Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Letters From Harry by OHGinnyfan

Showing 1 to 5 of 5
gymnastgal19
Thursday 27th March 2008 08:29


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Letters From Harry
nice story!!! Goes along good with ginnys letters
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Friday 9th November 2007 16:06


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Letters From Harry
aww w!!! I love this!!!! Im not surprised that harry lost track of time :p
git, that malfoy :p

  Quote
Disassembly of Reason
Friday 9th December 2005 06:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

Letters From Harry

meme list: letter-writing!Harry, auror!Harry, writing-professional!Ginny, established!relationship(Harry/Ginny, marriage, 5 years), separated!relationship(fortunes of war, 7 months, mutual fidelity), revealed!pregnancy(son, named for grandfathers)

Poor Harry. One of the dreams closest to his heart is to have a family of his own, and now that he's finally married and about to be a father, the Ministry (how typical) has him missing out on his wife's first pregnancy. Do they sit up nights planning this sort of thing? Madam Bones is lucky that Harry only quit in <I>The Homecoming</I>, being a very mature person now.

If Harry's work schedule in this storyline is typical of his stint at the Ministry, no wonder it took five years of marriage for he and Ginny to even have time to conceive a child.

The impression I got from the Letters stories and <I>The Homecoming</I> is that Harry and Ginny tried for quite a while to conceive before Ginny became pregnant with what turned out to be James. Was that only chance and Harry's insane work schedule, or were there physical problems? Were they expecting Ginny to have a difficult pregnancy?

I'm not getting an impression of an implied context of previous miscarriages, or they'd have been more worried in the prologue of <I>The Homecoming</I>, and Harry would've been more worried over the pregnancy itself in his first letter to Ginny. Unless any previous heartbreaks had been much earlier along in the pregnancy, perhaps, so that they felt the danger was past.

--

I'm not surprised that Harry is a rather infrequent letter-writer. He's busy, and whatever is going on with him is literally nothing to write home about, judging from his first letter's description of his living conditions.

Would it be more in character for him to downplay that a tad? The only times he's ever complained about his living conditions at the Dursleys have been when he's been well out of it, or when his friends have been able to help by sending food parcels or the like. On the other hand, after describing his working conditions the first time, Harry doesn't complain about that aspect of things at all.

--

Harry has got his priorities straight - not surprising, for someone who knows what it's like not to have a good family. It's very sweet, that he's so terribly homesick for Ginny. I feel bad for the poor devil; quite understandable, that he's feeling guilty over not being able to be there for her.

--

The letter after Harry's capture is obviously very dramatic, but it seems implausible that it would've survived after he'd been caught writing it, or that he'd have had much chance to write it in the first place. I'd think he'd have panicked at the idea of the Death Eaters finding information about his family actually on him. (Something like RAF pilots in WWII being told never to carry more than the bare minimum of personal possessions on them when flying operationally.)

--

For the letter after Harry's escape - Lord, the Ministry deserves to be strung up by their toes for not telling Ginny that Harry had been found. They were quick enough to send her into premature labour by telling her he was missing, the idiots. Well, hardly quick, considering they waited until he was presumed *dead* to tell her that much. Harry, m'boy, you are right to quit that job.

Copyediting nitpicks:
- "rouge" should be "rogue" when referring to the Death Eaters (Now the image of various characters in clown's makeup is in my head and won't get out.)

  Quote
amhta
Saturday 2nd October 2004 13:34


Letters From Harry
I really love both the Letters stories, they are so emotional. The only I have to say is the Harry probably wouldn't mention anything about what had happened to him while taken hostage (i.e. saying something about the torture sessions). Other than that, it was fantastic and I'm off to read the Homecoming!
OHGinnyfan
Saturday 2nd October 2004 13:34
Letters From Harry (Author Response)

Thank you for your review.  I appreciate the fact you've taken the time to read my story and write a review.

This was one of my very first stories I wrote, and probably, if I had it to do again, I'd change a few things.  You pointed out something that many have in the past, and I would probably switch that around a bit.

Thanks again!

Susan

  Quote
tmh
Saturday 2nd October 2004 08:19


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 23

Letters From Harry
This is an excellent companion piece to Letters from Ginny, I am looking forward to the story Homecoming.
OHGinnyfan
Saturday 2nd October 2004 08:19
Letters From Harry (Author Response)

Thank you so much for reviewing.  I hope that you do get a chance to read The Homecoming and that you enjoy it.  I think my writing has improved as I have gone along.

Susan

  Quote
Showing 1 to 5 of 5
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Wednesday 3rd December
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004