Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For That Terrifying Momentum by Caleb Nova

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 340 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 - 17 Next
Dad
Saturday 15th July 2017 10:20


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 518

Have we got the right title?
Caleb Nova
Saturday 15th July 2017 21:33
(Author Response)
Looks like this chapter was accidentally uploaded to the end of TTM instead of Vis. I'll let Sherry know, thanks for spotting this.
  Quote
Dun8y
Monday 2nd June 2014 03:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

1: Nothing Important Happened Today
A good start, I was feeling the horrendous atmosphere of an unusual hot English summers day, rare as rocking horse poo these days! I look forward to reading the rest of this tale, and then onto your wip story! Thank you
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 3rd June 2014 04:21
1: Nothing Important Happened Today (Author Response)
And thank you for reviewing. I hope you enjoy the rest.
  Quote
The Pharaoh
Monday 24th June 2013 14:30


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 52

22: Summer Was the Reason
I decided to reread this while I waited for more Vis Insita. One of the things I really like about your writing style that I don't think I said before is that you're good at describing comedic situations. I'm a visual thinker, when I read fiction I play the scenes out in my head like I'm watching a self-powered cartoon or movie, and you make it easy for me to do that. The most significant example of this is Scott's impromptu fight with Seamus in the background of Harry's conversation with Ginny; I can see the fight happening far away in the background while the "camera" is mildly close up on Harry+Ginny, and see the latter two watching when Harry says, "He's not really trying to hurt Seamus. *fall* Well, not seriously anyway."

Specific to this chapter, the only parallels I can see are that both chapters are approaching the end of a semester (or "term", I think they call it), they're both set entirely out on the Hogwarts grounds and include the Forest to some extent, and they're both gearing up a bit for war.
Caleb Nova
Wednesday 14th August 2013 09:51
22: Summer Was the Reason (Author Response)
I decided to reread this while I waited for more Vis Insita. One of the things I really like about your writing style that I don't think I said before is that you're good at describing comedic situations. I'm a visual thinker, when I read fiction I play the scenes out in my head like I'm watching a self-powered cartoon or movie, and you make it easy for me to do that. The most significant example of this is Scott's impromptu fight with Seamus in the background of Harry's conversation with Ginny; I can see the fight happening far away in the background while the "camera" is mildly close up on Harry+Ginny, and see the latter two watching when Harry says, "He's not really trying to hurt Seamus. *fall* Well, not seriously anyway."


Yes, I tend to write with a movie in mind. I could describe the palette and camera angle for pretty much any scene in either story. I've always wished I had a talent for drawing. But I'm unable to paint with anything but words.

Specific to this chapter, the only parallels I can see are that both chapters are approaching the end of a semester (or "term", I think they call it), they're both set entirely out on the Hogwarts grounds and include the Forest to some extent, and they're both gearing up a bit for war.


Those are some parallels, though the main one is less tangible. Both chapters are defined by the season, the weather and landscape.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Wednesday 22nd May 2013 04:32


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

26: But Sleep Came Slowly
Hello there!

I'm currently reading your story for what probably is the third time and enjoying it as if it were the first time. Well done

I hope you're progressing nicely with Vis Insita?
Caleb Nova
Saturday 25th May 2013 14:37
26: But Sleep Came Slowly (Author Response)
I don't know about 'nicely' but I am progressing.
  Quote
TomRiddle
Tuesday 20th November 2012 05:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

27: This Morning's Account
Caleb,
My grandfather died earlier today. And what Scott said struck true. I don't believe in any specific afterlife, and if i did i hold no illusions that the dead spend their time observing the living.
While it may or may not be intentional. the words you typed rang true. We mourn the dead, but they do not mourn us.

Just another example of how much i love your writing and hope you never stop.

Thank you Caleb.
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 20th November 2012 13:06
27: This Morning's Account (Author Response)
A difficult review to respond to. The words in this chapter concerning the grieving process are not comforting, in the traditional sense. Scott is voicing a very Kharadjai-based point of view concerning death.

I'm glad you took whatever you needed from them.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Sunday 14th October 2012 12:01


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

Post-Script
Harry's fight against the dark and inexorable fate continues...


Yeah
Caleb Nova
Sunday 14th October 2012 21:21
Post-Script (Author Response)
Onward.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Sunday 14th October 2012 11:59


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

30: Core Competencies
Hello there,
I might have been a little harsh in my last review - let me make it up to you by saying that this chapter was fine and just made me want more of that stuff
Cheers.
Caleb Nova
Sunday 14th October 2012 21:21
30: Core Competencies (Author Response)
Well, there's a little more to be had.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Sunday 14th October 2012 11:26


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

28: All Roads Lead Home
It's a good thing you didn't let Ginny behind. It's a lot more believable than what Rowling did ("I always knew you would dump me, but that's why I love you so much..."). So, good work!

Hm, what's wrong with Scott? Does that mean he's been pulled off the case? Maybe so that your story doesn't diverge so much from canon? Now, you've lost that battle long ago, so why try? Oh well, I guess I'll see...
Caleb Nova
Sunday 14th October 2012 21:21
28: All Roads Lead Home (Author Response)
It's a good thing you didn't let Ginny behind. It's a lot more believable than what Rowling did ("I always knew you would dump me, but that's why I love you so much..."). So, good work!


I've discussed this a few times. I couldn't keep Ginny, as I had written her, in character and have the same response as in the book. It really doesn't work.

Hm, what's wrong with Scott? Does that mean he's been pulled off the case? Maybe so that your story doesn't diverge so much from canon? Now, you've lost that battle long ago, so why try? Oh well, I guess I'll see..


I believe Scott was just attempting to report in.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Saturday 13th October 2012 02:50


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

26: But Sleep Came Slowly
I didn't read your author's notes this time, the story was just to fluffy and nice I believe I reviewed the chapter when I first read it some time ago, so I'll only say: well done
Caleb Nova
Sunday 14th October 2012 21:19
26: But Sleep Came Slowly (Author Response)
I think this was one of the least fluffy chapters in the story, what with everyone being hurt mentally, physically or both. On the other hand, it did concentrate primarily on emotion.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Thursday 11th October 2012 17:13


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

22: Summer Was the Reason
Harry and Ginny are sweet
Caleb Nova
Sunday 14th October 2012 21:18
22: Summer Was the Reason (Author Response)
I'm just glad you reviewed this chapter, I don't think anyone really thought much of it.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Thursday 11th October 2012 16:47


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

21: Your New Favorite Foe
I was entertained

Although I liked the original kiss in front of the whole common room better than your more private version... but you can't have everything, at least they're kissing
Caleb Nova
Sunday 14th October 2012 21:18
21: Your New Favorite Foe (Author Response)
It was not as grandiose, to be sure.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Thursday 11th October 2012 15:53


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

20: So Helpfully Anomalous
Hello there,

I used to follow this story but stopped some time ago for no particular reason. When I went back to where I thought I had stopped, I couldn't remember what had been going on so I started again right at the beginning... Anyway, I'll resume my reviews from here.

What a brutal chapter! I don't understand why people would complain about the f-words and whatever else Scott tends to say, but these killing scenes shocked me. I suppose you wanted to make a point about the messier aspects of war and how they are usually skipped in most works of (fan)fiction, so I guess I'm okay wih this chapter... (Or maybe you didn't want to make a point at all, who knows.) But all that technical talk about guns somehow gave me the impression that you got more fun out of it than would have been strictly necessary.

And yes, yea to Sophie, although I'd prefer some action between and !
Caleb Nova
Sunday 14th October 2012 21:17
20: So Helpfully Anomalous (Author Response)
I used to follow this story but stopped some time ago for no particular reason. When I went back to where I thought I had stopped, I couldn't remember what had been going on so I started again right at the beginning... Anyway, I'll resume my reviews from here.


I do that all the time with longer stories.

What a brutal chapter! I don't understand why people would complain about the f-words and whatever else Scott tends to say, but these killing scenes shocked me. I suppose you wanted to make a point about the messier aspects of war and how they are usually skipped in most works of (fan)fiction, so I guess I'm okay wih this chapter... (Or maybe you didn't want to make a point at all, who knows.) But all that technical talk about guns somehow gave me the impression that you got more fun out of it than would have been strictly necessary.


I don't know if I was trying to make a point so much as maintain the semblance of realism. I tend to dislike the lack of combat realism in much of fiction.

And yes, yea to Sophie, although I'd prefer some action between and !


That will arrive, eventually.
  Quote
sylvelle
Wednesday 18th July 2012 14:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

25: Gazes Also Into You
Well I see you had no trouble in mak ing sure Dumbledore died on schedule. I'm sure Scott isn't dead, not entirely dead anyway, he'll be back. Like his death in the collapsing building.
Everyone else is okay it looks like. Did we manage to save bill the attack by
Greyback, Someone should kill that thing. Ah well NEXT
Caleb Nova
Sunday 14th October 2012 21:15
25: Gazes Also Into You (Author Response)
Well I see you had no trouble in making sure Dumbledore died on schedule. I'm sure Scott isn't dead, not entirely dead anyway, he'll be back. Like his death in the collapsing building.


Interesting how you took that story at face value - I think a lot of other readers figured Scott was an unreliable narrator (and who's to say he isn't).
  Quote
sylvelle
Wednesday 18th July 2012 13:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

23: 3.0 x 10^8 / 0
Well I review sometimes but since I'm 3 years after the fact not going to help you much. Perhaps I'll be more useful in th sequel.
Caleb Nova
Sunday 14th October 2012 21:14
23: 3.0 x 10^8 / 0 (Author Response)
Perhaps, although I would hesitate to term most of my reviews 'useless' in any capacity.
  Quote
sylvelle
Wednesday 18th July 2012 12:23


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

22: Summer Was the Reason
Well the obvious is Harry's feeling hat something was coming just over the horzon. The women involved seem more attuned. I know what's coming I just don't know how you will handle it. I can see the end of HBP not happening in your world. I wonder.
Caleb Nova
Sunday 14th October 2012 21:13
22: Summer Was the Reason (Author Response)
Some things change, some things can't. This story spends a lot of time (too much?) examining which is which and coming to few conclusions.
  Quote
sylvelle
Tuesday 17th July 2012 16:52


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

17: Iíve Been to a Marvellous Party
Well I'm glad I found PhoenixSong then because I love your style. A lot of the fan fiction I read is good, in that the storylines are compelling, but often I have to quit because the grammer is so bad or the spelling is so atrocious I can't read it.
I'm sure I have read a few written in another language and mechanically translated to English. There could be no other reason for the odd nomenclature I'm reading.
You on the other hand make me look up words. I keep google translate open on another tab to get the jist of the translation of your Latin and German phases. I don't know who you are or what you do for a living or even how old you are, but it has been awhile since I read something with words I did not recognize. I will say it is due to my age and lack of use of what brain cells I have left, but for whatever it is a pleasure to look it up and realize how the Enlish language can be used.
I am going to put this onj the sequel too, I want too make sure you know how much I like your work.
Caleb Nova
Sunday 14th October 2012 21:10
17: Iíve Been to a Marvellous Party (Author Response)
Well I'm glad I found PhoenixSong then because I love your style. A lot of the fan fiction I read is good, in that the storylines are compelling, but often I have to quit because the grammer is so bad or the spelling is so atrocious I can't read it.


Yes, it's true that finding any decent fanfiction requires a great deal of sifting. I tend to go for the shotgun approach and just open every story that catches my eye in a browser tab. I'll quit on 90% of them before the third chapter, but that 10% makes it all worthwhile.

You on the other hand make me look up words. I keep google translate open on another tab to get the jist of the translation of your Latin and German phases.


Most of those are badly translated anyway. I'm fluent in neither, so I hope anyone who is can forgive the sketchy grammar.

I don't know who you are


Me neither.

or what you do for a living


Uh, right now I'm delivering pizzas.

or even how old you are


Twenty-six, last time I checked.

but it has been awhile since I read something with words I did not recognize


Always a pleasure to expand a vocabulary.

I will say it is due to my age and lack of use of what brain cells I have left, but for whatever it is a pleasure to look it up and realize how the Enlish language can be used. I am going to put this onj the sequel too, I want too make sure you know how much I like your work.


I appreciate that, and I hope you continue to enjoy it.
  Quote
cam
Monday 9th January 2012 05:33


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

11. Winterlude
Although, I'm surprised to find you can enjoy the story at all. Not enjoying the Kharadjai aspect would seem to me to be the end of most people's involvement.



I enjoyed the story very much. I understood what the Kharadjai are as you've done a good job presenting that to the reader and do like the concept. I just was unable to personally become interested in Scott as a 'human' with a backstory, potential love life issues, etc. and instead focused on his role in helping Harry as a powerful (and highly entertaining) entity. I don't see him as human, however, and do not relate to him as such.

Will Scott be performing anymore DE exterminations in your next story? Those were great.
Caleb Nova
Friday 27th January 2012 03:46
11. Winterlude (Author Response)
I'd consider your inability to relate to Scott as a failure on my part. He is intended to be human, in all the most important ways. I'd understand more if you just didn't like him as a person. He sometimes has a difficult personality.

The next story presents a shift between the status quo at Hogwarts and the war against Voldemort. 'Exterminations' may have their place, or maybe not. It remains to be seen.
  Quote
cam
Friday 6th January 2012 08:20


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

Post-Script
I really enjoyed this story, thank you for writing it. I enjoyed the humor and the action and the storyline as it meshed with canon.

Looking forward to Vis Insita and following that one as you work towards its completion.
Caleb Nova
Saturday 7th January 2012 23:36
Post-Script (Author Response)
Very slowly work towards it, yes. But I am working.
  Quote
cam
Friday 6th January 2012 02:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

24: Of the Essence
Great chapter. Is is wrong of me to hope that Scott takes out everyone on the tower, including Snape and Malfoy?
Caleb Nova
Saturday 7th January 2012 23:36
24: Of the Essence (Author Response)
I don't think it's wrong, no.
  Quote
cam
Wednesday 4th January 2012 08:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

16: The Most Final Equality
ďObviously you donít have anything better to do either.Ē

"Not until Ginny finishes her homework."



So I gather that this extra was written after Harry and Ginny get together then? Not a chance Harry would have said that at this point considering any talk of Ginny and he clams right up.
Caleb Nova
Saturday 7th January 2012 23:36
16: The Most Final Equality (Author Response)
Where, exactly, that extra scene fits into the story is debatable. I don't think it does anywhere, really. If it was included everywhere, it would probably be sometime around 'Summer Was the Reason'.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 340 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 - 17 Next
Latest Stories
Sunday 16th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Saturday 14th January
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 9th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Rufus Scrimgeourís Annual Christmas Party
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
Saturday 5th December
Author: parakletos
Story: A Spanner in the Works
Friday 20th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Worth a Thousand Words?
Monday 19th October
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Wednesday 7th October
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Code ©Jeconais, 2004