Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Seventh Horcrux by Melindaleo

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 41 to 60 of 229 - Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 Next
xgemmax
Friday 10th August 2007 10:35


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

1: Secrets Unravelled
Hello Melindaleo

I just wanted to say how completely amazing this story is! I preferred a lot of it to the actual Deathly Hallows!
I felt like I was reading the real thing because I got so pulled in and gripped by it. I loved seeing the characters in a more sociable way and getting a glimpse of the naughtier side to there personality's
I also want to thank you for not killing off Fred! He is one of my favorites and I loved it how he stayed alive and happy in your version, thats one of the parts I definitely prefer about your story!
You are an extremely talented writer and I would love to read more stories from you about the Harry Potter world, maybe you could fill in that 19 years for us lol

I just wanted to say aswell that I'm Gemma Hewitt from the Amazon forums! I have e-mailed your story to at least 200 people and most of them have said they completely loved it. I stated clearly it was a fake/fan-fiction so nobody would get the wrong idea, hope that's ok?

Again thank you so much, it was such a brilliant story!
  Quote
spoon13
Friday 10th August 2007 02:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

1: Secrets Unravelled
This is AMAZING you are a brilliant writer! You might be interested to know about the interest in this on the amazin forum:
http://wwaw.amazon.co.uk/gp/forum/cd/forum.html/ref=cm_cd_ef_sap/202-0128789-0851825?ie=UTF8&cdForum=Fx3TFLT8KM3OELF&cdItems=25&cdAnchor=0747591059&asin=0747591059&cdSort=newest
(sorry for the long adress-also delete the a in the world wide web thing at the start-I'm not allowed 3 w's!)
another way to access is to go to amazon.co.uk, then click on 'Harry Potter' then scroll down to the forums)
if you go on any of the threads with \'fake deathly hallows\' in the title you will find loads of fans that love your work! Someone called Gemma Hewitt has been emailing the pdf version around, with some help later on.

I\'m very appreciative of the way you didnt leave Ginny out of it-she\'s just not that kind of character! You did so much other stuff amazingly-parts of it were better than JK\'s version!! (although she did kind of invent all the characters, places and main plot-you gotta respect her for the legend she is!)
Well done with the & relationship-you did it brilliantly-also & was superb.
My only objection was snape being bad-but that\'s not a down-point of the story-just my opinion of what I thought you should think should happen-if you get my meaning!

I beg you to write a sequel-though myabe not with Dudley-he\'s too stupid and I don\'t think Harry would allow him to become powerful! But if that\'s what it takes-go for it-I\'m with you!

I had the same empty feeling after finishing your version as I did after finishing the real one! YOU ARE A LEGEND!!!!!!!
Melindaleo
Friday 10th August 2007 03:01
1: Secrets Unravelled (Author Response)
Wow! Thanks much for letting me know about those threads. I just went and took a peek and I'm flabbergasted, lol! I owe this Gemma a huge thanks, particularly since she's been very forthright that it's a fake.

I'm glad you enjoyed it. I'm not sure about a sequel. As for Dudley, well, it's true he's not very bright, but he has proven that he's a bully and has the ability to attract followers (he was the leader of his little gang). I think with the right - or wrong - magical influence, he could become a problem.
  Quote
Jonh
Monday 6th August 2007 17:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

1: Secrets Unravelled
I\'ve taken the time to regiuster jus so i can tell you your history is bloody BRILLIANT

As many others, i found it while i was looking for J.k\'s one and found yours first. I can only say it was the most pleaseant mistake i\'ve had in my life.

You wrote everything exactly as I had imagined it would unfold

After several chapters I knew this wasnt the official book but finished reading it because of how good it was. After that i read the deathly hallows and was plane dissapointed at how little it was compared to yours.

It took me two days to found this site :S .. but i just had to personally for one thank you for writing this, let you know how much i enjoyed your book and as i start to re-read it to let you know also this is now among the top 3 books i\'ve read in my life (and boy! do i read a lot)

Keep on writing as you ceartably do it extraordinarily
  Quote
t-ravis
Monday 6th August 2007 14:29


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

1: Secrets Unravelled
Wow, that is all i have to say. Well actually it is not. I was looking to download the harry potter book off of lime wire and instead downloaded yours, but i did not know it was not the real. I must say after reading it i was amazed it was so good. After i found out it was not the real one, i read the real one, just to be dissapointed that it was no where near as good as yours. I look forward to reading more of your stories. Your super tight

  Quote
Silver_Doe
Sunday 5th August 2007 23:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

1: Secrets Unravelled
Hi, sorry to bother you but may be you could send me these files via e-mail? It'll take years to download them from Russia and I'm really anxious to have a look at your variant. My e-mail is lc-russia@mail.ru
Thanks!

Hey all, I'm working on formatting this fanfic to make it more aesthetic and Harry Potter looking. I've done 4 chapters worth in about 1 hour's time. Each chapter is its own file. I'm doing this so i can send it to a binding company to have it binded into a professional hardcover book. By the looks of it, this will end up being almost 1,000 pages (chapter 4 ends on page 105, while DH chapter 4 ends on page 62) even though each page of the fanfic has more words on average than the pages of the real HP books. If anybody is interested in doing the same thing you can check out what i've done by downloading the first chapter:

Microsoft Word 2007 version (.docx)
http://rapidshare.com/files/45667389/Chapter_One_-_Secrets_Unravaled.docx

Microsoft Word 97-03 version (.doc)
http://rapidshare.com/files/45668299/Chapter_One_-_Secrets_Unravaled.doc

note: The second version's headings (chapter name/number with stars on either side) is messed up because of compatibility issues
  Quote
Brit_89
Sunday 5th August 2007 07:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

1: Secrets Unravelled
Absolutely AMAZING!!! I loved every bit of it...from Harry and Ginny's relationship to involving Malfoy and Pansy into it. It was perfect!! I think a lot of people really wanted to see more of the relationship with Harry and Ginny, and I know I was a little disappointed with how little there was about them in DH. Thank you so much for taking the time to right such an awesome version, and I'll be sure to share it with all of my friends!!!

- Brittany O'Halloran

P.S. I hope there are more to come, you are a great writer!!
  Quote
FanFicFan
Thursday 2nd August 2007 02:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

1: Secrets Unravelled
you know i'v just finished reading the last book, in the JKR line, and wow you eaither guess really well or got some kinda insider info or something, it was weird reading the book it felt as tho i\'d read it already which i hope you will take as the highest complement that a fellow HP fan can give to another.
PLEEAASSEE keep writing longer novel size pieces for they are the only way to fully appreciate any works.
keep up the great work.
your fathful reader
_fanficfan d[-_-]b
  Quote
NotTooOld
Wednesday 1st August 2007 02:49


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

1: Secrets Unravelled
Well done melindaleo. You are a talented author, and should consider writing as a career. Now for some constructive criticism:

Negatives: You need to improve in writing dialogue. Don't overuse phrases like "rolled her/his eyes." Also, at times the dialogue needs tightening.

Positives: Strong writing in action scenes. Strong descriptions and characterization. Loved your description of the wedding and the defense of the Burrow. Actually, I liked your version of the wedding better than JKR's. Great plot. Good pacing. The chapters after Voldemort was defeated were very appropriate and held the reader's interest (not an easy feat to accomplish since the story had essentially ended.)

Reading your book was a most enjoyable experience. Many thanks.

P.S. Forgive the negative criticism. But I am a 52-year old university professor, and could not resist.
  Quote
j0nny
Sunday 29th July 2007 03:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

1: Secrets Unravelled
hi.
congratulations from portugal. like others i registered just to say that's a wonderful story.
right now i'm reading deathly hallows and it's really disappointing me. i think this one is a lot better!
but i want to ask you this: can i make a translation of your story to portuguese? i think many people here would be very happy with that...
  Quote
j0nny
Sunday 29th July 2007 03:49


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

1: Secrets Unravelled
hi.
congratulations from portugal. like others i registered just to say that's a wonderful story.
right now i'm reading deathly hallows and it's really disappointing me. i think this one is a lot better!
but i want to ask you this: can i make a translation of your story to portuguese? i think many people here would be very happy with that...
  Quote
dungeon_master
Sunday 29th July 2007 01:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

1: Secrets Unravelled
if you were to write a story professionally in the style of harry potter but not witches and wizards etc what subject would you choose. and what subject would you like to see rowling tackle next maybe time traveling kids?
  Quote
Assosson
Saturday 28th July 2007 22:47


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

1: Secrets Unravelled
Just curious but when you say "I own nothing... This is all JK's" Does it mean she can just take your work and sell it without paying a royalty? Because if it does... maybe you should, it would certainly boost your name in the world if the JK herself is promoting this fanfic.
  Quote
FutureTrackStar
Saturday 28th July 2007 15:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

1: Secrets Unravelled
Hey all, I'm working on formatting this fanfic to make it more aesthetic and Harry Potter looking. I've done 4 chapters worth in about 1 hour's time. Each chapter is its own file. I'm doing this so i can send it to a binding company to have it binded into a professional hardcover book. By the looks of it, this will end up being almost 1,000 pages (chapter 4 ends on page 105, while DH chapter 4 ends on page 62) even though each page of the fanfic has more words on average than the pages of the real HP books. If anybody is interested in doing the same thing you can check out what i've done by downloading the first chapter:

Microsoft Word 2007 version (.docx)
http://rapidshare.com/files/45667389/Chapter_One_-_Secrets_Unravaled.docx

Microsoft Word 97-03 version (.doc)
http://rapidshare.com/files/45668299/Chapter_One_-_Secrets_Unravaled.doc

note: The second version's headings (chapter name/number with stars on either side) is messed up because of compatibility issues
  Quote
RandomTangant
Saturday 28th July 2007 03:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

1: Secrets Unravelled
I, like so many others here, have registered just to express how wonderful i thought your story was; I certainly think it was much better than DH and I thought that that was a good story in the first place!

The things I most preferred in your's is that you seem, to me at least, to place more emphasis on the characters rather JKR did. For example, one of the scruples I had with the ending of DH was that it seemed that Fred, Remus & Tonks just seemed to die randomly and without much of a reaction from Harry, whereas in your version Remus & Tonks die protecting Harry and allowing him to escape and Percy dies for the sake of his estranged family.

Another thing I also like was your representation of Harry & Ginny's love for each other and I thought you did very well characterising the others in those snippets where we see the story from there perspective.

The only thing left to say is I couldn't help noticing that it looked like you were setting yourself up for a sequel and/or a series of shorts. All I can say to that is that it most definitely would not be a bad idea.

All the best and keep up the good work!
  Quote
craste
Friday 27th July 2007 12:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

1: Secrets Unravelled
BLOODY AMAZING !!!!!!! ok, seriously my hat is off . . .
this is the first fanfiction that i read, and it was completely wonderful,
there was a few of harry\\ginny scenes that i\'m sure would never have been written in the original, other than that the two books are pretty similar, i liked the fact that snape was one of the good guys in DH, i think the \"the tale of the price\" was priceless, but even though the two endings were pretty much the same story, i like urs better, speacialy the part when harry says to hermione that she has grown into quite a beauty . . .
i must say you have a way with words
Melindaleo
Friday 27th July 2007 13:39
1: Secrets Unravelled (Author Response)
Thanks! I'd suspected Snape was a good guy, but I much prefer him as a baddie. Even after knowing the end, I still have no love for the man and will never see him as any kind of hero. Harry's a much better person than I! Sigh, but I'm so delighted that Harry got his happy ending.
  Quote
ramo805
Friday 27th July 2007 10:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

1: Secrets Unravelled
Ok thats pretty weird!! there was soo much of your story in deathly hallows its krazy...your either a seer or JK Rowling got some ideas from you...when i was reading the book i was thinking about ur story so much!
Melindaleo
Friday 27th July 2007 13:37
1: Secrets Unravelled (Author Response)
Hee - I had some lucky guesses, didn't I? I am beyond delighted by the things I got right. Thanks!
  Quote
Assosson
Friday 27th July 2007 03:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

1: Secrets Unravelled
Just finished your book and am at a loss at the ending... A bit chiche, no? Makes me want a sequel yet at the same time, a tad dissapointed in the ending. If any sequel is in the works, please inform me (ill be checking regularly, but if not, i doubt ull be bothered, but my email is assosson@gmail.com)
Melindaleo
Friday 27th July 2007 13:36
1: Secrets Unravelled (Author Response)
No sequel planned at the moment. Sorry the ending wasn't for you, but it was exactly what I'd hoped. Probably why I'm so delighted with DH.
  Quote
superstitch626
Friday 27th July 2007 01:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

1: Secrets Unravelled
i found a company that would print for about $18.00 a book but it was soft cover and you needed to have 25 people get in on it instantpublisher.com/
  Quote
Kamloops.BC.Canada
Thursday 26th July 2007 18:07


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

1: Secrets Unravelled
Wonderful job. Like everyone, I registered to give a wonderful review. Liked your version much better than JK Rowling's Deathly Hallows. Couldn't put it down. You have lots of talent & should consider writing as a career. You'd do very, very well.
Kudos.
Hope you don't mind but I printed a copy for myself so that I can read it in bed.
Nancy
Melindaleo
Friday 27th July 2007 13:35
1: Secrets Unravelled (Author Response)
I don't mind at all - I'm very flattered by that! I'm so glad you enjoyed my story. Thanks for taking the time to let me know.
  Quote
Kamloops.BC.Canada
Thursday 26th July 2007 18:00


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

1: Secrets Unravelled
Awsome work.
  Quote
Showing 41 to 60 of 229 - Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 27th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 14th June
Author: Melindaleo
Story: Some Cuts Leave Scars
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Thursday 5th April
Author: Arnel
Story: Escape from Brextwistle Hall
Thursday 4th January
Author: Sherylyn
Story: Hearts Afire
Saturday 14th January
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 9th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Rufus Scrimgeour’s Annual Christmas Party
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate