Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Some Cuts Leave Scars by Melindaleo

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 3 of 3
HAWKEYE76
Tuesday 31st July 2018 19:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

15: Catching Up and Moving On
  Quote
Arnel
Friday 13th April 2018 13:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

15: Catching Up and Moving On
One of the things I like about your stories is that the characters grow. You made me smile twice in this chapter. The first came when Ginny realizes that she didn't need to prove anything to Draco or any other Slytherin and that she could take care of herself when necessary... a very empowering feeling, I think. I smile, too, when Harry is determined to help Theo and the others who are being attacked just because of their ties to the Death Eaters. I'm not sure that a year ago he would have accepted that idea, even with his sense of justice.

The one character I felt sorry for was Amos Diggory. It seems that he had all his hopes pinned on Cedric and when he was killed it took the wind out of Amos' sails. It makes me wonder if he's just barely hanging onto his job.

Nicely done.
Melindaleo
Tuesday 17th April 2018 04:53
15: Catching Up and Moving On (Author Response)
Thanks, Arnel! I think the hardest part of writing a post-Hogwarts story is keeping the characters true to themselves, but also letting them mature as they would naturally. I still prefer reading post-OotP stories best, but I've enjoyed writing this one.
  Quote
Gioia
Friday 13th April 2018 01:43


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 66

15: Catching Up and Moving On
This week I've been doing a re-re-read of this story and its prequel, as I continue to love all you write for this 'verse. I'm dreadfully impatient, too, lol, in spite of your regular frequency in updating each week, can you tell?

This chapter reminds me of everything I disliked about Amos in GoF and Cursed Child. I've always wanted to smack Amos Diggory with a taste of his own medicine, such as a series of articles by Rita Skeeter about Diggory's dangerous dark leanings in wanting to spend so much time studying the Dementors, and his advocacy on their behalf. I'm petty enough to admit to wishing for a touch of schadenfreude here.

I'm a bit nervous, BTW, by Rita's lack of gossip updates, as noted in this chapter. In Rita's case, any silences are more likely to mean she's up to no good, rather than being an indication that she got trampled by New Year's Eve revellers. (Alas!)
Melindaleo
Tuesday 17th April 2018 04:51
15: Catching Up and Moving On (Author Response)
Thanks very much, and I'm glad you're enjoying it. Despite the wonderful movie portrayal, canon Amos always rubbed me the wrong way, and I thought I'd like to play with what he became in Cursed Child, so... this is where it went.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 3 of 3
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 27th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 14th June
Author: Melindaleo
Story: Some Cuts Leave Scars
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Thursday 5th April
Author: Arnel
Story: Escape from Brextwistle Hall
Thursday 4th January
Author: Sherylyn
Story: Hearts Afire
Saturday 14th January
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 9th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Rufus Scrimgeour’s Annual Christmas Party
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate