Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Some Cuts Leave Scars by Melindaleo

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 4 of 4
Felix Felicis
Saturday 17th March 2018 14:43


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 217

11: Reunions Redux
What another great chapter! Sorry I haven't been leaving reviews on each chapter - most of my reading time is on my phone, but tonight I'm on my computer so can tell you how much I'm loving this story!

I've always enjoyed scenes where the four are together just being themselves. You put that together so well at the beginning of this chapter. In fact, I'd use the work 'real' to describe this whole chapter. It just felt so real, so very like the characters, in voice and tone. The interaction of Ginny and her brother was so well done. It felt like the first time she'd really got to talk to him as an adult.

Oh the pain of the dementors. It reminds me of After the End and the seemingly never-ending battle to get rid of the dementors. I'm really eager to see how you handle it in this story!

Thanks for sharing this gift with us. I continue to look forward to the postings every Wednesday!

-Felix
Melindaleo
Sunday 18th March 2018 10:08
11: Reunions Redux (Author Response)
Hello! It's so wonderful to see your name here again! Now I know I'll have to leave horrible cliffies to draw you out! I'm honored you compare it to After the End - I love that story. I've tried to be very conscious of not making anything too similar.

If you like the four together, I think you'll enjoy some of the interactions coming up. Weekly updates for this one - so I hope to see you again.
  Quote
Caesarcaesar
Saturday 17th March 2018 13:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 34

11: Reunions Redux
Hello!

Long time, no review huh?! Well here I am.

I’ve come away from reading (and writing) fan fiction for a long time! So much so my email associated with fan fiction accounts was forgotten. I recently thought I better check the email account and found the email notifiying me you had written this.

Boy am I glad I checked that inbox!! I have loved every second. I read this all tonight and enjoyed every second of it. Brilliant work as always... good character development, especially Ginny. And as always, your humour shines through which I always love about your work. Can’t wait to read more... and it’s even got me wanting to read other fanfiction in the site again so thank you for reigniting my love of fanfic!

A couple of pointers from a Brit - I wouldn’t normally expect someone to say ‘the county of Surrey’ (or any). Normally we would just say ‘it’s in surrey’ as We tend to know it’s a county and it’s just not part of our language flow to explain what type of area it is. So I’d probably have said ‘it’s a little town/village in surrey’. If that makes sense? It’s funny that even though we speak the same language American and British English does really differ.

Anyway, can’t wait for an update. Love to you!
Melindaleo
Sunday 18th March 2018 10:05
11: Reunions Redux (Author Response)
Well, as my wonderful beta, Sherilyn, once said to me - Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home! Thanks very much for the British perspective. I love learning these tidbits, and will watch it in future. When I look back on PoE, I still cringe when I see "graduated from Hogwarts" written by me. I've learned since then, and it always rubs me the wrong way now! So, from now on, "a little village in Surrey" will be the way to go! I'm doing weekly updates, so I hope you'll continue reading!

Thanks for the very warm greeting!
  Quote
critmo
Friday 16th March 2018 09:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 692

11: Reunions Redux
Sorry, but I think Harry is not really in character here. So far, it has been one of his prominent characteristics to be quick on his feet.

Entangling himself so much as to ruin the whole show, simply does not look like himself.
Melindaleo
Friday 16th March 2018 12:33
11: Reunions Redux (Author Response)
Do you think so? I agree that Harry is quick on his feet, but he does make mistakes, and I tried to hint at this earlier when he ended up at the Burrow by not concentrating enough. Shrugs. I think it could happen.
  Quote
Arnel
Thursday 15th March 2018 04:28


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

11: Reunions Redux
You certainly delight in dangling your readers over the edge of a very precipitous cliff! Poor Harry! Splinched! ARGH! You're back to your nasty tricks of causing Harry harm when he doesn't need to be beaten up any further! That said, I think he actually did it to himself this time, having worked the double shift. Moreover, you've cemented my loathing of Cormac McLaggan even further than it was at the end of HBP by having that character leave Harry to do the job alone that they were both supposed to do. I'm glad Owen tried to talk some sense into Harry, even if the poor lad was so wrung out that his superior's lecture wasn't making much sense.

I absolutely love the opening scene of this chapter. You've given your readers a glimpse of what the Potter household might look like in the future with Harry happily cooking and Ginny keeping him company while he works. The banter between Ron and Hermione made me smile, even if Hermione kept prodding Harry to talk about his past. It was nice that she insisted on cleaning up after dinner.

Finally, I think Ginny is correct that Christmas will be the hard holiday for Arthur and Molly while the first birthday will be worse for George. I'm glad Charlie made it home so that Ginny didn't have to face the empty, non-decorated house by herself.

All in all, well done.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 4 of 4
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 27th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 14th June
Author: Melindaleo
Story: Some Cuts Leave Scars
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Thursday 5th April
Author: Arnel
Story: Escape from Brextwistle Hall
Thursday 4th January
Author: Sherylyn
Story: Hearts Afire
Saturday 14th January
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 9th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Rufus Scrimgeour’s Annual Christmas Party
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate