Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For These Cuts I Have by Melindaleo

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 7 of 7
Hank
Tuesday 29th December 2015 09:34


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

28: Fugitives
Melinda - you wrote:

LOL, thanks! Yes, I think it would be a great plot point moving forward throughout their last year. Is that a story you'd want to read?

YES! That is a story I want to read! Just imagine - you've been of invaluable assistance to Harry Potter in his battle to defeat the Dark Lord and now you're merely another student at Hogwarts. And somebody else is Head Girl. You've been on your own for a year, answering to nobody but Harry and Ron and now you have to answer to the school's hierarchy. That could make for some difficult and entertaining writing. I would love to see that. Someone was writing a story dealing with these difficulties. I forget the author, but the story name was "Shut and Be a Bud Again". It was either here at PhoenixSong or at SIYE. If you've never seen it, you should give it a look. Your idea of Hermione not being Head Girl is still an original idea, though. I think you should run with it!!!

Cheers!
  Quote
Jacynthe
Monday 28th December 2015 04:33


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 149

28: Fugitives
I just recently found this and wanted to get caught up before leaving a review. I'm glad I did, because the story is growing stronger as you go, and more and more of your original elements are brought in. I think you get post-war Harry just right -- traumatized but not dysfunctional -- and your Ginny is a delight. I agree with you about the Head Girl business, and hope, if Ginny's prediction turns out to be right, that we will get to see Astoria in action; I'm curious as to what you will make of her. Actually my only quibble is an incredibly minor one, and it's down to personal taste: I'm as irrationally fond of Susan Bones as you are irrationally annoyed with her. But mostly, I'm delighted to see that you are carrying on with a major story after all this time. Go you! I look forward to (many) future chapters.
  Quote
Jacynthe
Monday 28th December 2015 03:40


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 149

28: Fugitives
I just recently found this and wanted to get caught up before leaving a review. I'm glad I did, because the story is growing stronger as you go, and more and more of your original elements are brought in. I think you get post-war Harry just right -- traumatized but not dysfunctional -- and your Ginny is a delight. I agree with you about the Head Girl business, and hope, if Ginny's prediction turns out to be right, that we will get to see Astoria in action; I'm curious as to what you will make of her. Actually my only quibble is an incredibly minor one, and it's down to personal taste: I'm as irrationally fond of Susan Bones as you are irrationally annoyed with her. But mostly, I'm delighted to see that you are carrying on with a major story after all this time. Go you! I look forward to (many) future chapters.
Melindaleo
Monday 28th December 2015 04:29
28: Fugitives (Author Response)
I recognize your name! It's nice to see you back! Unfortunately, this story was only meant as a summer story, so it's just about over. I'm considering continuing through Ginny and Hermione's final year - you'll see an opinion poll in the next chapter.

LOL on Susan Bones. I can't help you there. I despise the girl, lol. It's taking all my restraint not to kill her off! Thanks for taking the time to respond. Updates are usually on Wednesdays.
  Quote
Arnel
Wednesday 23rd December 2015 06:33


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 649

28: Fugitives
Yeah for George getting out to help Percy find a new flat. He's really making progress at re-engaging in the real world and helping his family where he can. I love that he's bonded so well with Harry and shows genuine concern for the fact that he and his brothers didn't understand the level of abuse the Dursleys put Harry through. It's good, too, that he has told Ron he wants to help Harry.

So Ron is the one with the bad day in this chapter. I'm glad he's defending his right to go on the raid with Harry and the Aurors to Hermione. While some of the things she says are aggravating, he is definitely learning to tamp down on that temper of his so that he makes better decisions instead of hot-headed, split-second choices.

It made me smile when Harry compared the Aurors' planning methods to Hermione's, but on a more thorough level. I'm glad going on the raid is making him feel purposeful. His illness has been dragging him down and to have at least a little while to feel like himself, even if he's in danger, is probably a good morale booster. Unfortunately, I think he'll pay for all the magic he's been exerting during the raid, but I think he knew the consequences and the need to secret his illness from others at the Ministry is more important until someone finds the antidote to the poison he inhaled.

Well done and Merry Christmas.
Melindaleo
Monday 28th December 2015 04:26
28: Fugitives (Author Response)
Thanks for noticing the George and Percy interaction, Arnel! That was written with you in mind! Harry and George have bonded a lot during the course of this story, and I think the thought of another loss would terrify poor George.
  Quote
MightyFlye
Tuesday 22nd December 2015 10:46


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

28: Fugitives
The cliffhanger was to be expected. You left it at a good spot.

The best part about this story, is how you are treating the characters, like they are real people, in real situations (aside from the whole magic thing ). Your reasoning for Hermione not being Head Girl makes perfect sense. She'll get over it.

I thought you had been steering Ron into being a bit more of a prat than he deserved, and I'm glad that you showed his growth in this chapter. I'm amused at your dislike with Susan Bones.

Your allowing Malfoy some redemption, is a good thing for the story. 'Some' being the operative word. He's still a coward, and while he did a brave thing, he showed his cowardice, at the end. Nice.
Melindaleo
Monday 28th December 2015 04:24
28: Fugitives (Author Response)
Thanks! I'm a HUGE Ron fan, and I like stories that show his maturity, but it can't just be an overnight thing. Growth is a slow - and sometimes painful - process. I think he's made leaps and bounds. Glad my annoyance with Susan Bones amuses you. I know it's irrational, but it's taking all my restraint not to kill her off!
  Quote
sherriola
Tuesday 22nd December 2015 10:07


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

28: Fugitives
Oh Melinda, this was great. And I agree with you about Hermione and the head girl thing. One of the girls who was there during that horrible year deserves to have it. As for this chapter, I love that Hermione and Ginny figured out the potion, and I loved the action, loved Ron and George, and Mr. Weasley and all the rest. Great chapter. Merry Christmas.
Melindaleo
Monday 28th December 2015 04:22
28: Fugitives (Author Response)
Thanks very much! I hope you had a wonderful Christmas, as well!
  Quote
Hank
Tuesday 22nd December 2015 09:12


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

28: Fugitives
Excellent chapter! I'm on the edge of my seat! And now you leave me with a cliffie!!!! You're EVIL! Just kidding! Thanks for the update and have a very, Merry Christmas and the happiest of New Years!

(I think you're right about Hermione not getting the Head Girl position. Personally, I've never thought about it that way, but it does make sense and it also is a plot twist that has never been explored before. Kudos! Have fun with it. It should annoy Hermione to no end for a while. )
Melindaleo
Monday 28th December 2015 04:21
28: Fugitives (Author Response)
LOL, thanks! Yes, I think it would be a great plot point moving forward throughout their last year. Is that a story you'd want to read?
  Quote
Showing 1 to 7 of 7
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 16th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Saturday 14th January
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 9th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Rufus Scrimgeour’s Annual Christmas Party
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
Saturday 5th December
Author: parakletos
Story: A Spanner in the Works
Friday 20th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Worth a Thousand Words?
Monday 19th October
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Wednesday 7th October
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Code ©Jeconais, 2004