Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Vis Insita by Caleb Nova

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 211 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 Next
kopfsalat2000
Monday 11th December 2017 12:20


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 151

42: Pounds Per Square Inch
I’m glad about Scott’s vehement opinion on dropping out of school. Someone needed to tell Harry!
Some good discussions in this chapter considering it also had some interesting Horcrux extraction action going on.
I also liked the mostly silent interaction between Ginny and Hermione. “Scottie” the dog... nice name ;-) But what a sad story... I guess he did his master a last service when he went on his last journey... *sniff* (I’m somehow imagining he got destroyed in the process?)
Good chapter, thanks!
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Monday 11th December 2017 10:48


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 151

41: Age of Anxiety
About your author’s note: that’s how it works, eh? Point 4, here we go ;-)
I think it would be cool if Harry took up Remus and Tonks on that offer (“Whenever you need us...”). Unfortunately, it will be difficult to do as they don’t know about adult Scott. But I wouldn’t mind some more involvement of the order. That, and lots of action between H&G ;-) Most importantly however, I’m happy for every update, this is one of only two HP fanfics I’m following at the moment. So thanks!
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Tuesday 5th December 2017 11:34


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 151

40: Blow Out
Okay, so I listened a bit to that Oasis album to find out what kind of music Hermione liked. But I suppose I’m just not a female British teenager So what music would Scott have played?
Harry’s reaction to alcohol makes a lot of sense, I think.
Caleb Nova
Monday 11th December 2017 04:16
40: Blow Out (Author Response)
Okay, so I listened a bit to that Oasis album to find out what kind of music Hermione liked. But I suppose I’m just not a female British teenager


Ha ha, not a Brit Pop fan, huh? Yeah, me neither. But I figured Hermione would be into Oasis. Most people were in 1997.

So what music would Scott have played?


Pretty much exactly what Sophie said.

Harry’s reaction to alcohol makes a lot of sense, I think.


It's my interpretation of his character. I'm glad you thought it was fitting.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Tuesday 5th December 2017 06:14


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 151

39: Wind Down
After all the action of the last chapters, this one was calm and with some humour in between. Good pacing.
Oh, and Scott, the God of Pancakes!
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 5th December 2017 06:46
39: Wind Down (Author Response)
I wanted to have a little down time before kicking into things full speed ahead.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Tuesday 5th December 2017 06:13


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 151

38: Wealth of Nations Part III
Close call for Scott!
I like that they seem to have a capable opponent now who understands Muggle tactics and training. It would have been too easy otherwise!
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 5th December 2017 06:45
38: Wealth of Nations Part III (Author Response)
Yes, Scott's Muggle-trained enemy. We'll see more of them later.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Tuesday 5th December 2017 06:12


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 151

37: Wealth of Nations Part II
Another great chapter, thanks a lot. The operation was well planned. Good idea to not tell us what the plan was going to be until it actually happened. Several chapters full of action, really entertaining
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 5th December 2017 06:44
37: Wealth of Nations Part II (Author Response)
Scott sketched out the plan, but I did leave a lot of the details out. It was easier to read that way, and I kept some surprises that way too.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Tuesday 5th December 2017 06:10


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 151

36: Wealth of Nations Part I
I read the last chapters when they were published but didn’t leave a review. So when I saw that there were two new chapters, I decided to start again with the last chapter I’d left a review for and work my way forward. So here we go...
I really liked this bank robbery operation. It has lots of suspense and is just so different than Rowling’s version. Switching POV’s is also great. I remember how it works out, but it’s still a good read the second time.
About Sophie: I like having another female character around, and she’s a good addition to the team.
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 5th December 2017 06:44
36: Wealth of Nations Part I (Author Response)
There was a lot to juggle for the bank robbery, so it was a writing challenge. Nothing compared to what I'm trying to write now, though! Such is the nature of the climax.
  Quote
Dad
Sunday 3rd December 2017 01:07


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 519

44: Psi Omega Warden
I had not checked this site for a while, so it blew my mind to find TWO new chapters. I held my breath all the way through the last one. Brilliant.
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 5th December 2017 06:43
44: Psi Omega Warden (Author Response)
These were actually posted awhile ago. I haven't made much progress recently, due to a combination of writer's block and real life getting in the way. I'm still trying, though, so we'll see.
  Quote
Capt_Everything
Tuesday 14th November 2017 12:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

42: Pounds Per Square Inch
So, no more chapters?
Caleb Nova
Sunday 19th November 2017 18:34
42: Pounds Per Square Inch (Author Response)
There's actually two more chapters after this one already up and posted on Fanfiction.net. I think Sherry said PS has been having some server problems, so I'll have to check with her because I'm pretty sure I did send those in.
  Quote
Dad
Sunday 26th March 2017 13:49


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 519

41: Age of Anxiety
Re Author's (short) note.
3. Sounds interesting.
4. Read this on SIYE. When you try to review you just get an error page. So count this as a double review.
Caleb Nova
Monday 10th April 2017 19:40
41: Age of Anxiety (Author Response)
Yeah, I guess they were having problems with their server, though everything seems fine now. Thanks for going out of your way to check in, it's always great to see a regular reviewer.
  Quote
lazzyman5540
Monday 12th December 2016 04:44


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 12

40: Blow Out
Thanks for the progress update glad you're back in the swing of it. Keep em coming at whatever pace you want and I'll keep reading.
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 31st January 2017 13:31
40: Blow Out (Author Response)
Hey, thanks for reviewing! I'm working on it, so hopefully I'll get the next chapter out soon.
  Quote
Dad
Saturday 30th April 2016 04:01


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 519

38: Wealth of Nations Part III
Out of breath reading that. An intelligent death eater sounds like an interesting opponent.
Caleb Nova
Monday 18th July 2016 05:33
38: Wealth of Nations Part III (Author Response)
How intelligent he is remains to be seen, but he's at least self-aware, which is more than we can say for pretty much any other Death Eater we know.
  Quote
potternut190
Friday 29th April 2016 22:35


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 44

38: Wealth of Nations Part III
Damn! Great written action and thanks for the video suggestions.
Caleb Nova
Monday 18th July 2016 05:33
38: Wealth of Nations Part III (Author Response)
Thanks, and no problem. Sometimes it's nice to have some sounds to put with the words.
  Quote
joncooper
Sunday 24th April 2016 14:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

37: Wealth of Nations Part II
Indeed, I love the chance to immerse myself in the universe around a story, not just rattle through a plot. Keep up the good work!
Caleb Nova
Monday 25th April 2016 11:49
37: Wealth of Nations Part II (Author Response)
I think it can be a fine balance between the two, though my own writing style definitely leans more towards character than plot. Not that I don't think plot is important, but I do think it's generally less compelling than world building.

Thanks for reviewing, and I hope to see you again next time.
  Quote
wluer96
Tuesday 22nd March 2016 21:47


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

37: Wealth of Nations Part II
That's exactly why I read fanfiction. To see what other people saw in my favourite characters, whether it's a facet that I saw too, or something new entirely. And to see those characters in new situations. I love that fanfiction isn't plot-driven. It's freer to explore the journey, than simply rushing to the destination. Which is one of the reasons I love your work. It's a fascinating journey that I almost wish never ended!
Caleb Nova
Saturday 26th March 2016 00:36
37: Wealth of Nations Part II (Author Response)
Yeah, the free-form nature of fanfiction can sometimes be its best facet. It can also be its worst, depending, allowing authors to stretch a small idea into several hundred thousand words of angst-porn. So it all depends.
  Quote
lazzyman5540
Tuesday 22nd March 2016 05:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 12

37: Wealth of Nations Part II
Still loving the story, great update.
Caleb Nova
Saturday 26th March 2016 00:34
37: Wealth of Nations Part II (Author Response)
Thank you, hope you enjoy the next one, as well.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Thursday 25th February 2016 17:35


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 151

35: Birds in Winter
Wow... we got some really deep discussions here. First the prophecy, and later all that educational talk. I'm glad that Harry asked, though.
Thanks for the present to your fans! Ginny is great. I do hope though that we'll also see some progress on the emotional side of their relationship. But for the moment, it's not wrong to explore the more physical sides - I'm not complaining
By the way, I think you shouldn't bend too much to the wishes of (some of) your fans. We wouldn't be here if we didn't like your story, so I think you should just continue with your story the way you want it to go, and not try to cater to everyone. It's been great so far! Of course, the occasional (Christmas) present is very much appreciated.
Thanks for the update!
Caleb Nova
Wednesday 9th March 2016 10:59
35: Birds in Winter (Author Response)
The Harry/Ginny stuff wasn't so much me catering to anyone as it was a natural step in their relationship. Real fanservice would have been much more explicit, or at least that's usually the case.
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Thursday 25th February 2016 16:58


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 151

34: The Crowded Hour
I haven’t been on this site for a while, so I'm just catching up with your story. Thanks for the updates!

I hope they'll discover a cure for the HarryHorcrux, it seems promising. It would be cool if this was something that couldn't have been done by the (seemingly) all-powerful Kharadjai.
I'm not so sure what the DeLucca episode was all about - will we find out what Scott was doing during that time? I think I remember you said it was some irritating bureaucracy thing, but I expected "something bad" to happen during Scott's absence and was surprised when he just came back and there was no follow-up.

Anyway, it's a great story and I love it
Caleb Nova
Wednesday 9th March 2016 10:58
34: The Crowded Hour (Author Response)
I hope they'll discover a cure for the HarryHorcrux, it seems promising. It would be cool if this was something that couldn't have been done by the (seemingly) all-powerful Kharadjai.


Scott and Lila are unlikely to be of any use in the matter, given their lack of magical experience (and ability, in Scott's case). Sophie might be able to help, but only if Hermione gives her something to do. The question of Harry's Horcrux rests on Hermione, really.

I'm not so sure what the DeLucca episode was all about - will we find out what Scott was doing during that time? I think I remember you said it was some irritating bureaucracy thing, but I expected "something bad" to happen during Scott's absence and was surprised when he just came back and there was no follow-up.


We did see what Scott was doing during his and Lila's absence. The latter portion of the chapter 'This Conversation is Ending Right Now' took place in the Solus universe and followed Scott and Lila as they dealt with army bureaucracy.
  Quote
Hank
Saturday 21st November 2015 06:43


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

34: The Crowded Hour
Definitely another cool chapter. I like how Remus is taking the not being a werewolf thing. He doesn't know how to just let go. It's become too much a part of him. That's a realistic reaction in my opinion.

On the author's note - don't let the muggles get to you. Write to please yourself and nobody else. That's how I approach it. If people don't like it, they don't need to read it. Case closed and let's get the next chapter up and running. Cheers!
Caleb Nova
Sunday 13th December 2015 12:16
34: The Crowded Hour (Author Response)
Definitely another cool chapter. I like how Remus is taking the not being a werewolf thing. He doesn't know how to just let go. It's become too much a part of him. That's a realistic reaction in my opinion.


It's especially difficult for him when he has no real understanding of how it happened.

On the author's note - don't let the muggles get to you. Write to please yourself and nobody else. That's how I approach it. If people don't like it, they don't need to read it. Case closed and let's get the next chapter up and running. Cheers!


Yes, I just like to be able to respond to criticism as I see fit, personally. I find it hard to just be the 'bigger man', so to speak, since I like discussing this story so much that even defending it is something I find enjoyable. But whatever, you're right. We move forward with this.
  Quote
potternut190
Saturday 21st November 2015 02:07


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 44

34: The Crowded Hour
Another great chapter and an awesome author's note :-D
Caleb Nova
Sunday 13th December 2015 12:14
34: The Crowded Hour (Author Response)
Thank you, hope to see you next time as well.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 211 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 Next
Latest Stories
Monday 27th November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Saturday 14th January
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 9th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Rufus Scrimgeour’s Annual Christmas Party
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
Saturday 5th December
Author: parakletos
Story: A Spanner in the Works
Friday 20th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Worth a Thousand Words?
Monday 19th October
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Wednesday 7th October
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Code ©Jeconais, 2004