Register | Login
LATEST POEMS POETS

Reviews For The Owl by Zelthian

Showing 1 to 10 of 10
bleeblahblee
Sunday 4th April 2010 08:37


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 55

The Owl
I was very good, my only problem was how you used words like ne'er and lass. Of course there's nothing wrong with those words, I just have an irrational prejudice against shakespearian words. Either way, it was a good piece
  Quote
Steven Carnell
Wednesday 5th December 2007 15:42


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 74

The Owl
Well done! You almost get it right, but the rhythm doesn't quite ring true. But an excellent job just the same. The rhyme is quite good and the development is strong and sure through the progress of the poem.

A well crafted and enjoyable poem, loved it.
  Quote
Pugpal
Saturday 27th August 2005 19:03


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 162

The Owl
I love it! But I kept waiting for Hedwig to say "never more" lol. Anywho, this poem brightened my day! You are awesome!
  Quote
SillyGillie
Sunday 21st August 2005 18:27


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

The Owl
I re-read it! Such a fantastic job! It must've taken you ages to write! Finding the correct words! Genius!
  Quote
SillyGillie
Sunday 21st August 2005 17:01


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

The Owl
Hilarious! Awesome job!
  Quote
Trystym
Tuesday 19th July 2005 15:44


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

The Owl
" At last year's end she did declare her pairing with another. Blast!"

A fitting rhyme, and a perfect sentiment.  Bravo!


  Quote
TigerLily8186
Saturday 2nd July 2005 13:43


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 97

The Owl
How cute! I enjoyed the "Raven"ish rhyme scheme. It must have taken a bit of effort to fully pull that off. I love the twist on it with the owl and all. It is really giving me an urge to read some Poe.  Well done.
  Quote
Kelleypen
Saturday 25th June 2005 04:17


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 416

The Owl
Brilliant shippiness and brilliant parody of the Raven.  Edgar Allan would be pleased too.
  Quote
Arnel
Saturday 18th June 2005 19:09


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 647

The Owl

I love this version of "The Raven"  You've done an admirable job of staying true to the original meter and creating a mood of tension.  I'd love to see what Ginny's Poe-like reaction to finding Hedwig at her window would be.

My favorite line in this poem is  "At last year's end she did declare her pairing with another. Blast!" and found myself chuckling merrily at this sentiment.  Great fun, that!

Please post again soon.   A.

  Quote
croneus
Friday 17th June 2005 13:29


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

The Owl

 I like it

  Quote
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the poem. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Thursday 11th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
Saturday 5th December
Author: parakletos
Story: A Spanner in the Works
Friday 20th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Worth a Thousand Words?
Monday 19th October
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Wednesday 7th October
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Author: Author by Night
Story: Spectators
Tuesday 29th September
Author: angelmorph
Story: How Hard Could it Be?
Thursday 17th September
Author: Author by Night
Story: The Dragon King
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Code ©Jeconais, 2004