Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For These Cuts I Have by Melindaleo

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 13 of 13
angelmorph
Sunday 24th July 2016 00:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 36

31: Beginning Again
I would like to start by apologizing for not reviewing every chapter, but I did much of my reading offline. That said, I enjoyed this story from start to finish and consider it one of the best after the war stories that I have read. I particularly appreciated your portrayal of the emotional status of Harry, Hermione, and the Weasleys in the early days following the battle.

I rarely read stories that haven't been recommended by someone I know, but the opening paragraphs of this story really drew me in. Through your writing, I could clearly imagine a bone-weary Harry desperate to collapse but turned away by the Fat Lady... But it didn't end there, I feel you did an excellent job of portraying the complex interactions between the survivors: Mrs Tonks' wariness that Harry wanted to take away her grandson, Percy not knowing how to fit in to the family dynamic, everyone secretly and guiltily wishing he were dead instead of Fred, George's drinking, George getting Harry drunk and Mr Weasley's talk after the fact, Harry's use of silencing charms and aversion to asking for dreamless sleep... I also particularly appreciated that you found the right balance of details to include about the aftermath. So many writers fall in to the trap of going into the minute details of every funeral. I'm glad you didn't!

Moving on, I also appreciated your take on the Grangers. Hermione's attempts to explain and their inability to understand were heart wrenching but thoroughly believable. I particularly enjoyed Ron's take on the matter, and the comedic relief it brought, though Hermione confronting him about Lavender was a tense moments, in itself.

I also enjoyed the brief interlude of regained childhood that Harry experienced, and the way that he interacted with the others and reacted like the abused child that he was. I also particularly appreciated how it tied in to the story, firstly as a resolution to a nastily well done cliffhanger, but also as an opportunity for caracter growth and relationship development, and lastly as a prelude to a much worse problem...

Speaking of that much worse problem, though I didn't catch on to the connection, I'm sure that I'm not the only one to have spent several chapters groaning to myself at Harry's stupidity. Glad he got through okay... You certainly did a good job of drawing things out till the very last minute with that one, though I cottoned on to the doxies at about the same time as Hermione...

Well there's a lot more that I could say that I loved about your story, but I think I'll just leave it at that... Good job!!

PS: I made myself an ePub of your fic to facilitate offline reading; I can provide you with a copy, if you'd like. Just let me know.
Melindaleo
Saturday 30th July 2016 03:07
31: Beginning Again (Author Response)
Thanks very much for your lovely review. I'm really glad you enjoyed it. I had a blast writing it. The deageing concept was something I really wanted to explore, and I was quite pleased with how it turned out. Harry deserves at least a few happy memories.

I love exploring the PTSD side of things. It fascinates me, and lets face it, these characters have certainly been through a lot. Thanks!
  Quote
cutgril
Tuesday 19th April 2016 06:24


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

31: Beginning Again
Hi Melinda! I was thinking about you today and wondering how your new story is coming along? Do you have any idea when you will start posting it? I am so looking forward to reading it! Have a nice evening.
  Quote
DreamGlow186
Thursday 4th February 2016 09:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

31: Beginning Again
I am so impressed with all your stories and this one definitely did not disappoint!! You give such great depth to the characters and their journeys. I can't wait for more stories from you, especially about one of my favorite literary couples
  Quote
Jacynthe
Wednesday 20th January 2016 19:38


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 149

31: Beginning Again
Hooray for happy endings! Looking forward to more.

Cheers,

j
Melindaleo
Friday 22nd January 2016 05:45
31: Beginning Again (Author Response)
Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
Hank
Tuesday 19th January 2016 21:22


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

31: Beginning Again
I loved Ron at the beginning of the chapter - that was extremely well-written! So, did the Canons win the match or do I even need to ask?

Mr. Weasley's commentary was also spot-on. While you can't fault Harry's actions, he will need to change his attitude to many things if he wants to move forward. He may also even need to learn how to manage the press (EEK!). A possible idea for a future story.

I enjoyed the ball scene as well. It was well played out and provided lots of laughs. The ending worked perfectly, too. I really liked how it played out as well with Harry chasing the train instead of little Ginny. It formed a perfect bookend with the canon. Very touching, with just the right amount of sweetness and reality (Romilda).

I do hope that you will continue to write. As it was years ago, anything is possible again and I hope that the fanfiction world will rise to the challenge, especially you. Your stories are most enjoyable and I am looking forward to more!
Melindaleo
Friday 22nd January 2016 05:45
31: Beginning Again (Author Response)
If you're seriously asking if the Canons won... you haven't been paying attention, lol. Poor Ron - I think we can all feel his pain.

Thanks very much for your kind words.
  Quote
Felix Felicis
Monday 18th January 2016 06:34


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 214

31: Beginning Again
Thank you so much for writing this and letting us live in Harry's world a little longer! Your style, your sincerity of characters, your presentation, (your beta's editing) all work so nicely together. I thoroughly enjoy your writing, as I have for some time now. ("The Simplest Things" is still one of my all-time favorites!)

What a nice ending to this story. Harry finally seems to be in a good place. He's comfortable with Mr. and Mrs. Weasley, he has a soulmate he loves, good prospects for his future, and close friends who would do anything for him. I love the way you closed everything out. Now I'll have to go back and re-read the whole thing! That's one of the best parts when a favorite author completes a story, you know!

There's certainly plenty more story to be told and I'm excited to see what you create for the future!

Finally, Sherylyn is the best isn't she!
Melindaleo
Friday 22nd January 2016 05:43
31: Beginning Again (Author Response)
Thanks so very much! I honestly forgot what happened in The Simplest Things, so I had to go back and re-read!

Sherylyn is absolutely the best, and I'm so glad I ended up with her!
  Quote
Nundu
Saturday 16th January 2016 18:15


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 51

31: Beginning Again
I have really enjoyed this. I love good, long stories, that stay true to canon, and you never disappoint! I look forward to your next one!
Melindaleo
Friday 22nd January 2016 05:42
31: Beginning Again (Author Response)
Thanks! Those are my favorite stories, too, so give me some good recommendations if you have them!
  Quote
PPL
Friday 15th January 2016 16:12


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 12

31: Beginning Again
Thanks!
Melindaleo
Friday 22nd January 2016 05:41
31: Beginning Again (Author Response)
I'm glad you enjoyed it!
  Quote
taedloga
Friday 15th January 2016 00:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

31: Beginning Again
i have always loved your work..i sometimes think you might even be jk herself..cant wait for more
Melindaleo
Friday 22nd January 2016 05:41
31: Beginning Again (Author Response)
LOL - I wish! Thanks very much for you kind words, however.
  Quote
Bagelz
Thursday 14th January 2016 23:28


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 140

31: Beginning Again
Thank you!
Melindaleo
Friday 22nd January 2016 05:40
31: Beginning Again (Author Response)
I'm glad you enjoyed it!
  Quote
DanAngelus
Thursday 14th January 2016 04:38


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

31: Beginning Again
Wow. I loved it! Especially the parting scene between the 4 of them, that was really sweet. I often think about "what happens next" so reading this was really fulfilling somehow. (I also sometimes wish that J.K hadn't written the 19 years later part in DH so it could be more open for fics like this one).

Great writing yet again, I'm really looking forward to the next one!
Melindaleo
Friday 22nd January 2016 05:40
31: Beginning Again (Author Response)
Well, I did try to fit it in to what happened 19 years later. That's a lot of room to work with, and I did enjoy the validation of having Harry end up with Ginny.
  Quote
lmcgrillen
Thursday 14th January 2016 04:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

31: Beginning Again
Congratulations on finishing your story! I thoroughly enjoyed it. I was wondering if 'Goldie's Real Ale' was a nod to After the End?
Melindaleo
Friday 22nd January 2016 05:39
31: Beginning Again (Author Response)
LOL - yes it was! You're the only one to have mentioned it, but it was definitely a not to my favorite fic! Thanks for noticing.
  Quote
cutgril
Wednesday 13th January 2016 04:52


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

31: Beginning Again
That was a great ending to the story Melinda! Thank you for taking the time to write. I have looked forward to every chapter! I am also looking forward to the new story coming up! I appreciate your talent and your willingness to share it with all of us!
Melindaleo
Friday 22nd January 2016 05:38
31: Beginning Again (Author Response)
Thanks very much! I'm glad you enjoyed it!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 13 of 13
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 16th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Saturday 14th January
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 9th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Rufus Scrimgeour’s Annual Christmas Party
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
Saturday 5th December
Author: parakletos
Story: A Spanner in the Works
Friday 20th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Worth a Thousand Words?
Monday 19th October
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Wednesday 7th October
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Code ©Jeconais, 2004