Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Some Cuts Leave Scars by Melindaleo

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 2 of 2
critmo
Saturday 10th March 2018 07:53


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 692

10: Parties and Partings
"Ghosts of the Past" would have been a good title for this chapter.

I think you really got down Malfoy nicely. (I wrote "Draco" first, but could not bring mayself to call him that - I'm not a fan either,)
Melindaleo
Monday 12th March 2018 12:32
10: Parties and Partings (Author Response)
LOL - I've reviewed stories where I've done that, too! He's such a brat! I did have fun including him in this chapter, though.
  Quote
Arnel
Thursday 8th March 2018 21:17


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

10: Parties and Partings
I read this chapter before bed with tea mug in hand and a small plate of biscuits for dunking. It was the perfect way to end the day...

As always, I come away from this chapter with an appreciation for every character in the chapter. While it was fun to experience Ginny's puzzlement and surprise over Harry coming to the party, it was more enlightening to get to know a little more about Astoria and Draco. I admire Astoria for her calm demeanor during the exchange at the table during the party. While Draco easily bristled because of some of the comments Ron made, she was able to help him not make a scene when one was certain to unfold. Also, some of the things she's said in other chapters show how mature and patient she can be, probably one of the reasons she was chosen as Head Girl.

I've always found resentful, bitter characters hard to write and the fact that you are able to let Draco's character take charge and seemingly write his part of the chapter for you is something I admire. I found it nice that Draco was able to momentarily drop his affected attitude and actually sound genuine when he asked Harry about the investigation. I'm hoping that Harry will act on the little piece of information about Agnes's brother in future chapters. He may be a person of interest the Aurors already know about, but having a civilian calmly volunteer information could corroborate something the Aurors were questioning. Well done!

I'm looking forward to the next chapter.
Melindaleo
Monday 12th March 2018 12:31
10: Parties and Partings (Author Response)
Reading in bed with tea and biscuits sounds lovely! We have yet another storm hitting tonight, so that just might be all day tomorrow! While I freely admit that I don't like Draco, I was intrigued by his character in Cursed Child. He grew up a lot, and from various things I've heard, I credit Astoria with that. It was fun exploring it a little, although I know I'd never have the patience to write an entire fic with them.

As always - thanks so much for all your time, effort and continued feedback. I really appreciate it.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 2 of 2
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 27th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 14th June
Author: Melindaleo
Story: Some Cuts Leave Scars
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Thursday 5th April
Author: Arnel
Story: Escape from Brextwistle Hall
Thursday 4th January
Author: Sherylyn
Story: Hearts Afire
Saturday 14th January
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 9th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Rufus Scrimgeour’s Annual Christmas Party
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate