Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Seventh Horcrux by Melindaleo

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 161 to 180 of 229 - Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 Next
mione_16
Thursday 4th January 2007 02:32


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

1: Secrets Unravelled
Hello im a new user and i just wanted to say that i love your story!! cant wait to read the rest im on chapter 4
  Quote
lacyrachil
Monday 20th November 2006 02:19


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 251

1: Secrets Unravelled
This story was recommended by a friend to me and now I know why. I never would have thought to include that bit about Dudley. That is a stroke of genius. I enjoy the fact that they will have to live as muggles for a little while. Who knows that and Dudley may turn out to be valuable assets. I can't wait to read on.
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Tuesday 14th November 2006 09:28


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

1: Secrets Unravelled
'We gave you food and shelter for all these years out of the goodness of our hearts' -- do Dursleys have any goodness in their hearts?
'Harry couldn’t blame them; Dudley wasn’t much to look at' -- leave it to Harry to misunderstand Ron and Hermione's displeasure
'she could simply cast a Cheering Charm before they left' -- yes, leave Dudley as a wizard. What are Dursleys going to do? Forbid Harry to return? They're already doing that. I suppose Dudley could become a Death Eater . . .
'25' 'chapters' -- and its now 34
Very interesting and well-written. Interesting permutations you introduce.
  Quote
tsujton
Wednesday 18th October 2006 08:40


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 70

1: Secrets Unravelled
Oh frabjous day!
How do you do it? Your writing is superb.
This opening chapter is so filled with promise for another wonderful journey. The idea of Dudley as a surpressed wizard is absolutely brilliant!
This is my third Melindaleo and I couldn't be happier to see that it's 31 chapters!!!
I'm so glad you're in the HP world.
Tsuj
  Quote
arachnidz
Tuesday 5th September 2006 22:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

1: Secrets Unravelled
Great job! update quickly.
  Quote
ninkenate
Tuesday 8th August 2006 07:42


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

1: Secrets Unravelled
Very good first chapter. I think I waited till you're far enough ahead of me to read a lot at one time which is what I love to do.

I've picked up a few hints but don't want to state them now as to why Dudley has been showing signs of magic all year. It wasn't just after Dumbledore's death so that has a meaning.

Harry's constant thinking of Ginny was touching. I loved the way the boys agreed together on the situation at the end instead of dancing around it.
Melindaleo
Wednesday 9th August 2006 06:38
1: Secrets Unravelled (Author Response)
Hooray! I'm so glad to see you here! I'm glad you're liking it so far, and I look forward to hearing your thoughts.
  Quote
Delfino
Friday 28th July 2006 02:41


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 238

1: Secrets Unravelled
I fell in love with power of emotion and curse of the damned. So when I saw you were writing another story of equal long length, I immediately started reading. I just wish I had been on the computer more often to read this. I have a lot of catching up to do. Anyway, great job. I absolutely loved your theory on Dudley being a wizard. Wouldn't it be wonderful if it turned out to be true in the 7th book? Keep writing and I'll keep reading!

~Delfino
  Quote
critmo
Saturday 22nd July 2006 01:00


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 692

1: Secrets Unravelled
Interesting start, Dudley certainly comes as a surprise, and I'm glad that Ginny does care. Off to read more.
  Quote
DailyProphetReporting
Thursday 20th July 2006 22:49


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 180

1: Secrets Unravelled
Hey Melinda,

I doubt you'd remember but I've started your fics a couple of times before, and now that I'm getting back into reading fics after a long post-HBP break I've decided to give this one a try. Let me start by thanking you for all the hard work you've obviously put in on this. It seems that a lot of the old-crowd authors (myself certainly included) have been reticent about starting novel-length fics in the current canon environment but you've obviously dived in freely. So, again, thanks.

As for the chapter, you deserve credit for coming up with an extremely clever hook at the start of the story. Having Dudley suddenly spewing magic was a twist that caught me completely by surprise, yet by adding a little bit of backstory to background details in canon and by making Petunia's and Dudley's reactions so in character you've made it believable. I also like how it gave you an early point of conflict and let you work Hermione and Ron into the plot so smoothly. And it opens so many fun approaches you could use next, too!

Anyway, you've obviously got some wonderful ideas at play here and I like that your writing's very clean and smooth. I'm not a fan of fluff or heavy use of descriptive narration, though, so I'm holding off on an overall opinion for now. But you've definitely piqued my interest. Good work.

-KC
Melindaleo
Saturday 22nd July 2006 00:41
1: Secrets Unravelled (Author Response)
Hello and welcome back!

I'm thrilled to see and "old face" (or I suppose "old name", and I'm delighted you're giving it a try. I'm not heavy into the fluff either - I much prefer the angst - but descriptive narration, well, that's a necessary evil. I hope you won't find it too much.
  Quote

Wednesday 5th July 2006 17:13


1: Secrets Unravelled
  Quote
lou
Wednesday 5th July 2006 11:28


1: Secrets Unravelled
the fist chapter in your story is good. i paticularly like the twist in which dudly is a wizard. a very good idea and very origonal.
well done!
  Quote
DanAngelus
Thursday 29th June 2006 01:10


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

1: Secrets Unravelled
i loved it! this is exactly what i've been looking for after re-reading The Half Blood Prince again the other day! I will keep reading now.. but great work on this first chapter :-D

  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Monday 12th June 2006 10:34


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

1: Secrets Unravelled
Eww. Dudley's a wizard. That is just nasty! But, btter yet, a good surprising. I like it so far and I hope it stays good.
  Quote
Xaphania
Friday 5th May 2006 01:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 33

1: Secrets Unravelled
I can't believe I didn't realise you'd got a new fic going! But at least I've found it now

Great first chapter, I can tell that this story is going to be good. One good thing of finding this so late - I've got a fair bit to read!
  Quote
daisymom
Saturday 22nd April 2006 17:42


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 57

1: Secrets Unravelled
Wow, Dudley a wizard! This is good!
  Quote
marisa
Friday 24th March 2006 09:18


1: Secrets Unravelled
This is a very good start! im soo glad you started another story! ill have to tell all my little friends! good job! love the dudly part
Bye for now
  Quote
lillyb2124
Monday 20th March 2006 15:15


1: Secrets Unravelled
This is realy starting off well. I love your wrighting, and I'm glad your back.
  Quote
Enero
Tuesday 14th March 2006 15:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

1: Secrets Unravelled
Great first chapter. I especially liked the repetition of the word "Ginny." Harry's thoughts felt so natural that it didn't seemed forced and since it felt like the thought of Ginny was supposed to just keep sneaking up on him I think it had a wonderful effect.

I also love the twist that Dudley is a wizard. I have always wondered what Dumbledore would have had over Petunia to keep Harry with them every summer. Great answer to that

Looking forward to reading the next chapter and lucky for me, since I'm starting a little late reading this, there's two more waiting for me.
  Quote
Billie Bowtrunckle
Tuesday 14th March 2006 11:35


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 18

1: Secrets Unravelled
Hello! I thought that reading your new fic would be a good place to start my re-introduction into reading fanfics. What a strong beginning! I appreciated how you picked up right after HBP and satisfied the Potterphile's curiosity for "what's next"? You really have your pulse on the Dursleys and I enjoyed reading Petunia's exchanges with Harry. Your interpretation of Dumbledore's words ("appalling damage" to Dud) is wonderfully ironic and sooooo satisfying. HA! Take that Dursleys! I look forward to seeing where you're going to take us and what adventures (in love *wink*) you have planned for Harry.
  Quote
HP Sauce
Saturday 11th March 2006 16:02


1: Secrets Unravelled
Welcome back Melindaleo! How happy am I???!! You're my favourtie author.!! I can't wait to read this story!!!!
  Quote
Showing 161 to 180 of 229 - Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 27th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 14th June
Author: Melindaleo
Story: Some Cuts Leave Scars
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Thursday 5th April
Author: Arnel
Story: Escape from Brextwistle Hall
Thursday 4th January
Author: Sherylyn
Story: Hearts Afire
Saturday 14th January
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 9th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Rufus Scrimgeour’s Annual Christmas Party
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate