Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Some Cuts Leave Scars by Melindaleo

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 5 of 5
Gioia
Monday 22nd January 2018 19:15


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 66

3: Bitterness of the Past
I've had so much fun reading this fic and its prequel this weekend. It thrills my heart to see you writing again! I posted a rec over on my blog, Gioia Recs in which I babbled gleefully.

Thank you for your hard work! Thank you to your alphas and beta, too! Excellent work from all of you
Melindaleo
Tuesday 23rd January 2018 04:27
3: Bitterness of the Past (Author Response)
Wow! Thanks so much for the plugs! I'll freely admit I have no idea how to use a blog, or even where you'd find one! My kids roll their eyes at me!
  Quote
critmo
Monday 22nd January 2018 08:06


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 692

3: Bitterness of the Past
At first, I wasn't really sure what to make of this, but I'm beginning to like it.

I particularly enjoy your insight into that last year at Hogwarts. We know it cannot have been a piece of cake, but from the trio's perspective it does come across as less terrible, of course. But that is probably rubbish. Thanks for making me see the ... darkness.
  Quote
critmo
Monday 22nd January 2018 08:06


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 692

3: Bitterness of the Past
At first, I wasn't really sure what to make of this, but I'm beginning to like it.

I particularly enjoy your insight into that last year at Hogwarts. We know it cannot have been a piece of cake, but from the trio's perspective it does come across as less terrible, of course. But that is probably rubbish. Thanks for making me see the ... darkness.
Melindaleo
Monday 22nd January 2018 14:34
3: Bitterness of the Past (Author Response)
Well, I'm glad it's growing on you, and I really appreciate that you stuck with it! I've seen so many post Battle stories that make Hogwarts either something out of a horror movie to just a typical year. I think the trio's view is a bit rose-colored, but I've also seen stories where there was rape and murder happening at every turn. That never sits right with me, either. I hope you'll continue to enjoy.
  Quote
Arnel
Saturday 20th January 2018 22:08


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

3: Bitterness of the Past
I love the Ginny section for two reasons. First, you're giving us a glimpse of what might have happened the previous year and why the seventh years are having a hard time with their new History teacher and his reasons for having them do an essay on the Unforgiveables. It's also good for Hermione to hear first hand about what others went through during the year she wasn't at Hogwarts. Second, it's really clever of you to include Hermione and her spreadsheet in Ginny's tryouts decision. You're helping her become involved with more than just her roommates, which, in turn, will help keep her from isolating herself. I think she needs that interaction to help her not be acutely aware of Ron and Harry's absence from the school.

You do George Weasley to perfection and it makes me wonder which one of your sons you're patterning him after! He knows just how to get under Harry's skin and really take the mickey. I'm glad, though, that he offered to help him with his potions. It makes me wonder how Fred and George decided who would get which OWLs because it seems they divvied up the subjects so that neither would be duplicating a subject the other was preparing to ace. Oh, it made me smile that Harry was hiding not only from his adoring fans, but Owen Savage, too! Well done!
Melindaleo
Monday 22nd January 2018 14:31
3: Bitterness of the Past (Author Response)
I don't know what just happened! I typed out a whole response, and it only printed the first line! I think it was because I tried to put a heart in there and it didn't like it!

Anyway, I think I model the brother interaction and their inclusion of Harry into it after observing my boys as a whole. They're so funny, and when they have friends in the car, they always seem to think there is one of those limo window things and I can't hear anything they're saying!

As for the twins OWL results - I think you're exactly right! Why waste energy when they could divide and conquer? Such a fun thought - you should write about that!!
  Quote
Illyra
Wednesday 17th January 2018 15:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 20

3: Bitterness of the Past
Thanks for sharing! The story is great so far - I'm looking forward to reading more!
Melindaleo
Thursday 18th January 2018 03:44
3: Bitterness of the Past (Author Response)
Thanks! The chapters get longer as the story goes on.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 5 of 5
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 13th September
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 14th June
Author: Melindaleo
Story: Some Cuts Leave Scars
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Thursday 5th April
Author: Arnel
Story: Escape from Brextwistle Hall
Thursday 4th January
Author: Sherylyn
Story: Hearts Afire
Saturday 14th January
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 9th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Rufus Scrimgeour’s Annual Christmas Party
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
More
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate