Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Some Cuts Leave Scars by Melindaleo

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 3 of 3
HAWKEYE76
Saturday 4th August 2018 19:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

22: Memorial

great chapter
  Quote
Gioia
Saturday 2nd June 2018 20:39


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 66

22: Memorial
This was a beautiful chapter. It also struck me that it could've worked as a stand-alone, as you've stayed so true to our favorite fictional friends and family and their canon depictions. You've taken them on your own journey to get here from your very first chapter in this series, but both the journey as a whole, and your work on this chapter, click right into canon, like building a Lego house, lol.

Your discussion about Crabbe was very thought-provoking and felt very apt as a tiny encapsulation of how I would imagine all of them feeling a year after the war. Ron's maturity was particularly evident in his reactions.

Harry's immediate and sustained reaction to the memorial also felt dead-on, as did Ginny's comfort and reaction to his "soppines." It wasn't how I would've reacted to such a statement, which was precisely the point. It illustrated what a good fit she is for Harry's specific needs. I get annoyed sometimes by those who feel that pairing Ginny & Harry is a bit too convenient, as if he would have married any daughter of the Weasleys, just so that he could join their family. That conversation at Dobby's grave reminded me of all the reasons why Harry's love of Ginny is so clearly a response to her specific character traits, quirks, humor, and positive attributes.

Mr. Weasley's remark about Muggle births was just perfect and so out of left field, it had me grinning. I also noticed the great work of you and/or your betas in your reference to births "in hospital" vs. "in a hospital." I had to mention that as it reminded me of one thing I've long loved about your writing and your betas' work: You get such details right!

My eldest just recently graduated from college, so I share your melancholy strains in the midst of celebration. I'll never fully see my son as anything other than the hurricane of mischief and giggles that he was at age 5, too. It doesn't feel long at all since they had that red-faced, squashed look of a newborn, si?

Now don't worry about replying, please! Focus your time on your amazing son and y'all's lovely period of celebration, please. ☺
Melindaleo
Tuesday 5th June 2018 04:08
22: Memorial (Author Response)
Thank you! This chapter represents something I've been avoiding writing since DH, lol. Every story has either funerals or a memorial or an after-Battle speech. I've skirted around it for two full stories now, but I thought at the one year point, I just had to suck it up and do it!! I'm right with you on getting frustrated with people who criticize Ginny. It's their issues though, not Harry's. All I ever wanted for canon Harry was for him to be happy, and Ginny makes him happy, so it's a done deal. Thanks for mentioning Arthur's line about baby birthing machines. That gave me a chuckle as I was writing it picturing the looks on both his and Hermione's faces. I do love Arthur so!
  Quote
Arnel
Friday 1st June 2018 10:55


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 676

22: Memorial
If I have to choose whose speech I like most, I think it's Harry's, mostly because of how honest he was about the aftermath most of the combatants suffer. And he's correct in reminding everyone that the biggest help to those who are having difficulties is to just be there, in whatever capacity you can. I love his remark to Ginny at the part when he says she gives him the strength to go forward.

I still say the memorial reminds me of the Fountain of Magical Brethren that Bellatrix and Dumbledore destroyed at the Ministry. I just hope the house-elf and the goblin have soppy, adoring faces up-turned towards the witch and wizard...not sure whether the centaur and merperson would look that way: I think you're trying for equality between the races and I'm hoping all six are looking outward rather than toward just the witch and wizard. Most of all, I like the changes Harry and George made to the names of their loved ones and I'm hoping over the years that other families will personalize the names so that the memorial truly becomes a reflection of those who gave their lives for the cause of freedom from Voldemort's tyranny. Oh, by the way, you put up a good argument for why Vincent Crabbe's name belongs on the memorial; I hope it will make an impact on Draco's attitude and outlook on life!

Finally, the discussion of what the future holds for all the girls in Ginny's dorm showed that without the sacrifices of others, none of them would have the opportunity to live in a free world and to make the choices they have about their lives. I'm glad Hermione has been assimilated into the group and that everyone in the room is happy for her: that was one of the things I think she worried about back in September. I also hope that Parvati had the chance to speak with George about starting a business in Diagon Alley. Maybe she and Padma can have their shop and their parents' arranged marriages, too.

Well done!
Melindaleo
Tuesday 5th June 2018 04:04
22: Memorial (Author Response)
Thanks so much, Arnel! I think Harry has slowly made this discovery himself, so it just seems like him to want to help others struggling the same way he is. I thought so, anyway. You're right that the Fountain of Magical Brethren was an inspiration, but more as allies than subjects. The Battle was awful, but hopefully some good can come from it all.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 3 of 3
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 27th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 14th June
Author: Melindaleo
Story: Some Cuts Leave Scars
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Thursday 5th April
Author: Arnel
Story: Escape from Brextwistle Hall
Thursday 4th January
Author: Sherylyn
Story: Hearts Afire
Saturday 14th January
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 9th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Rufus Scrimgeour’s Annual Christmas Party
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate