Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For These Cuts I Have by Melindaleo

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 11 of 11
Hank
Tuesday 5th January 2016 20:32


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

29: Hope
Another cool chapter! The interrogation scene was well-done. My favorite scene was the one between Molly, Arthur and Harry at the end. It was so sweet! How could Harry think that he could escape Arthur's understanding after the man has raised six boys! It was too cute! It reminds me of myself and my son. They just don't get it that we were once their age and that we tried to get away with all of the same things that they are trying to do. Even when you explain it to them, they still don't get it!
  Quote
DonSilk
Sunday 3rd January 2016 23:04


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

29: Hope
Happy new year to you, full of great new chapters! Thanks for keeping them busy "in between"!
  Quote
Felix Felicis
Thursday 31st December 2015 19:17


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 214

29: Hope
I especially enjoyed the clarity of character traits in this chapter. I don't know if you did it on purpose but you really emphasized certain parts of each person's character. I thought it was fun because we get to see the juxtaposition of one trait against another in each scene.

For example, during the interrogation we compare the easy-going Savage against the tense Robards as agents of the Ministry, while Harry pairs off against Lestrange, who is clearly waffling between trying to appear at ease and absolute fear that he's finally be caught for good. As for Harry, at first I thought him as purposefully acting out of character, to make a point to Lestrange, but when I really thought about it I think he's just gained that much confidence and is honestly tired of the same old Death Eater rhetoric. It was fun watching the scene as you continuously emphasized these traits in each person, and it made for very interesting reading!

You held to the character attributes through the chapter, showing Harry's continuing growth in his understanding of love, and Ginny's temper coupled with extreme defense of her family and her true love Harry. In Harry's continued growth I really found the new understanding of Mrs. Weasley's role believable and right. That he finally grasped what Ginny was saying about being "Mothered" says a lot about him. You know, I've quite enjoyed everyone, especially Ginny, continuing to say to Harry, "And don't just say FINE!"

In fairness of giving a complete review, I have to admit that as much as I love your portrayal of Mr. Weasley, I find him a little bit two-dimensional at times. He's always insightful, he always understands what Harry is thinking, and he always knows what to do. Maybe it's his age and this is real or maybe we just haven't had a lot of time with him in the main plot but I'd love to see more sides of him in the future.

I'm very eager to see where Ginny goes in the future so please, please write her seventh year!!! Plus, it would give me another chance to enjoy your writing. I miss writing so much and it's so satisfying for me when I read great writing like yours. Is that selfish? I hope not but I stand by it anyway!
Melindaleo
Saturday 2nd January 2016 07:08
29: Hope (Author Response)
Thanks very much! I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter, and I'll have to consider how I can expand on Mr. Weasley if this sequel ever comes to pass. You'll see him again in the final chapter, but his insight there continues!

I do like to think Harry's come a long way from the start of this story, but he's not there yet. Still, Molly deserves the chance to smother him the way I know she's always wanted to do. I certainly want that for her!
  Quote
Jacynthe
Wednesday 30th December 2015 08:51


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 149

29: Hope
Don't be silly. Of course we want more. Yes also to daily life and growing up. For those of us who keep coming back here, I suspect it really is all about the characters and different authors' take on them. Each is a little different and yours is delightful. So many things to like ... that H and G doubt many things but never each other, that the Weasley brothers help each other get through their grief, that you make Molly to be a basically likable person (surprising how often she isn't ...). I could go on.

If you're taking requests for a sequel, I say it would be fun to have a school year story set mostly at Hogwarts, which means mostly centered on Ginny and Hermione, rather than the boys. How will they get on without their respective partners? Will there be tension between the students who stayed to fight in the Last Battle and those who didn't? And what about Astoria? If more plot is required, perhaps some bit of wickedness left behind from Tom Riddle's School Days? And Quidditch, of course, gott'a have plenty of that. So there it is. On you go. I promise to pay attention this time and review each and every chapter. Offers like that you don't get every day.

Cheers and happy New Year,

J

p.s. Thanks, Ryan, whoever you are.
p.p.s. Alas poor Susan ...
Melindaleo
Wednesday 30th December 2015 18:02
29: Hope (Author Response)
Thank you! I agree, I'm shocked by how often Molly is portrayed as unlikeable. I never got that from the canon. I'm going to attempt my "growing up" fic, but it won't appear for some time. First off, I have to see if it flows, and then I like to have a good head start before I post. I had about 15 chapters of this one done before I started posting, and you all still caught up with me!
  Quote
PPL
Wednesday 30th December 2015 02:02


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 12

29: Hope
Thanks Melindaleo
Thanks Ryan

Have great 2016 and hope to read more from you, like the proposed continuation of this story into Ginny's and Hermione's last year.

Melindaleo
Wednesday 30th December 2015 17:59
29: Hope (Author Response)
Happy New Year to you, as well! We'll see how much luck I have once I get started.
  Quote
Ginbot
Tuesday 29th December 2015 22:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

29: Hope
Thanks for a great chapter again! I like it that Harry surprises Ginny- and most likely himself- by how far he has come accepting to love and being loved.

Also, give my thanks to Ryan. If he is partly responsible for bringing this story to us, he should know how much I appreciate it :-)

And lastly: YES, PLEASE, keep writing Ginny's 7th year and how it compares to the others after the year with the Carrows. And how she and Harry along with Hermione and Ron make their relationship work and grow although they are separated for the most part, and how Harry advances within the Auror Department, how Ron ends up full time in George's shop, how Ginny lands her gig with the Harpies, how Hermione finds her path into a ministry career, and so on and so forth.
In case it has to be spelled out: I love your writings! :-)
Melindaleo
Wednesday 30th December 2015 17:58
29: Hope (Author Response)
Thanks very much! I'm glad the story resonated with you. I think you're right - Harry surprised even himself with how far he's come!
  Quote
cutgril
Tuesday 29th December 2015 19:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

29: Hope
I loved this chapter. I am glad to see Harry opening up to Ginny and sharing his feelings with her. I'm also really glad that he is finally not suffering any more! I would love it if you continued on with Ginny's seventh year. In fact, it would be great for you to fill in those 19 years between the end of the battle to the epilogue!
Melindaleo
Wednesday 30th December 2015 17:57
29: Hope (Author Response)
Thanks! I think I'm going to attempt Ginny's 7th year, but that's about it. I prefer writing them as teens than adults, lol. I just think there is more story to tell.
  Quote
wluer96
Tuesday 29th December 2015 18:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

29: Hope
That warmed my heart on this cold day. So nice to see Harry finally accept that he does have a family. And a Ginny 7th year story would be very welcome!
Melindaleo
Wednesday 30th December 2015 17:54
29: Hope (Author Response)
Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I always wanted a "happily ever after" for Harry, which is why this Cursed Child play is worrying me so!
  Quote
sherriola
Tuesday 29th December 2015 15:59


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

29: Hope
I was teary through much of this chapter. Particularly this last scene with the Weasley parents. I love seeing the romance, but i love even more seeing the family, because it's all I ever wanted for Harry. if that makes sense. Owen savage made me laugh. so proud of the girls for finding the answer so Harry could survive. And yes, I'd love more, Ginny's seventh year, the day to day stuff of life, watching Harry learn to live free. I hope you will continue.
Melindaleo
Wednesday 30th December 2015 17:53
29: Hope (Author Response)
Thanks, Sherry! I'm going to try it. I know it can be done and still interesting, just not sure how much luck I'll have with it! You'll hear on the list!
  Quote
Arnel
Tuesday 29th December 2015 11:07


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 649

29: Hope
Melinda, I was hoping you'd come to the conclusion that this story needs to continue on until the end of Ginny's 7th year. This is because Harry, Hermione and the Weasleys still have a lot of "firsts" to get through; the first Christmas, the first April Fool's Day, the first anniversary of the battle, to name a few. Harry and Ron still need to adjust to being separated from their girlfriends and Ginny needs to be scouted by various Quidditch teams and then tell her parents she doesn't want to get a job at the Ministry. In essence, now that everyone is of age, they really need to learn how to be the adults they are considered to be... and you're the one to write about them!

That said, I absolutely loved this chapter. I could hear the pride in the adults' voices when it was announced that Ginny and Hermione had found the antidote to Lestrange's potion as well as the censure in Robards' when he called Ginny a liquored-up Banshee! It's taken a long time, but I'm glad Harry finally admitted to Ginny that he loves her and acknowledges that warm, fuzzy feeling one gets when those words are echoed back in kind.

The last scene was just perfect. Harry's longing to hear more about his mother went straight to my fluffy spot as did his acceptance of Molly's fussing. I also loved that Arthur knew Harry was awake and listening to their conversation and was willing to tease Harry about it. You know you're a special part of someone's family when they feel comfortable enough to tease you about something and you accept the teasing with grace. This is the sort of thing Harry needs and I know there will be plenty more opportunities for Molly to fuss in the coming months.

All in all, well done. You get for sending me a very satisfying bedtime chapter.
Melindaleo
Wednesday 30th December 2015 17:53
29: Hope (Author Response)
Thanks, Arnel! I was very pleased with how this chapter turned out myself! I'm glad it soothed your bedtime reading. I agree, there is more story to tell - I'm just not sure how interesting I can make the day-to-day getting back to life. We'll see. I'm going to begin, but I won't post anything until I have a good handle on it. I'm delighted by the response to this story, and your reviews have been particularly nice to read!
  Quote
femke
Tuesday 29th December 2015 09:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

29: Hope
definitely worth reading! Loved this chapter, love this story! Always look forward to your updates 😃
Melindaleo
Wednesday 30th December 2015 17:46
29: Hope (Author Response)
Thanks very much! I think I'm going to give it a shot, but it will be a while before you see anything as I like to have a good chunk done before I post.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 11 of 11
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 16th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Saturday 14th January
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 9th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Rufus Scrimgeour’s Annual Christmas Party
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
Saturday 5th December
Author: parakletos
Story: A Spanner in the Works
Friday 20th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Worth a Thousand Words?
Monday 19th October
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Wednesday 7th October
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Code ©Jeconais, 2004