Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Heal The Pain by Aibhinn

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 18 of 18
DukeBrymin
Tuesday 12th October 2010 13:51


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 109

1: One Door Closes
Wow! Quite the beginning to a story. I'm a little afraid of reading this--obviously there's something between Harry and Ginny that we don't know yet. I'm sure we'll learn more of their happy times as the chapters progress, but we'll also learn more of their pain, and why they're not together still, and that worries me. Angst? Of course. Moments of true happiness? I'm afraid they'll all be memories rather than current happenings, until we get to the end.

So, I'll give it a try, but it might take me awhile to get through the angst .

Thanks!
  Quote
nickjgirl1
Sunday 21st December 2008 15:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

1: One Door Closes
wahh!how could you kill Hagrid ?otherwise,awesome!
  Quote
wrappedinharry
Thursday 15th May 2008 02:39


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

1: One Door Closes
Hi there,

I don't even know if you are monitoring reviews for this story, but I'm writing one anyway. I really like this start and I hope I can continue to read it. By that, I mean that now having read all seven books which, of course, you did not, I find it hard to get past the little things that are different fron canon...like Ginny's birthday (though I know making her birthday on Halloween was necessary for the plot) and the fact that Harry is already of age when he leaves school. (I suppose you had to make it that he could use magic so that he could threaten the Dursleys).

I know it's stupid because the whole story is AU, but i find that those little things annoy me. I hope there are not too many more. Oh, I know there are major things, but it annoys me when little things are cvhanged and there is really no need for them to be changed.

Sorry for the rant. Briefly, I want to read this because I love Harry/Ginny and I want to see how their relationship proresses. I love the dream sequence with Sirius. He sounded much more responsible in the dream than he usually did when he was alive.

Till the next chapter...Lesley.
  Quote
suzanne.lobley@btinternet.com
Thursday 21st December 2006 14:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

1: One Door Closes
i read the second chapter first for some reason and couldn't stop reading but ran out of time to read anymore.
although i just wanted to carry on reading to find out what happens next i just couldn't so now i want to read the book if thats at all possible?
Can anybody tell wher i can get it from Please?
Aibhinn
Thursday 21st December 2006 18:37
1: One Door Closes (Author Response)
Hi there--

This isn't published anywhere but here. Since it's Harry Potter, and all copyrighted by JKR, I can't legally make any money from it. This site is the only place where you can read it. But I'm very pleased and flattered that you're enjoying the fic so much!

Aibhinn
  Quote
suzanne.lobley@btinternet.com
Thursday 21st December 2006 14:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

1: One Door Closes
i think it's great is there any way that i can buy the full book and if so where from?
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Monday 20th November 2006 11:21


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

1: One Door Closes
Was this written before OoTP? You're quite prescient, getting the deaths of Sirius and Dumbledore before canon, though differently. Is that why this is AU?
'You were born the day that—that—' . . . 'Your mum and dad were killed,' - nice touch, too bad it isn't true in canon .
Nice scene in the kitchen; Dursleys need some payback; I hope something like this happens in canon (though probably not -- after all, Umbridge seems to have gotten off scot free ). Nice that Ron helped Harry get it under control .
I like how dream Sirius (or is that a vision?) sets Harry straight and is there to comfort him .
  Quote
Galen2112
Sunday 19th November 2006 01:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

1: One Door Closes
Wow... I haven't had so many emotions come to me from one chapter of any story. You set this up so well, you make us feel for Harry and even fear for the Dursleys. Well done, my dear!
  Quote

Thursday 3rd August 2006 13:16


1: One Door Closes
n
  Quote
DanAngelus
Sunday 2nd July 2006 03:44


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 133

1: One Door Closes
Aww, I like this first chapter, very informative and also very touching with the Sirius and Harry thing.. especially when Sirius says:

"But no parent thinks clearly when their child is threatened, not even a godparent."


Anyways.. I have to get onto the next chapter so I'll leave this review here.. I like the story so far, it makes you want to read on..
  Quote
Lady Siobhan
Thursday 16th February 2006 13:13


1: One Door Closes
I just love this story. As I understand it Harry has just graduated from Hogwarts and Voldemort is dead. However, Harry is having quite a tough time dealing with it. I hope to be able to read the rest of the story very soon.

Thank you for your wonderful way of writing.

Lady Siobhan
  Quote
Wooster
Monday 16th January 2006 10:28


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 525

1: One Door Closes
This story is shaping up to be something great. Your characters are all very real, despite being fictional. Way to go!
  Quote
ficfanang
Thursday 10th November 2005 23:40


1: One Door Closes

Wow, I'm definitely going to have to sign up on this site if there are other stories out there this good!  So, got a question for you...when is this set, canon-wise, I mean?  After GOF, Pre-OOTP?  Since Sirius was alive...but, he knew about the veil...did you just assimilate some of OOTP with this fic?  Hmm.  Whatever, I'm too analytical.  Anywho, next chapter, here I come!  Awesome beginning to the story, and very very well written!

Ang

Aibhinn
Friday 11th November 2005 05:06
1: One Door Closes (Author Response)
Hi! Thanks for such a lovely review!

This story was *written* (that is to say, begun) pre-OotP.  It's supposed to be happening post-book-seven.  Starting in about chapter 7, you'll start seeing references to OotP characters, as that's about where I was when the book came out.  I finished it a little more than a year ago (Oct 2004), so there are no references to HBP.  The 'veil' reference is one that's relatively common when talking about death ("being on the other side of the veil"), so it was a complete coincidence that I had Sirius use that term. Honestly. :)
  Quote
Sib
Tuesday 8th March 2005 19:35


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 35

1: One Door Closes
Hey there! Decided it was time to finish reading your story. :) I love the part with Harry and the Dursleys; it's seriously one of my favorite parts in fanfic. It's very well written and you really feel Harry's anger and his regret. Great job!  On to the next chapter... (needed to reread everything, heh).
  Quote
lissabee
Saturday 15th January 2005 18:00


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 62

1: One Door Closes

Wow, this is really well-written. I think the imagery is very good and clearly conveys the emotion and intensity of the situation. I may have already reviewed before, but I wasn't sure so I wanted to leave another, in case.

Sometimes when I read angst it is just so dark and depressing as if there is no light at the end of the tunnel...this conveys a seriousness and drama but lightens it up here and there.

  Quote
Andarta Wildhearth
Sunday 3rd October 2004 16:52


1: One Door Closes

I've always felt this is one of the best fanfiction ideas in a good long while, very canon-ish, which is important to me (a discovery about my preferences that quite surprised me in fact).

Things I love about this chapter :  1)your use of the flashback, one of my favorite writing techniques, both in my own reading and writing;  2)your use of the dream state to speak to the dead beyond the veil, very Celtic and spiritual, my interest in the Fae peaks my interest in dream experience/travel;  3)the interaction between Harry and Ginny in the flashback in the Gryffindor Common Room, good characterization and interaction;  4)the no-nensense way you portrayed Ron.

Favorite passage He couldn't look away. How could he have lived in the same House with her for five years and never have truly seen her? How could he have spent weeks at the Burrow and never noticed? Images he'd never seen before flashed before his eyes: Ginny in his arms, smiling up at him in a soft, special way she'd never smiled at anyone; Ginny dressed in a white gown, dancing with him; Ginny in a rocking chair, a small, black-haired infant nursing at her breast; Ginny asleep, head on his chest, wrapped in his protecting arms—  ...The imagery is incredibly lovely.

Underneath the bitch exterior...I'm just a fluff fanatic at heart.

JOK

 

  Quote

Friday 20th August 2004 11:33


1: One Door Closes
Hey, I remember this from GT.net - I can't believe I didn't know this place existed.

Lookin forward to catching up.
  Quote
Christy Myren
Sunday 13th June 2004 16:15


1: One Door Closes
OMG, I love it! Urgh, and as much as it's killing me, I love you you keep the suspension level up. I wish Harry would be given the chance to talk to Sirius in the 5th book, it would be awesome. Very powerful scene. Can't wait to keep reading!
  Quote
kensai
Saturday 5th June 2004 17:35


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 67

1: One Door Closes
This chapter is emotionally challenging. The way you had Harry deal with his anger and grief is beautiful. Thank You for a well written chapter.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 18 of 18
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004