Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Moment of Clarity by Melindaleo

Showing 21 to 40 of 53 - Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 Next
Dalf
Friday 23rd September 2005 21:58


Moment of Clarity
  I like the extra details we have on Ginny form OotP and HBP.  I don't know if I would agree with the word Tom-boy.  I think she is tough but that does not make her a Tomboy.  Its more of a pragmatic thing than a temperment thing.  I can imagin a girl with so many older brothers being even more girly for it actually (though that is nto her character). 

  Nice touch with the flower shampoo!

  And finally a question and an error:

question: " "Wasn't she a hoot?" - is this a phrase that a british person would use?  I grew up in missouri and we used it but .....

and and error:

p.415 in the US edition of HBP has the Quiddich accident.  Harry is hit by a mishit BLUDGER while racing twards McClaggan.  Not the bat.
  Quote

Wednesday 21st September 2005 22:01


Moment of Clarity

Please keep writing the missing moments! I'm really enjoying them. I've got an idea for one: the moments after Harry's accidentally, potentially lethal attack on Malfoy.  I know Harry talks about it  to his friends but I would like to hear his thoughts and maybe Ron (and Ginny )came looking for him after his disappearence at high speed covered in blood!

 

 

 

  Quote
DaFalcon
Wednesday 21st September 2005 14:13


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 237

Moment of Clarity
Another wonderful missing moment, which is all I'm interested in reading now-a-days. I must say that I have not found any missing moments better than yours. Keep up the good work.
  Quote
leia
Wednesday 21st September 2005 14:11


Moment of Clarity
lovely as always, hope to see another one soon!
  Quote
brad
Wednesday 21st September 2005 01:30


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 136

Moment of Clarity
Now, if HBP had been written to include passages like this I would have enjoyed it a LOT more ... it would have helped me *believe* in the H/G moments that we saw.  As it was the romance between the two in JKR's pages left me completely underwhelmed.

You wouldn't like to rewrite the entire sixth book, would you?

Good story, really tying things together ... the signs of growing attraction between the two (so Ginny noticed, hey?), her dissatisfaction with Dean (strategically placed, given what we know happened next), the quidditch match post-mortem (thank you for including the Luna comments).  Cute how you've rebutted some of the anti-Ginny complaints - she's NOT promiscuous, having dated only two boys on a 'long-term' basis and she didn't use any love potions.  Dang, there goes another theory.

"Some girls tended to mistrust Ginny simply because she got on so well with the blokes".  Was Ginny's involvement with the diary - her actions petrifying students - known to the other students after her first year?  I've fogotten the canon ... I know some fan fiction stories have her as something of an outcast, estranged from her peers, because of the stigma ensuing from Tom's possession.

Good story, fit in very nicely to HBP, making it a whole lot better in my opinion.  Thank you!

  Quote
parakletos
Tuesday 20th September 2005 22:40


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 209

Moment of Clarity
As ever a well written piece. I have a mind to write  an 'In defence of Ron' missing moment that would explore his feelings and motivations much as you've done with Ginny here.

One small point, Ginny would be more likely to say " attack was the best form of defence" rather than "t he best defense was a good offense."Unless of course, she was an exchange student. 
  Quote
Connor Landon
Tuesday 20th September 2005 14:29


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 188

Moment of Clarity
I think this is a perfect substitute for that missing moment. Well done!
  Quote
Anni
Tuesday 20th September 2005 13:54


Moment of Clarity

aaaaaw!!! The end was so cute! I loved the whole thing!!

I miss not having a story out every friday. I loved coming home to a new chapter. But, as long as you're still writing, I'll be here to read it!

~Anni

Harry Potter fans stand strong. We ain't, I repeat, AIN'T goin' down easily!

  Quote
Velvethope
Tuesday 20th September 2005 10:59


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

Moment of Clarity
This was brilliant. Truly. I loved being inside her head - and I think everyone who complains about that bloody fight between Ron and Ginny and how it made her a bad person should be forced to read this and understand. Bravo to you for writing yet another lovely missing moment!


  Quote
TheGov
Tuesday 20th September 2005 09:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

Moment of Clarity

I really enjoy stories that show an alternate PoV for a scene within cannon. You've captured Ginny quite nicely here. We tend to picture Ginny as fairly confident, but here, you've captured that keen sense of teenaged insecurity very well. It's almost that sense of I know what I'm doing...don't I?

And I do like Ginny feeling some guilt for messing up Ron and Hermione. She ought to! ;)

  Quote
Rosina Ferguson
Tuesday 20th September 2005 08:06


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

Moment of Clarity

Hi Melinda,  long time no review!  Still I'm here now.  Loved this missing moment, printed out and read it at work at lunchtime and tonight I folded it up and inserted it in the appropriate place in HBP.  Said it before and I'll say it again... in my humble opinion you emulate JKR's writing style better than any other fanfic writer I know.

Thank you.

My favourite line had to be: "Ron certainly couldn't talk now, as he'd been seen with Lavender Brown's tongue in his mouth more often than the cutlery in the Great Hall."  Couldn't stop giggling at that as it seems such a Ginnyish thing to say. 

Keep well and keep writing.... please.

Melindaleo
Tuesday 20th September 2005 08:41
Moment of Clarity (Author Response)
Hi Rosina!!  Good to hear from you!  Thanks so much for that lovely vote of confidence - perked me right up!  I'm glad you pointed out the Ron line, I was happy with that.  I so love Ron.
  Quote
dophingirl79
Monday 19th September 2005 18:38


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 196

Moment of Clarity
keep up the great work!
Melindaleo
Tuesday 20th September 2005 08:40
Moment of Clarity (Author Response)
Thanks, I'll try!
  Quote
cckeimig
Monday 19th September 2005 16:29


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 406

Moment of Clarity
Fun! Yes, another fun one chalked up onto your already brilliant record! Thanks!!!!!
Melindaleo
Tuesday 20th September 2005 08:39
Moment of Clarity (Author Response)
Aww, thanks!  I'm glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
fritz42
Monday 19th September 2005 14:37


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

Moment of Clarity
I loved your story. I love how Ron notices Ginny watching Harry and reassures her.  I love how you ended the story. I always enjoy how you depict Ginny.  You keep her feisty and her strong personality intact. With that in mind, I would really like to see you write a "missing moment" from the funeral when Harry tells Ginny that they have to break up and after Harry leaves Ginny at the funeral from Ginny's POV.  I think you could do it justice.  
Melindaleo
Tuesday 20th September 2005 08:36
Moment of Clarity (Author Response)

I adore Ginny, canon Ginny, so I'm glad you think I write her well.  I agree with you than I get annoyed with how she's portrayed sometimes.

Thanks for the great suggestion!  I've had that one mentioned, and it's the one I'm considering most right now.

  Quote
PadfootLives12
Monday 19th September 2005 12:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 16

Moment of Clarity
Brilliant! Wonderful!! This was great, I love stories in Ginny's point of view. I loved the whole thing, but I loved the ending the best, of course!

-Padfoot Lives
Melindaleo
Tuesday 20th September 2005 08:34
Moment of Clarity (Author Response)
Thanks!  I enjoy doing Ginny's POV, she's such a great character.
  Quote
harryheartsbev
Monday 19th September 2005 11:34


Moment of Clarity
man i still love your stuff...good job..yet again
Melindaleo
Monday 19th September 2005 12:14
Moment of Clarity (Author Response)
Yay!  I'm so glad you enjoyed it.  I had fun writing this one.
  Quote
mugglelover220
Monday 19th September 2005 10:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

Moment of Clarity

hey, i love your stories and this story was certainly no exception. Keep going with your missing moments!!!!

Melindaleo
Monday 19th September 2005 12:14
Moment of Clarity (Author Response)
Thanks!  I'm glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
Stormdelver
Monday 19th September 2005 10:16


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 116

Moment of Clarity
First, I am not very fond of how our couple faired in the HBP, the ending was just wrong, but I agree with you on Ginny and Hermione, well girls are more perceptive (and devious) about those sorts of things- if Ginny doesn't come back with a vengence in the next book I think I'll just burn the lot- but in any event, very nice missing moment- I think something along this line must have happened- that kiss was more than just a crush showing through and Harry and his nobility, ah well it make them so endearing....
Melindaleo
Monday 19th September 2005 12:14
Moment of Clarity (Author Response)

Oh, no!  You can't do that without hearing it the way she want's to tell it, lol.  The only way I'd ever agree with that is if Harry didn't survive in the end.

Personally, I loved the end of HBP.  I hated that they broke up, but the way  they did it, each obviously not wanting to but doing what they felt they had to for the other was simply romantic and beautiful in my opinion.  I think it showed better than anything else how alike they are and how perfect for each other.

  Quote
ridgeback77
Monday 19th September 2005 09:57


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

Moment of Clarity
I really do like these missing moments.  I enjoy reading them.  Please don't stop writing them.
Melindaleo
Monday 19th September 2005 12:11
Moment of Clarity (Author Response)
Thanks!  I don't have any more specifics in mind, but I know I'm not done yet.  I like missing moments, too.
  Quote
hewithnoname
Monday 19th September 2005 08:43


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 73

Moment of Clarity

I liked this, Missing moments are fun. I would like to see Ron and Lavender/Hermione arguement. There is also the Luna/(No I think I going to do that one LOL.) Arthur/Molly, Bill/Flur, I look forward to reading them.

All the best.

Darren

Melindaleo
Monday 19th September 2005 09:26
Moment of Clarity (Author Response)
Thanks!  I'm mostly H/G centric though...the others never hold the same passion for me.  I hope to write a few more, maybe one at Christmas.
  Quote
Showing 21 to 40 of 53 - Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 13th September
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 14th June
Author: Melindaleo
Story: Some Cuts Leave Scars
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Thursday 5th April
Author: Arnel
Story: Escape from Brextwistle Hall
Thursday 4th January
Author: Sherylyn
Story: Hearts Afire
Saturday 14th January
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 9th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Rufus Scrimgeour’s Annual Christmas Party
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
More
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate