.

The scene with the Ministry breaking the news to Ginny appears in <I>The Homecoming</I>, of course. Considering the Ministry's extremely poor track record on interacting with Harry in canon, I have no trouble believing that they'd mess up as shown here, upsetting Ginny to the point of sending her into premature labour.

Good call, that the Weasleys would take lots of photographs of the new baby (even if Harry were able to enjoy him in person).

"Serves Percy right..."

This strikes me as perfectly in character for Percy, even as 'a father twice over', that he'd be so full of himself that he'd make a silly error in judgement with a baby who'd just been fed.

I'd be leery of the twins' Easter egg too, but I'm not surprised that they are sappy over their nephew. (When he's older, though, they'll be leading him astray, I have no doubt whatsoever.)

Saturday 2nd October 2004 08:06

1st year
Num. of Reviews: 23

Letters From Ginny
I enjoyed reading these letters very much I am looking forward to reading Letters from Harry.
Saturday 2nd October 2004 08:06
Letters From Ginny (Author Response)

Thank you so much for taking the time to review my story. I appreciate hearing such nice words from readers.

Showing 1 to 6 of 6
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Tuesday 24th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Friday 20th November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Author: parakletos
Story: Worth a Thousand Words?
Monday 19th October
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Wednesday 7th October
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Author: Author by Night
Story: Spectators
Tuesday 29th September
Author: angelmorph
Story: How Hard Could it Be?
Thursday 17th September
Author: Author by Night
Story: The Dragon King
Monday 18th May
Author: MyGinevra
Story: Excision
Saturday 18th April
Author: Nundu
Story: 54 Years Later
Sunday 29th March
Author: Author by Night
Poem: Mischief Managed: A Re-read of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Sunday 22nd February
Author: Nundu
Story: Wild Goose Chase
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Code ©Jeconais, 2004